We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic weekend retreat”
Review of Brockley Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brockley Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“A fantastic weekend retreat”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our hosts Julian and Chaxi took great care of us, providing delicious homemade food, local knowledge and conversation in the grand surrounds of the Buckley estate. Walking along the old convict road besid the river was easy, and worthwhile. The Sea Eagle lording it over the weir was the highlight.

We plan on going back and tasting the dinner menu.

Recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are old colonial style and complimented by their furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

To be honest, we had not really investigated what type of B&B we were heading for. A call on our way for an overnight at Brochley Estate, Julian invited my friend from Denmark and I to have dinner there, which we accepted. Otherwise, being in a very remote place, we would possibly have been without a dinner that night! We had an unforgettable evening with a good meal and guests entertaining themselves in a way I trust would not happen very often. Chaxi and Julian are very professional hosts.

Room Tip: Be sure, staircase to upper level ARE steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuloer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

A truly lovely place to stay, just a few km from the coast. Peace, quiet and a warm welcome from Chaxi and Julian. Bushwalks available to build up an appetite before that wonderful dinner (Spanish specialities and homebred lamb). And the rooms! In fact the decor throughout was beautiful and we even had a personal tour of the wine- cellar.
What more could anyone ask for?
BA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 304BJP304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Brockley is a house dating to colonial times located at the end of a poplar-lined driveway on a beautiful and serene rural property, which has been tastefully filled with a wonderful array of art and decoration evoking the 'Little England' of former Van Diemen's Land. Julian and Chaxi are extremely hospitable and engaged hosts offering stimulating company and an impressive knowledge of the area's attractions, such as scenic drives off the tourist trail. Julian recommended tasty local wines from their traditional cellar, and Chaxi prepared us a top notch paella with fresh local seafood, and served a beautiful breakfast in the sun room room with lovely views to the eucalypt covered hills out back. A perfect base for visiting nearby Maria Island and Tasman Peninsula, and a pleasure the return to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The estate is old world beautiful, with attention to detail everywhere and no expense spared for visitors' comfort. Our hosts Julian and Chaxi were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area (they gave us a great shortcut route to the Falls Festival which saved us hours of driving time!) The group dinner was fantastic, it brought people together over a over scrumptious 3 course dinner and was a highlight of our holiday. I highly recommend staying here and only wish we had booked for a longer stay - and will definitely come back next time we holiday in Tasmania.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarnBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

When we arrive at the estate, our first impression was that this house has definietly a character! The owner had kept its original condition and feel. Its like walking back in time 100 years and gets to feel whats life like back then. The host, Julian and Chaxi is very very friendly and the spanish food that Chaxi cooked is definitely superb!! We had 2 nights of dinner with them and each of us loves it. Even my mum and dad who never tried spanish food before finds it very nice.We even celebrate my wife's birthday there. As it was durig the sheep shearing time, Julian had give us a up close and personal tour of the farm's sheep shearing. We hope to be there again soon.

Room Tip: Go for the beds downstairs which has a nice view and good bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwai Loong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was without a doubt the highlight of our entire trip to Tasmania.
We arrived at the estate after sightseeing most of the day with two pesky teens.
We were greeted by Julian and Chaxis, our warm hosts and immediately felt like we
were visiting old friends.
We didn't realise we could dine at the estate and were expecting to eat at a local pub.
Chaxis offered to cook authentic Spanish food and we were totally blown away by dining experience.
Home cooked, bread, paella and grilled, caramelised skewered fruit marinated in fifteen different spices both aromatic and spicy. Sounds weird but it was the best desert we have ever had. All served with some of Tasmania's finest wines.
Julian and Chaxis were great company and were kind enough to share their story and offer up so many tips for the rest of our time in Tassie.
The estate is so charming and so CLEAN. It is beautifully restored and brimming with authentic antiques carefully sourced locally and from overseas.
This was truly a special stay we will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinkastacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian R, Owner at Brockley Estate, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Marinka, such a long time since you were here - we remember you and your family well. Did you manage to re-create the dessert? Thanks for the great review, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckland
20.1 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
8.0 mi away
Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park
4.4 mi away
Orford's Sanda House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastcoaster Resort
Eastcoaster Resort
#5 of 5 in Orford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#2 of 5 in Orford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.7 mi away
Wind Song Bed & Breakfast
Wind Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Little Swanport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockley Estate

Property: Brockley Estate
Address: 160 Brockley Rd, Buckland, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Buckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brockley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Brockley Estate is an experience entirely different from what you expect in conventional so-called ‘colonial’ accommodation.The 170-year-old sandstone and convict brick homestead blends seamlessly into its traditional Tasmanian landscape surroundings, with generous verandahs, ancient English trees and hawthorn hedges stretching down to the wide Prosser River.Inside, mellow antique furniture, textiles, pictures and ceramics exude an atmosphere of effortless elegance and good taste that would be almost impossible to replicate in a purely commercial context.With food and wine of a quality rarely encountered in a private house anywhere in Australia, this is genuine colonial country life as it really was and, one hopes, always will be if you know where to look.Now that you are indeed in the know, why not come and share it with us? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brockley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing