We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in lovely area”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lion Cottage

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Lion Cottage Living Room and stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Living Room
Lion Cottage
Living Room and stairs
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
En Suite Shower Room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Family bathroom
Stained Glass Window
NIne Ladies stone circle, Birchover
Jane standing on a rock near Birchover!
View from Haddon Hall (beautiful medieval manor house near Birchover)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Birchover, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fullerton...
Warwick
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I booked Lion cottage for a rare week away without the kids, and we're very glad we did as it was a wonderful getaway. The week itself began inauspiciously with us nearly driving all the way there before my wife realised she'd forgotten her various sacks full of toiletries and I had to drive all the way home to get them, but once we had driven back and forth between Warwickshire and Derbyshire a few times our marriage remained intact and arrival at the cottage was all the more welcome.
The cottage itself is lovely, nicely furnished in traditional style in the lounge, dining room and bedrooms, but with up to date kitchen and bathrooms, the kitchen was well equipped, the beds comfortable and there was an open fire in the dining room. the owner was extremely nice and very responsive to any questions that arose, and generally very helpful and accommodating, which I think can make all the difference to the enjoyment of a holiday.
The village itself is well situated for walks to the nine ladies stone circle and Robin hoods stride and I'm sure plenty of other walks could be started from it, there is also obviously an abundance of other walks to be had if you drive a little way. both pubs were good and welcoming, I probably preferred The Druid, but would have been happy with the Red Lion had it been the only one.
There was plenty to do in the surrounding area, though be aware that some attractions are not open off season. Bakewell is a nice little town with pubs, restaurants and shops to while away a day, though if you are after fish and chips, don't be caught out like we were on our first night as one of them shuts at 8pm and the other at 6pm! the Peacock pub saved us on that score though.
All in all I would heartily recommend, and I very much hope to go back there soon with our children.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEVIN K
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful character cottage in a peaceful and idyllic location”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I took my parents away for Easter and we were joined by my son for a 3 night stay in Lion Cottage. The cottage was full of character, clean, tidy with all amenities. We had a truly lovely stay, and the cottage lived up to all our expectations.

Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character, cleanliness and location of the cottage.
Liked least: Lack of a local shop.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackbarn...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely FAB place to stay!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Would love to keep this place a secret as just a brilliant find but want to share it with you all. This cottage has EVERYTHING you could wish for in somewhere to stay on holiday - a real home away from home!! Perfect location, super cottage, wonderful communication with the owners - just simply a wonderful cottage and stay, have booked to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely Everything!
Liked least: Nothing - maybe having to park in the road but that was NOT the owners fault.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel H
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT BASE FOR A GREAT HOLIDAY.”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of two adults and three kids ( 12,11 and 7) stayed in Lion Cottage for four nights at the end of July and the only thing we would change would be to stay longer next time. The cottage was perfect and while it didn't look very big from the outside it had a perfect layout inside. This meant that the adults had a lovely bedroom with spacious en-suite, the two girls had a lovely twin bedded room and our son had his own private bedroom/sitting room downstairs. Jane the owner had thought of everything that a traveller on a self catering holiday could ever need. The cottage was spotless with high quality bed linen and towels all provided and al bookcase full of information on everything in the surrounding areas. Birchover is a quiet village with two pubs which both serve food although it has no shop( Bakewell is a short drive away ).
We visited Crich Tramway Village ,Chatsworth, Heights of Abraham, Mam Tor walk and also did some lovely walks close to the village ( Nine Ladies ). All of these attractions were fantastic with Chatsworth my favourite, Heights of Abraham the kids favourite( especially the cable car and the caverns) and MamTor and its views my wife's favourite. So there was something for everyone to enjoy and lots more attractions we never got to visit.
Our whole experience of the Peak District was brilliant and we will definitely be back when hopefully our Euro will stretch a little more against Sterling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cosiness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexBart
ESSEX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a holiday in the Peak District”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just got back from a 4 night stay. Accommodation is excellent; cottage very cosy and very well equipped, in fact one of the best places we've stayed in over the past 15 years or so.
Location is great - next door to the Red Lion pub which serves its own beer, brewed locally for them - 'Nine Ladies Ale', a reference to the stone circle on Stanton Moor behind the village. Nice walk over the moor to Stanton in Peak village (weather was too poor for us to attempt during our stay, but planned for next time). Visit the Flying Childers pub for a great value lunch (closed Mon/Tue, as is the Red Lion).
Bakewell - 10 mins
Monsal Dale - 20 mins
Chatsworth - 15mins
Castleton (for the caves) - 40 mins
Eyam (plague village) - 30 mins

Thanks Jane, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cosy lounge
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barneybea...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well equipped Cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

i have just returned from a weekend break at the Lion Cottage with my wife and our pet dog. Lion Cottage is a nice traditional stone cottage with oak beams, when you arrive do not be deceived by the outside appearance, although it looks small inside is Wonderfull with 2 lounge, a well equipped kitchen, upstairs are 2 bedrooms 1 of which is ensuite with a second bathroom. The village of Birchover has 2 pubs both of which are very dog friendly and no problems in either to have a drink or meal inside with your dog at your side. Jane makes the booking process so easy and the are lots of guest notes and tips of places to go and things to see in the book and on the board inside Lion Cottage and with free WIFI as well what more could you want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hev208Ken...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cosy holiday cottage”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lion Cottage, we have stayed at many holiday homes but found this to be one of the best. A home from home with everything we needed, including a payphone to use as no O2 phone signal and wifi to keep in touch with the big wide world! The village pubs were both very cosy and people were friendly. Lovely walks nearby, although very muddy after all the rain! Thank you to Jane for being very efficient, wish more owners were as easy to deal with. Can't wait to go and stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing