We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Brockley Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brockley Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My fantastic girlfriend took me away for a weekend in Tasmania and we stayed at Brockley Estate on our final evening. We arrived late afternoon and knew we were in for a great stay as we drove down the entry road to see baby lambs and new calves scamperring away from the fenceline. The homestead is a marvel to wander through and after a very warm welcome from Julian an Chaxi we headed down to the river and canoe to see if we could spy the resident platypus. Sadly we must have not been quiet enough! We had a brialliant evening and the food was simply brilliant! Julian and Chaxi were exemplary hosts, making everyone feel incredibly welcome and doing everything they could to ensure our stay was amazing and our next day activities had no unexpected surprises. I highly recommend recommend finding a way to work Brockley Estate into your trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
81
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Arriving into Hobart airport the trip north to Brockley was a pleasant drive. We arrived early evening to be greeted by Chaxi and once settled in to our beautiful room enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the lounge. The meal was amazing! Such a great chef, with a great knowledge of Spanish food and flavours which are truly enhanced by the very local ingredients. Julian and Chaxi are the perfect hosts and are happy to share their personal experiences with you - it's as if you have known them for years - such a vibrant couple.
This place is off the beaten track which is one of the many bonuses - the history, environment, flora and fauna (plus farm animals!) will definitely see us return in the future - good luck with the food school idea - wish we could be around to sample it.

Room Tip: All rooms looked amazing - some newly decorated with en-suites recently added. The old milk parlour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked the whole house for four nights with our three children. It is incredibly hard to find somewhere really nice to stay with three children under the age of 5, but Brockley was amazing. Chaxi and Julian are incredibly good hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The children were made very welcome and they loved the food that Chaxi cooked as much as we did. Everything is home made and fresh right down to the jams and bread, freshly made by Julian for each meal. Chaxi is an amazing cook, lovely authentic Spanish food, better paella than I had in Spain!
The house is beautiful, immaculately restored and all the bedrooms are now Ensuite. Everything was always spotlessly clean and it really did feel like a home.
The children had a great time collecting eggs with Julian and seeing newborn lambs with farmer Greg. We thoroughly enjoyed being looked after so well and not having to worry about cooking. Chaxi even made an amazing tapas lunch when we had friends come to visit - they are still talking about how good the Spanish tortilla was.
When we left to spend a couple of days in Hobart we immediately wished we had stayed at Brockley and done short day trips there instead - lesson learnt! Brockley offers a unique package which is rare in Australia.
The children adored Brockley, Chaxi & Julian, and the farm and we will definitely be back next year. Can't recommend highly enough and I'm fussy!

Room Tip: All rooms are in the process of becoming Ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Chaxi and Julian, the hosts of Brockley Estate, are wonderfully attentive, friendly, outgoing and fantastic cooks! The cost for dinner onsite was very reasonable and there was never a need to consider having dinner anywhere else. In fact, dinner soon became the highlight of the day, along with the fantastic wine list from the onsite cellar. Watching them both prepare dinner while openly discussing the local produce being used and hearing all about the origins of the recipes was informative and made the experience very intimate.

There is plenty to see and do in and around Brockley Estate depending on your energy levels and time restrictions. There is also no need to do anything at all, for those that are looking for complete relaxation and disconnection from the everyday buzz of life. Our stay was one of our most memorable holiday experiences to date and we will definitely be back.

Don't let yourself down - book a minimum of 3 nights, as anything less will only stop you from enjoying the total experience that Brockley has to offer. Leaving Chaxi and Julian was like saying goodbye to old friends...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I booked Brockley Estate to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and are so glad we chose this wonderful property. The accommodation is first class and excedes all expectations. Julian and Chaxi are splendid hosts. We had our dinner at the estate and were not disappointed. Chaxi the masterchef can cook, the Tasmanian produce mixed with her Spanish heritage was unbelievable. Our experience at Brockley Estate has us wanting to return with friends to share the experience we enjoyed so much. We are also the owner / operators of Unique Tassie Tours and will be recommending Brockley Estate to our guests. If you want to experience Heritage Accommodation, Excellent Customer Service, Tasmanian Produce and Tasmanian Wildlife - Brockley Estate is a must. Well done Julian and Chaxi you have created a wonderful experience for locals and visitors. Brockley Estate will be our preferred accommodation for guests wanting to stay outside the city of Hobart.

Room Tip: Brockley Estate is a must when visitng Tasmania.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uniquetassietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Such beautiful surroundings and a beautiful house. Very tastefully decorated, and welcoming too. While we were there, we had the opportunity to watch sheep shearing, walk the 'convict path', which runs through the estate, and kayak on their river.

There are very few places to eat in the local area - but this isn't a problem because the food at Brockley is fantastic and uses locally sources produce. Julian and Chaxi ask you to book your evening meal in advance, so that they can get ingredients etc. I would recommend booking to eat at Brockley every night you are there.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are up a steep staircase and a little smaller. These rooms are quaint, and part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A Mother and Daughter roadtrip saw us to this most beautiful accommodation. We drove in to find Julian picking fresh herbs for our dinner. Chaxi was indisposed on the night of our arrival, but still managed to produce a beautiful Spanish meal of three courses. Both Julian and Chaxi are attentive and welcoming hosts. The building and furnishings are a prime example of a well-executed restoration (when first acquired there were sheep living inside!). We stayed in the Best Marbe Bedchamber in a twin configuration. Very comfortable beds, extremely clean, spacious bathroom. It is true to say that one night here is insufficient. We will be back to explore the property and its walking trails.

Room Tip: As the website states, some rooms are accessed by extremely steep stairs - be guided by your hosts w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckland
4.4 mi away
Orford's Sanda House B&B
4.6 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#2 of 5 in Orford
74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Orford Beachside Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park
6.8 mi away
Eastcoaster Resort
Eastcoaster Resort
#5 of 5 in Orford
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockley Estate

Property: Brockley Estate
Address: 160 Brockley Rd, Buckland, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Buckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brockley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Brockley Estate is an experience entirely different from what you expect in conventional so-called ‘colonial’ accommodation.The 170-year-old sandstone and convict brick homestead blends seamlessly into its traditional Tasmanian landscape surroundings, with generous verandahs, ancient English trees and hawthorn hedges stretching down to the wide Prosser River.Inside, mellow antique furniture, textiles, pictures and ceramics exude an atmosphere of effortless elegance and good taste that would be almost impossible to replicate in a purely commercial context.With food and wine of a quality rarely encountered in a private house anywhere in Australia, this is genuine colonial country life as it really was and, one hopes, always will be if you know where to look.Now that you are indeed in the know, why not come and share it with us? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Brockley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing