We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you are unsure about booking White Hopton...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Mellington, Montgomery, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KathleenE...
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you are unsure about booking White Hopton House let me assure you this is the place to book.”
Reviewed September 19, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This Welsh idyll is the perfect place to unwind. We were here for one week and the most we heard were peacocks and sheep with an occasional neigh from a horse. There really is a note telling you to make as much noise as you like. We play a game with our dog that makes her bark with glee and we played for a long while one day. No complaints! We were kind enough to only do this one day, however I believe we could have let her bark all day every day and they still wouldn’t have complained. The pool, hot tub and sauna were all kept in good order and truly made our holiday a relaxing one. The kitchen really is well equipped. We have been to other self catering cottages that claim they have a well equipped kitchen and you struggle to find a bottle opener. As well as an extensive list of all the normal kitchen items White Hopton House even had a mixer and muffin and bread tins. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. There are many different styles of mattresses, so you are bound to find one you feel comfortable on. We had plans to see local attractions, however we never left the house and grounds as it was so relaxing and offered so much to do. There are a few differences to the ad on the Sykes website that Sykes should really correct. The pool is heated to 84°f which feels pleasantly cool and even warm if the air is cold. There is no WC or shower in the pool room. This did cause us to track water through the house but there were plenty of towels available so it wasn’t really an issue. We just created a toweled walk way from the door to the bathroom. It states there is a chest freezer but we never saw one. There is a large fridge freezer which would make the chest freezer redundant at any rate. I’ve seen other reviewers say the WiFi was inadequate and the dishwasher was too small but they must have sorted both of these issues because we didn’t have any trouble with either. It was difficult to leave White Hopton House at the end of our stay. Overall I would say we had a magnificent time and will definitely book this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtongra...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing holiday”
Reviewed August 25, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Wow, what can we say! Every year we go away, three generations whole family holiday - 6 adults, 4 grandchildren aged 14, 9, 7 and 4 and 2 dogs and always manage to find a perfect retreat. This year White Hopton House surpassed them all. The house was fantastic, more than enough room for everyone to find their own space if needed. Spacious, very comfortable and everything you could want. The bedrooms were ideal and of course we, Granny & Grandad, bagged the gorgeous master bedroom with its walk in shower wet room, bath and toilet and more than ample wardrobes. The youngsters loved the attic space as their bedroom while the rest of the family enjoyed the ensuite and family bathroom. A must to have enough bathrooms! The kitchen had everything we needed for a family of 10, although maybe more oven trays would have been useful. We used both the big table in the kitchen mainly for breakfast and the table in the separate dining room which seated everyone at once for our evening meals. The house was spotless on arrival and the welcome note and eggs were a very much appreciated treat. The swimming pool and hot tub were well used by all especially as we were very lucky with hot, sunny weather. They were checked very early every morning by Wayne before he went to work. The huge grounds allowed the children to play safely and the dogs enjoyed some freedom. They ignored the peacocks wandering around and the ducks. Our eldest grandchild even conquered her fear of peacocks. (We didn't tell her about them before we arrived)! Owners Wayne and Sharon live next door and keep their distance but are perfect hosts and will sort any problems straight away. We had a fabulous holiday and would highly recommend White Hopton House to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twilightp...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect country escape.”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a truly wonderful experience this was! As one of the guests who stayed with the main person booking the trip, I couldn't recommend White Hopton House more highly. Normally, I'm a city boy through and through and if you'd asked me prior to going, being out in the middle of quiet countryside with no access to the outside world would have been my idea of hell. However, instantly upon arrival I felt at home. Greeted by a roaring log fire and homely, comfortable furniture - there wasn't a single decoration that felt out of place. Every room had that high level of comfort and luxury. With a steam room, heated pool and hot tub, this was the perfect winter retreat for a thirtieth birthday. We were very much left to our own devices but we had the comfort of knowing the owners were only next door if we needed anything (they were also kind enough to take one of our friends to the station as they had to leave early). We were greeted in the morning to a lovely hand written note and some fresh eggs for breakfast - believe the hype, these eggs really do not get more free range or fresh. I have never had eggs like this! It was also such a lovely surprise to see peacocks parading around the back garden in the morning. As a very large group, there was still enough space that you could go somewhere for some quiet time on your own if you needed to. We were so in love with the property after the first 24 hours that we're in discussions of coming back quarterly. I couldn't recommend this property highly enough. There was wifi access, but I didn't use it once because I felt so relaxed here. Every single detail was thought of - there were even games consoles in the conservatory!
As a keen cook, the kitchen was perfect, with plenty of preparation space and every utensil you could possibly need. It's the sort of place where your troubles all melt away in the space of four days. I was truly sad to leave but I'm very excited to plan our next retreat to White Hopton House.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentknol...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great holiday but some mixed opinions”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great holiday spent with an extended family - celebrating three birthdays. This is a lovely location, beautiful countryside, amazing character house and super outdoor heated pool which the children really enjoyed - the adults preferred the outdoor tub! Peacocks, geese and chickens in the grounds add to the atmosphere. Beautifully furnished as well with huge TVs. Despite it being a typical English summer the patio is well sheltered and we spent most evenings outside and had two barbaques - if it had been sunnier a patio umbrella might have been needed. There is enough grounds to satisfy the most active of families (we played rounders one evening). It's a really quiet location - though early morning chorus from peacocks may wake you! But don't come here if you need to log on to broadband. The broadband was limited to say the least - 0.025Mbs on wifi next to the router - drove our younger generation up the walls in frustration. Maybe the previous week's visitors used up their monthly satellite allowance but in my opinion if you advertise broadband as being available then it should be! That said it did mean more time was spent enjoying the other facilities and each other's company! Small asides: some beams are low so expect to have to keep ducking if you are over 5' 8" (it's part of the houses great character); the attic bedrooms are suitable only for younger family members, neither have curtains or blinds (so sleeping in is hard) and one has no door between it and the stairs / landing; there are only three bathrooms in the house (two on suite) plus a downstairs w/c and poolroom shower room outside. The master bedroom is amazing.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Useless wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lainey W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MRS”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing family holiday we had. We couldn't have asked for more! As soon as we arrived, a beautiful feeling of peace and tranquillity resided and we all immediately felt 'at home'. From 1 year old to 80 years old, it was the perfect place to reflect, spend time with extended family and make memories. The owners are there if you need them but not encroaching in any way. The delivery of fresh, free range eggs from hens you can see running around in the field next to you, both on arrival and on our last day, was a lovely touch. And the peacocks are spectacular! The pool and jacuzzi are an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

As a group of friends we go away the first weekend of December every year for a Christmas getaway. This year we stayed in White Hopton House and had an amazing time!!

From the moment we walked in we feel in love with the homely and quirky feel and were greeted with a note from the owners and some eggs laid by the chickens on the farm.

This is the first time we have been away and not immediately been greeted with a warning to keep the noise down past 9 and were in fact told in the welcome brochure to 'make as much noise as we liked'.

I contacted the owners prior to staying and they were happy to answer my many questions and couldn't not have been better hosts in this respect.

The rooms are beautiful and this was perfect for the windy weather as we spent a lot of our times playing Wii in the conservatory area looking out.

The only grumble I have is that because it was winter we couldn't enjoy the beautiful garden!!

All in all we had a fantastic stay from start to finish and couldn't recommend the house highly enough.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2015
We are over the moon that you all had a great Christmas getaway, and thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! To hear that you fell in love with White Hopton House is music to our ears, this is what we are always striving for - we are so happy you felt this way! We certainly hope that you come back and visit again soon, we'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cannot recommend this property enough! We had the most amazing week here with a family of 3 generations who all enjoyed all of amenities available. The pool and hot tub are fantastic and the owners keep it this way by coming early each morning to keep it to the immensely clean standard that we were greeted with upon our arrival.

We had fresh eggs delivered to us from the owners of the property making us feel even more welcome and with 5 children/teens with us the note in the welcome book to 'make as much noise as we like' was very welcome! It was nice to not have to feel like that we were bothering anyone and that the kids could all thoroughly enjoy themselves!

The surrounding areas and animals in particular were a massive hit with everyone as were all of the extras inside the house. Plenty of activities to do, more than enough TVs to go round, although the setting of the property meant we didn't really use them as we were too busy otherwise or chose to spend the time together gathered round the one in the amazing sun room!

We also had our 2 puppies with us, Trixie and Diesel, who were again welcomed by the owners and they too enjoyed the vast outdoor areas!

The house itself is very remote, but for us from a busy city that was a welcome change! The nearest supermarkets (Tesco/Morrisons/Iceland) are all within a 10 minute drive to Newtown so your not too cut off if you need anything!

Overall, if your thinking of booking this property.....DO IT! You won't regret it, unless your looking for something in the middle of a bustling city!!!

Thank you to Sharon and Wayne for renting out their property and giving us a family holiday we won't forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing