We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way to see the island's rich farming past.”

Orwell Corner Historic Village
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Orwell
Attraction details
Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good way to see the island's rich farming past.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The people in the village are all dressed in convincing period costumes. You can see men pitching hay by the barn, there is a general store complete with a lady shopkeeper, and there was a very entertaining gentleman who gave use a demonstration of how to make baling twine into rope. This makes a quiet morning or afternoon for those interested in historical type stuff. There are a few animals for children to see. My only disappointment was that the blacksmith didn't seem to know how to do much beyond making a fire. I was hoping to witness something crafted on the forge.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little "gem" of a spot”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped in on our way back to the ferry back to Nova Scotia, as we had a bit of time to spare, Well worth the stop. The buildings give a good sense for times gone by, and the staff were very helpful in explaining things and answering questions. We spent about an hour and a half and could have spent more time. The museum part as you enter looked very informative but we did not have the time to spend in it, sadly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank twokidsonecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overview of farm history”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a very interesting place -- there was a lot of written history there as well as a DVD which went thru the history in the farmers' own words from all perspectives, men, women, and children. There were a good deal of historical farm implements in the exhibition hall(don't miss the device they used to haul the mud with to fertilize the soil -- wow!), a cute gift shop, neat general store with a lady in there who explained what the different pieces were -- very informative! Usually, you just go in those places and stare at things often without even really knowing what they are. The blacksmith shop was great, the young man was very friendly, and then there was a schoolhouse, a few animals back by the barns, and a small cafe. The cafe did not have a huge selection, but then again, I was surprised they had anything at all. Everyone was very friendly. Very peaceful place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Roosters!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have already been to Orwell Corner a couple of years ago, but this time had an inquisitive 3 year old with us.

Needless to say, we didn't see any of the really interesting historical things, but it's a great place for kids to see. A working water pump kept him amused for quite a while. Then, there is the farm. Roosters to chase, horses in the barn and even kittens hiding around. A good day if you want to just get away from the beach and have a quietish day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for history or farm buffs”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When you first get to the village, you enter through a large building that houses old farm equipment and a ton of information regarding what farm life was like for those who lived there. After you pass through that building, you walk down a lane to the village which houses a barn, a church, a one-room school house, a meeting house, general store, etc.
There was only one other family visiting when we were (we were preseason) but a schoolbus of children was supposed to come so many things were open that normally aren't. We even got to make candles with Brandy. The lady who ran the general store actually went to the one room schoolhouse. We really liked it, but if a person wasn't into history or farm-type things, perhaps this wouldn't be for you. As for us, we loved it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orwell Corner Historic Village also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Orwell Corner Historic Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing