We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taken away fish and chips”

Wetherby Whaler Pudsey
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Pudsey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“taken away fish and chips”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had take away fish and Chips one wednesday teatime. The fish and Chips had just come Outlet oft The fryer they were fantastic. Perfect Batter. I was served by a very lovely Lady who had a Passion For serving her customer, brilliant customer Service. I will be going back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    87
    20
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pudsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“always consistant”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

excellent fish and chips at a very reasonable price,service good and child friendly. use this restaurent at least once a month

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you want fish and chips this us the place”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The fish and chips are spot on here and the staff are always lovely. The batter is perfect, crisp and hot. Pity they don't serve a decent home made tartar sauce and the quality of the bread and coffee is rather basic, but the fish, chips and even the mushy peas really are excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Could make better myself at a fraction of the price.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've eaten her once or twice and never been totally blown away with it but the last visit has ensured I wont go back again. To be fair to them they do mix a good batter but the fish is a few pieces all together instead of one fillet of fish. This results in the batter being stodgy in between the layers and a nasty residue sometimes being formed on the fish itself. Chips are ok but nothing special.
Its expensive too for what it is - if I was you I would nip down to the little fish shop on the corner of Lane End, get a takeaway - fraction of the price, fabulous fish, not stingy with the chips and service with a smile :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 6 as a treat for my 9 year old son as he asked what the restaurant was like having only ever had take away, lived in pudsey 18 years and I've never been either!
Very nice surroundings with attentive excellent service, fish and chips were great too! We know they're good when we have take out but they tasted better in the restaurant for some reason. All washed down with a few alcoholic drinks and followed by tea. @ £80 for 6 with two of them being kids it isn't cheap, but it was worth it and we'd have spent the same at the local Italian!

Helpful?
1 Thank SecuretimeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wetherby Whaler Pudsey also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Nether Poppleton, York
 

Been to Wetherby Whaler Pudsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing