We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value Sunday lunch”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Birchover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value Sunday lunch”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

5 of us had the Sunday roast - choice of beef, pork and pheasant - either 1, 2 or 3 meats. Loads of meat but could have had more roast potatoes - help yourself to veg which was a mix all served in one pot and boiled potatoes. At £5.95 it was excellent value. We had dessert too - the meringue was brilliant, others were fairly standard. It was busy so book a table. There was a bloke with a guitar singing during lunch - fine for us as we were at the far end of the pub but could have been a bit much if you were in the same room. Recommended and Birchover is a lovely village with good walks in all directions - local wildlife includes alpacas and emus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    52
    17
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice place to eat out!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a lovely lunch in saturday with two kids. I ordered pasta with vegetables in tomato sauce and my husband had a Derbyshire meat hamburger. They were generous and freshly baked with a nice taste for average prices. Definitely will visit again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YviLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“fine dining in a rustic pub environment, with great value”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The food was exquisite and very reasonably priced. Went 2 nights in a row and the service was the same both nights. The chef had made a lot of home made delicacies and spoke to us about them. I only wish I had a restaurant like this where I live.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kperkins8854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely friendly pub - no fuss just nice warm welcome and good food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had lunch in this pub on Mother's Day. We were serenaded by a gentleman with his guitar playing some classically mellow tracks. The menu isn't huge but everything we had was delicious. The staff were really, really friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary Experience!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Been to the red lion several times in large parties for dinner! It is safe to say the service in second to none!
From the moment you step into the door to the moment you leave you feel cherished as a customer, the staff are attentive, friendly and professional. Even if you take the service away from the experience, the food itself is incredible and cooked to perfection. Portion sizes are ample, but not too fulfilling and give you the taste sensation that can only come from home cooked food.
Massive thank you to the team for everything they have done for me and my friends over the months we've been going there.
Safe to say i will be recommending you for anyone that asks where to eat while visiting the peak district!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Birchover, Peak District National Park
Winster, Peak District National Park
 
Winster, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing