We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great country escape with a difference!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Skylark Yurt

Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
The bed Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Outside
The bed
Dining area
View from the yurt
Outside view of the shower 'Stables
Local residents!
Inside one of the heated shower 'stables'
Chimenea for dining al fresco!
The dome above the bed
Bed and wardrobe
The secret way in!
Valentines Weekend in Skylark
Glamorous bed
Wonderful view from the bed over the fields!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Combpyne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annabelle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great country escape with a difference!”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Sue and Richard are wonderful hosts that really make you feel at home from the minute you arrive with a welcome smile and great local knowledge!

The Yurt is in a great location on the farm, surrounded by fields full of beautiful horses and wildlife!

The Yurt is in great condition, very romantic setting and has all the things you need for a get away whether it be with your partner, family or friends!

We will be staying there again, this time for much longer!
Thanks for having us!

Annie and Paul xx

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drvix85
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to get away from it all!”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We managed to book last minute because the owner responded so quickly to our query. Beautifully furnished yurt - all the comforts of home but in a stunning, peaceful location. Fully recommend to anyone wanting to escape hectic life!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy S
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you could ask for”
Reviewed December 24, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and I were travelling home for Christmas and and had always wanted to try our hand at 'glamping' and this just so happened to be on our route home. We booked 3 weeks prior to arriving and everything was a smooth process. Sue, the owner, was always quick to respond and gave us all the information we needed. Upon our arrival, Sue greeted us at the gate and walked us up the lane to the yurt. One thing to mention is how accommodating Sue was. We had everything we could possibly need in the yurt, even down to the fluffy dressing gowns she had hung up for us. The fire was already lit leaving us nice and warm, helping us to forget the cold winter weather outside. We were really impressed by how much effort had been put into making our stay the very best it could be. There was an array of DVDs, books and boardgames to choose from and a television in the yurt. The yurt itself was beautiful inside. The roof is glass dome, which makes it perfect to stargaze at night. The bed was made with hotel linen and was an absolute dream to sleep in. Overall we couldn't have asked for anything more perfect for our one night stay, We only wish it was longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenbay...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend break in the countryside”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Myself and my wife travel a lot, however we had never been camping or glamping before, so we didn't really know what to expect. We found the property on TripAdvisor and made contact to find out about availability for that weekend. Luckily all of the accommodation was free so we confirmed a booking for Skylark Yurt.

The drive down to Devon itself is a pleasure, passing through some beautiful scenery on the way. We found locating the site itself a little tricky and despite following the instructions and TomTom we managed to get lost. A quick call to Sue the owner and we were soon back on track and at the site. The site itself is located in a small but beautiful village on the grounds of a farm. The site has two yurts and one small foresters caravan with a small facilities 'shed' with toilets; electric power showers; fridge, microwave and a selection of DVDs in case you get bored! The Yurts are beautiful. We fell in love immediately. They have a large double bed with beautiful linen, all laundered at a local hotel so smelt beautiful. There was a small TV and DVD player; electric hobs and utensils; plates and essentials. A small table and best of all a wood burning stove, my personal highlight. The yurt is well insulated, so not cold, however with the wood burning stove on it was nice and warm and smelt beautiful. I so wish I had one at home! Sue gave us some of her chickens eggs and we also made a trip to a local farm shop a few miles down the road (recommend, ask Sue for directions). This allowed us to cook some fresh omelette for breakfast, we loved it.

Opposite the yurt are some horses and in the far field sheep so we really did feel we were in the countryside. The yurt had a glass dome on the roof, providing an amazing view of the stars in the night sky. It was a wonderful sight without the light pollution we face in our towns and cities. Overall we found the experience brilliant and would highly recommend it to groups (book all three - two yurts and one caravan) or couples wanting a romantic getaway in the country. We had a chance to have a look inside the caravan also, which is much smaller but would be a fun place to stay for one night or for kids. For longer stays, the Yurts are a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, I cannot fault it
Liked least: As I said, I can't fault it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myles R
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic anniversary weekend!”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I brought my girlfriend to Dorset for 2 nights in the lovely Skylark Yurt for our anniversary weekend. The trip was a suprise for my girlfriend and the owner Sue did everything she could to make the weekend perfect. At my request she arranged for an ice cold bottle of champagne and beautiful flower arrangement to be ready in the yurt for our arrival.
The yurt itself was beautiful, cozy, very clean and set up brilliantly for us. We had everything we needed. The log burning stove kept the place warm and cozy throughout the nights and the chiminea outside allowed for a nice BBQ dinner.
The farm itself is beautiful nestled amongst the rolling dorset hills and a short walk took us right down to the coast path and the sea.
We could have happily stayed there for a week and look forward to coming back again in the future.

More than anything i was impressed and so appreciative of Sue's amazingly warm hospitality and willingness to help out in any way she could to make our stay the best it could be.

Many thanks! and we will see you again soon.
Myles & Lembi x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burning stove and chiminea
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review, it makes it all worthwhile that you had such a lovely time for your special weekend!Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect, well equipped, cosy, romantic, peaceful accomodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Me and my partner have just returned home from a one night stay at the Skylark yurt and can without doubt say we will definitely be returning. Skylark is truly wonderful, it has everything you could possibly need and is incredibly clean throughout. It is in such a wonderful location if you wanna 'feel' for the countryside this is indeed the place to be. The owner Sue could not do enough for us and we literally had EVERYTHING we needed on arrival, with fresh towels and robes, and logs for the log burner. The clear dome in the roof of the yurt was especially romantic to look up at the stars whilst in bed. I would most definitely recommend staying here if your looking for something cosy and different.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner made it incredibly cosy
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing