We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Saw so many pilot whales

We chose Oshan on recommendations of our host. We loved our experience because you can get up and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sherry D
,
Edmonton, Canada
A memorable experience!

We chose Oshan over the several other whale watch companies at the recommendation of the people... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
stowtraveller
,
Stow, MA
Read all 165 reviews
  
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
143
15
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
143
15
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pilot whales great trip cape breton saw seals cabot trail bald eagles sea birds beautiful coastline some great photos great captain large family lobster trap meat cove boat ride highlight of our trip friendly crew an awesome experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose Oshan over the several other whale watch companies at the recommendation of the people running our accommodation. I’m so glad we listened to them! The crew was wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable. The boat is fairly small and you can see everything very well. We immediately saw three young eagles on the cliffs, and quickly encountered a pod of whales. The engine was cut and we had a leisurely time watching them play and cavort. What a thrill! We then traveled on to find some seals who also seemed to think it was “play time.” There was a majestic eagle perched up above, but clearly visible. Of course we were just very lucky with these encounters. On the way back we rode in close to the shore so that we could see the beautiful rock formations along the cliffs. It was a lovely day regardless of what creatures we might have seen or not. I should mention that Oshan charges significantly less than other whale watch companies, and the senior rate is truly an excellent deal. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank stowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our experience with Oshan. Everyone was very personable, friendly and fun to be around. The scenery is stunning from Bay St Lawrence. We saw a large family of pilot whales, close to the boat and playful, great opportunities for photos. They hung around for a long time. They are able to listen to the sounds the whales are making under water. We’ve been whale watching before several times in Canada and elsewhere and this was our favourite experience. We also saw some beautiful coast line up close, lots of seals and a ocean sunfish! There was also a lot of bald eagles which the crew went out of their way to show us. We highly recommend this company, loved our time with them!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mandyandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

This is our third whale watching adventure this summer and the worst. Not only did we not see one whale but every time we slowed down to look at anything we had no idea what we were looking at as no one told us anything. Someone finally had to ask.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

I went on a tour in the end of August and saw many pilot whales! The tour itself was very scenic and seeing the whales in the wild was very exciting. The crew was very friendly. Overall it was an awesome experience

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Anyapsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

I went there with my 2 kids and 2 dogs. We saw a lot of pilot whales. The kids enjoyed the trip. The captain was very friendly. Great experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews