We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
313
103
50
21
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
313
103
50
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea mellington hall sandwiches caravan park dining room sunday lunch log fire couldn't do enough cooked to perfection evening meal long drive beautiful building both nights pudding our wedding anniversary relaxing weekend bar meals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 507 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019

Grand hotel with good friendly staff and a good cook offering great value rooms and a well cooked breakfast. Our family room was a little dated but clean and comfortable.
Maybe if the owners sold their private number plates they'd have some spare dosh to tart them up a bit.( joke)
I nice indoor swimming pool wouldn't go a miss.
I would highly recommend this place for a short break or a stop over.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank orchardzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire E, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, however I am slightly miffed and taken aback following your comments about my number plate on my vehicle.

Firstly, may I point out that my number plate is of none of your business! This number has been in my husband’s family for many years and has been handed down the generations. My grandfather in law who first bought the plate, purchased Mellington Hall in 1958 to save it from demolition and created the holiday home park to literally keep a roof on the hotel which is still the case today.

We have a programme in place for future improvements to the hotel which are continuously ongoing.

So, as for a swimming pool – this is on the back burner for the time being! If a swimming pool was to be installed, then the cost of your room would be significantly increased to reflect the cost of running one.

We do hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Claire Evans
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Melllington is a hotel with caravan park (statics, tourers and motorhomes) literally on Welsh/English border with fabulous views of Shropshire hills. Beautifully presented, immaculately maintained and spacious, it offers brilliant value for money (£25 per night for van, electricity, people, dog etc). Staff welcoming, helpful and friendly. Gorgeous onsite walks (some off lead) and ironwork statues for good measure. Almost the perfect place - one comment (though not worthy of a star deducted!) is it could do with milk and a few basics being sold on site ... but shops are not far away! A hidden gem and one worth exploring.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TimS3629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire E, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you Tim for leaving your great review and for leaving us a five star rating following your visit on to our touring park. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and yes, we agree, Mellington is a perfect place!

With regards to a small shop on site - if you needed anything we could have given you something from the kitchen to take away with you!

We do hope to see you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Claire Evans
Mellington Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

We have stayed here with family many times and absolutely love it!! The campsite is absolutely pristine, so well cared for and immaculately maintained! The Mellington staff Sarah & Paul couldn’t be more accommodating, so hard working and really make the place what it is! They are an absolute asset to Mellington. Would highly recommend pitching up for a relaxing week to enjoy the beautiful surroundings, scenery and friendly fellow campers. We will be back very soon!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Beckyl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire E, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you for your great review Becky and for leaving us a five star rating. Yes, all our staff here at Mellington Hall, whether it be outside or inside the Hotel, work tirelessly to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay with us.

As you say, you will be back soon, so, see you soon!

With kind regards,

Claire Evans
Mellington Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

A friend and I stopped here for breakfast as part of her birthday surprise. We both had the
Mellington full breakfast....it was yummy! The plate was full and cooked to perfection!
Will be visiting again soon!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Chuffybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire E, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thank you so much for leaving your five star rating and a great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and hope you enjoyed the rest of your friend's birthday surprise too!

See you again soon.

With kind regards.

Claire Evans
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

First time here, stayed four nights in our Motorhome. Couldn't fault it, friendly staff and management nothing too much trouble. Grounds fantastic and well maintained, showers and toilets spotless, great pitches. Hubby and I had Sunday dinner in the Hotel, it was delicious and plenty of vegetables, great menu too. Great walks amongst the grounds, will definitely be going there again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank ellypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire E, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thank you very much for your review and for your five star rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the park and that everything was to your satisfaction. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

With kind regards.

Claire Evans
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews