We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday for the family & friends!”
Review of Brockley Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brockley Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday for the family & friends!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

When we arrive at the estate, our first impression was that this house has definietly a character! The owner had kept its original condition and feel. Its like walking back in time 100 years and gets to feel whats life like back then. The host, Julian and Chaxi is very very friendly and the spanish food that Chaxi cooked is definitely superb!! We had 2 nights of dinner with them and each of us loves it. Even my mum and dad who never tried spanish food before finds it very nice.We even celebrate my wife's birthday there. As it was durig the sheep shearing time, Julian had give us a up close and personal tour of the farm's sheep shearing. We hope to be there again soon.

Room Tip: Go for the beds downstairs which has a nice view and good bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwai Loong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was without a doubt the highlight of our entire trip to Tasmania.
We arrived at the estate after sightseeing most of the day with two pesky teens.
We were greeted by Julian and Chaxis, our warm hosts and immediately felt like we
were visiting old friends.
We didn't realise we could dine at the estate and were expecting to eat at a local pub.
Chaxis offered to cook authentic Spanish food and we were totally blown away by dining experience.
Home cooked, bread, paella and grilled, caramelised skewered fruit marinated in fifteen different spices both aromatic and spicy. Sounds weird but it was the best desert we have ever had. All served with some of Tasmania's finest wines.
Julian and Chaxis were great company and were kind enough to share their story and offer up so many tips for the rest of our time in Tassie.
The estate is so charming and so CLEAN. It is beautifully restored and brimming with authentic antiques carefully sourced locally and from overseas.
This was truly a special stay we will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinkastacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian R, Owner at Brockley Estate, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Marinka, such a long time since you were here - we remember you and your family well. Did you manage to re-create the dessert? Thanks for the great review, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in January this year and it really was a happy time and a wonderful memory. We booked the Best and Marble Bedrooms which each have their own delightful and interesting ensuites. We were excessively comfortable. Julian and Chaxi put heart and soul into a warm, personal and enthusiastic welcome to their guests. Chaxi’s food and her dedication to cater for the various wishes and taboos of her guests is amazing. Given that she creates a gourmet 3-course meal each night, it is well-worth the charge to eat in and relax “at home.” In our case this included a civilised pre-dinner drink from the honour bar and our pick from a great wine selection. Whatever time we arrived back from our daily excursions, Julian or Chaxi would be there to greet us and sit us down with a welcome cuppa and listen to our tales of joy or woe. Julian is a fund of information about places to visit and invariably is able to produce a book about whatever is our interest of the moment. The building itself has been carefully restored and is filled with a seemingly endless amount of antiques, curios and prints that I never had time to fully explore.
Suggestion: Self-serve tea and coffee making facilities need to be available. I do like a cup of tea when I wake up.
All best wishes for the future to Julian and Chaxi, Thank you for a great stay and I hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Book early for ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Brockley, Owner at Brockley Estate, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks Wendy for your kind review and your comments - I'm sure other potential guests will find them to be helpful. Thanks also for your suggestion about providing self-serve tea. We've now made facilities available so that people can make cups of tea or coffee in their rooms if they would like them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Was traveling around Tassie with my girlfriend and this was truly the best stay we had! Friendly staff, excellent food and a beautiful view.

Thank you Jules!

Christian & Milly

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Brockley, Owner at Brockley Estate, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Hey Christian, we're so glad that you and Milly enjoyed your visit - yours was a very entertaining group of people and it's fun for us too when people have a good time. Jules
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have just stayed at Brockley for five nights with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there at the same time as the last reviewer, but as we had one of the en suite rooms, we were extremely comfortable. The house has been restored to as near its original format as possible, and Julian gave us a lot of interesting information about its history and the surrounding area, owned by his family.

His partner Chaxi provided lovely, homely Spanish meals from her native Teneriffe, unusual to find in Australia, made with local produce wherever possible. We enjoyed dining with our fellow guests and had plenty of interesting conversations and laughs! One evening when we were the only guests dining in, our hosts ate with us, which made us feel we were sharing their home. The cups of tea we had every afternoon were complimentary.

We changed our plans to drive around to well known tourist spots, and instead were guided by Julian for local unspoilt walks and views. Overall we had a very relaxing stay. Julian and Chaxi's warm hospitality was very personal and welcome.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure one of the en suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annetarctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Brockley, Owner at Brockley Estate, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review - we really enjoyed having you to stay.
It's nice to know that people enjoy finding out the of the area they are visiting - there's still an other 9500 acres to explore..!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were made very welcome by Julian and Chaxi when we arrived at the picturesque homestead on the Brockley Estate in Buckland, Tasmania. The drawing room, kitchen and dining rooms were charmingly furnished, full of antiquities, however, the lack of facilities if you are in one of the three rooms not ensuite means that you have to share one outside bathroom which contains the only toilet, meaning potentially six people share one combined toilet and washing facilities.

When my wife booked she was told that we would have to share the bathroom but assumed it would be with our friend and near to the bedrooms, not accessed down a narrow flight of stairs, through the dining room and then outside, or that we had to share these facilities with four other guests. Because the room we initially used was booked out for the second two nights we move to an upstairs room, which was very small, in fact so small all the hanging space we had were coathangers on a couple of hooks on the wall. The double bed was smaller than a double bed and we had to turn over in unison as the bed was against a wall. The bedrooms which do not have ensuite facilities (3 out of the 5) are not in keeping with the public rooms, they are in line with what you would expect in a back packers accommodation, not for adults hoping for something a little more sophisticated. Because of the lack of space and storage both our friend (who had the other upstairs room) and ourselves had to live out of our suitcases. I wonder if Julian & Chaxi had slept in these rooms they might reconsider selling them as singles not a double.
Although Julian offered tea and coffee it would have been nice to have tea making facilities in the room for an early morning cuppa.
Whilst we recognise that the hosts are newcomers to the business, and they have put a lot of effort into making the homestead asthetically pleasing we feel that there is vast room for improvement in the lack of toilet facilities.
Sharing a bathroom with potentially 6 people is bad enough, but to have to go through the main dining room and outside the building in the middle of the night in the cold is asking too much.
Prices were on the high side for this type of arrangement, beer and wine on offer was also expensive $9.20 for a bottle of beer. Evening meal is offered at $40-45 per head and although the food was good it was nothing special.

In the main we were disappointed with the facilities and offerings of the homestead, but the location and architectuaral building was great. If you can't book the two ensuite rooms my advice is to look elsewhere. Our friend had to wait 30 minutes to use the bathroom and in desperation considered going behind the bushes in the garden. Waiting to use a bathroom for over 30 minutes is not for us.
We commented about the lack of facilities to Julian.

We thoroughly enjoyed the company of the other guests who made mealtimes special.

Room Tip: Don't book if ensuite rooms aren't available or you may have to share bathroom/toilet with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Brockley, Owner at Brockley Estate, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Peter, thanks for sending in a review of Brockley. We’re very sorry that you found the room upstairs uncomfortable.

On our website, we clearly describe the room as follows:

“Up the very steep staircase we have two more rooms in the attic. The Cooks’ Room is twin share and has lovely Edwardian wooden beds and a view of the north garden and convict road. Across the landing the Steward’s Room has a ‘small’ double bed, six inches narrower than a normal double. You’ll need to be well acquainted with your partner if you plan to share this one!
We are serious about the steep climb up to bed. This is an untouched heritage building with its original staircase – you don’t need to take your luggage up, we’ll do that, but you’ll need to be able to get yourself up and down as the shared bathroom is downstairs.”

I did confirm all this when your wife booked with us and apologised for the fact that you would need to move rooms for the last two nights of your stay as we were fully booked. To make up for the expected inconvenience, I discounted the price for the last two nights. The last thing we want to do is mislead our guests, but I think you’ll agree that our website text is pretty clear.

The fact is that the upstairs rooms – the Cooks’ and the Steward’s, named after the servants that would have used them, are not of the same standard as the en-suite rooms and so they are priced accordingly. You say that it’s more in keeping with backpacker accommodation, and to be fair this is how the rooms are priced, although I’m not sure that you’ll find antique furniture in backpacker accommodation, nor the public rooms and service level we provide, not to mention the included breakfast which you appeared to enjoy.

We have slept in every one of the rooms in the house, and since I’m 6’2” and we found the Steward’s bed quite comfortable, we felt that we could offer it as a double, and that by clearly describing the size of the bed, guests can make up their own minds if they want to stay there.
Perhaps we should tell the guests that the bathroom is only 5 metres from the bottom of the stairs, and whilst you do step out the back door, the bathroom is at right angles to the back door, and under the back porch – I wouldn’t want guests to feel that a walk across the garden was on the cards.

You mention that the bottle of beer you bought during your stay was expensive – I’d just like to point out that Moo Brew is one of the more expensive craft beers produced in Tasmania and this is the regular retail price. It is our most expensive beer, and all of our other beers are several dollars cheaper.

The fact is, that we would like our guests to book the en-suite rooms as a priority, but if we are full, or a large group is booking, or the guests are on a budget, then they can make an informed choice to book the attic rooms, so thanks very much for your tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

It was wonderful experience for all of us to stayed at Brockley Estate.
Thank you so much to Julian and Chaxi, it was really great to meet you.
From booking, Julian helped some recommendations to do and driving route from Launceston and also to Hobart.
Very welcoming atmosphere, great service, gorgeous furnitures and heritage building, amazing nature sorround of building. Everything so special !!
We enjoyed homemade olives and local bruny island cheese with local wine and beer!
and we played croquet outside before wonderful spanish dinner! It was really delicious Chaxi!
Thank you for yummy spanish bread, Julian!
Julian showed native animal, possums in just outside building on the tree at night time to my friends from Japan! They were very happy:)
We had such a wonderful memory at Brockley Estate. Thank you again, we definitely back in future and hopefully stay longer next time. All the best and take care.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournejapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian_Brockley, Owner at Brockley Estate, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
I think we had as much fun as you guys when you stayed with us - such a shame the visit was so short. There's plenty more wildlife to show you next time. I'm glad you had fun playing croquet too - great fun with a mallet in one hand and a glass of wine in the other :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckland
4.4 mi away
Orford's Sanda House B&B
4.6 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#2 of 5 in Orford
74 reviews
8.0 mi away
Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Orford Beachside Holiday Park
6.8 mi away
Eastcoaster Resort
Eastcoaster Resort
#5 of 5 in Orford
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockley Estate

Property: Brockley Estate
Address: 160 Brockley Rd, Buckland, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Buckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brockley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time spent at Brockley Estate is an experience entirely different from what you expect in conventional so-called ‘colonial’ accommodation.The 170-year-old sandstone and convict brick homestead blends seamlessly into its traditional Tasmanian landscape surroundings, with generous verandahs, ancient English trees and hawthorn hedges stretching down to the wide Prosser River.Inside, mellow antique furniture, textiles, pictures and ceramics exude an atmosphere of effortless elegance and good taste that would be almost impossible to replicate in a purely commercial context.With food and wine of a quality rarely encountered in a private house anywhere in Australia, this is genuine colonial country life as it really was and, one hopes, always will be if you know where to look.Now that you are indeed in the know, why not come and share it with us? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brockley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing