We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispity Clouds of Porkaliciousness”
Review of Muddy's Pit BBQ

Muddy's Pit BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Description: `
Restaurant details
Description: `
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Crispity Clouds of Porkaliciousness”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The food here is simply amazing. Pulled pork, beef brisket, and ribs done up in true southern bbq style, north of the border. Add in an assortment of, made fresh in the house, salads and a few desserts and you have a perfect laid back meal in a quiet quaint setting. Its worth driving to Keene, just for the eats alone! I can't wait to get back to this spot every summer. i drool all year thinking about it. Take home some of the sauces too. The Carolina is a personal favourite. Their third season in operation and getting better all the time. Love this place!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    28
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hubby and I both heard separately about this place from people we work with who live in Keene. Went today with some friends and absolutely loved it. Pulled pork, brisket, sausage, ribs. Some salads. Interesting that they sell the food by the pound....eg. 2 pulled pork sandwiches are close in price but not the same. The carnivore sampler includes a good size portion of the pulled pork, brisket, sausage and ribs. I wasn't able to finish mine so it's pulled pork for lunch tomorrow. BBQ is slow to heat but you will feel it. Everything was tender and yummy! We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stopped here for a sandwich on my way out of town a few weeks ago. I had the beef brisket and it was simply fantastic. The beef was melt in your mouth good...writing about it makes me want to head there for another one right now.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Serious BBQ eats!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stopped at Muddy's last week and wow, what an experience!

We had the beef brisket, messy (with coleslaw and sauce), as well as the Jamaican bean salad and the roasted pesto Orzo salad.

The brisket was moist, tender with delectable char.

The salads were fresh with amazing flavours. We would have tried the other salads (mac& cheese, potato) but with the briskets and salads we were stuffed! The organic pepper sauce and Caroline sauce superb!

We will most definitely go back - so much more on the menu to eat. You must try this place, it is so delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cynicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Amazing quality smoked meats! Don't miss out on this small town BBQ !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy's Pit BBQ also viewed

Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan
Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan
 
Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan
Roseneath, Ontario
 

Been to Muddy's Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing