We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lion comfort”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lion Cottage

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Lion Cottage Living Room and stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Living Room
Lion Cottage
Living Room and stairs
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
En Suite Shower Room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Family bathroom
Stained Glass Window
NIne Ladies stone circle, Birchover
Jane standing on a rock near Birchover!
View from Haddon Hall (beautiful medieval manor house near Birchover)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Birchover, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ishwaran
Beijing, China
2 reviews
“Lion comfort”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wonderful place; my family and I had a great time. For me everything was great and perfect! The pub next door and Druid's Inn restaurant were excellent. The countryside all around is great. The only request for possible additions for the future comes from my sons who missed the sports channels in the TV! My wife however thought that it was a good thing that we did not have sports channels. Hoping to be back again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMeaden20...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy and home from home”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This quaint pet friendly cottage is situated right in the heart of Birchover Village. It has everything you need and is cosy and very comfortable. Situated next door to the red lion pub (and micro brewery) where a walm welcome awaits you. There are plenty of walks nearby and short car journeys away. The owner clearly takes great pride in the cottage and it really is home from home. Well worth the money,

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Annem...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The communication with and assistance from the owner was first class, throughout. The accommodation is of a very high standard and Birchover is a nice quiet village and an ideal base for exploring the area. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the cottage to other families. We would definitely go back to the cottage for a further stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjshamp
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, beautiful, convenient location. Cottage is well stocked with amenities and very clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I stayed with my mother and sister for three nights. The cottage is even more lovely than the pictures show. Beds are very comfy and plenty warm though there are wool blankets for added warmth if you need. Kitchen is well stocked with tools but we didnt do any cooking. Food next door at the pub was excellent. There are three ways into Birchover and beware of GPS. One way in is a long winding narrow road with blind corners and turnouts for when there's oncoming traffic. It's not fun that way. There is another way through Matlock past the Sainsbury's that was much easier.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan6520...
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Clean cosy cottage .Good yfi . clean comfy beds .Good quality towels.11 year old grandson enjoyed his first experience in a cottage . Situated in a great spot for walking.Went to Ashbourne to do the Tissington trail cycle run most enjoyable.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton...
Warwick
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I booked Lion cottage for a rare week away without the kids, and we're very glad we did as it was a wonderful getaway. The week itself began inauspiciously with us nearly driving all the way there before my wife realised she'd forgotten her various sacks full of toiletries and I had to drive all the way home to get them, but once we had driven back and forth between Warwickshire and Derbyshire a few times our marriage remained intact and arrival at the cottage was all the more welcome.
The cottage itself is lovely, nicely furnished in traditional style in the lounge, dining room and bedrooms, but with up to date kitchen and bathrooms, the kitchen was well equipped, the beds comfortable and there was an open fire in the dining room. the owner was extremely nice and very responsive to any questions that arose, and generally very helpful and accommodating, which I think can make all the difference to the enjoyment of a holiday.
The village itself is well situated for walks to the nine ladies stone circle and Robin hoods stride and I'm sure plenty of other walks could be started from it, there is also obviously an abundance of other walks to be had if you drive a little way. both pubs were good and welcoming, I probably preferred The Druid, but would have been happy with the Red Lion had it been the only one.
There was plenty to do in the surrounding area, though be aware that some attractions are not open off season. Bakewell is a nice little town with pubs, restaurants and shops to while away a day, though if you are after fish and chips, don't be caught out like we were on our first night as one of them shuts at 8pm and the other at 6pm! the Peacock pub saved us on that score though.
All in all I would heartily recommend, and I very much hope to go back there soon with our children.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEVIN K
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful character cottage in a peaceful and idyllic location”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I took my parents away for Easter and we were joined by my son for a 3 night stay in Lion Cottage. The cottage was full of character, clean, tidy with all amenities. We had a truly lovely stay, and the cottage lived up to all our expectations.

Thanks

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character, cleanliness and location of the cottage.
Liked least: Lack of a local shop.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing