We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelleny”

Druid Inn Birchover
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Birchover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excelleny”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We popped by at 230 on a Wednesday on the off chance they would be serving food. We ordered a druid burger and a hot chicken sandwich. Both with a soft drink and pint of cider came to just over £20. Which was reasonable. The food arrive and would have fed 3-4 of us. The burger was huge. It was served in a huge serving pan with chips, salad, bacon, cheese, sauces and coleslaw. The chicken sandwich has 2 mini chicken fillets, coleslaw, salad and chips. The food was fantastic. My husband also got a take of the cider before we left, to take home, as it was that good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelMyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    82
    23
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had a fabulous meal in here last night He had the best sausages and mash ever and I enjoyed a delicious duck meal.
Friendly staff, good atmosphere and easy parking.

Helpful?
Thank JuliaMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great friendly pub”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very warm and friendly welcome. Knowledgeable landlord who made great recommendations for the selections of real ales on tap. Dog friendly (and we even go a free dog biscuit), only had chips to eat so can't comment to much on the food but overall very pleasant and look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovelylaura66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Traditional Country Inn”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

On staying quite close to the Druids Inn it became our local for the week.

The staff were lovely and friendly and you are made to feel very welcome on arrival. There is a good choice of real ales, but also a nice wine selection too.

We ate at the Druids, the Shin of Beef was utterly delicious and at only £11.95 extremely good value for money.

The burger is also fantastic value and arrives on a mountain of chips with various pots of sauces and coleslaw in a frying pan, advisable to have if you are VERY hungry :)

There is a fantastic choice for all appetites.

We will definitely be returning!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K1r5tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real food. Great beer !”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I rarely order steak when eating out but there was something about the smell that just said "have a steak" ! Very glad that I did. It really was very tasty. Simply cooked with a separate peppercorn sauce, chips, tomates, salad and mushrooms "to die for". The beers were all new to me and I was offered a small taste of each to see which one I preferred. Very nice friendly staff and I would recommend a visit if your in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Druid Inn Birchover also viewed

Birchover, Peak District National Park
Winster, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Winster, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Druid Inn Birchover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing