We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, will definitely be going back :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wow, what a fabulous place to stay. The hotel is a very impressive Grade 2 Listed Building that is about 150 years old, standing in acres and acres of grounds.
We were greeted by a really lovely and friendly receptionist, who after checking us in helped carry our cases up to our room (as a listed building there are no lifts). She also asked if we wanted any help carrying them out to the car when we checked out.
We stayed in the Mainstay Suite. Our room was really quite large, with a lovely large sofa, very large slimline tv (with Sky) bigger than average bed with a canopy over the bed-head. The bed was also very comfy.
The bathroom was equally as impressive, with a large bath and shower unit. In fact everything about the suite was very tasteful.
There was an amazing log fire in the lounge, which was very welcome in the recent cold weather that we have had, and it was lovely to be greeted by it first thing in the morning coming down to breakfast. We had a three course meal which was very nice and breakfast was ok.
All the staff were very helpful and also friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be making a return visit.
During our visit to the hotel, we visited Ludlow, which shouldn't be missed if you can help it. We also visited Much Wenlock, another place that is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Mellington Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 399 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at Mellington many times but were very disappointed this time. We had to wait 45 minutes to be shown to our table, some of the food was undercooked and some was OVERcooked! All in all a deeply disappointing experience which was somewhat helped by the reduction on the bill but we certainly wont be hurrying back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davewill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have just returned from a stay at the Mellington Hall hotel. The hotel is absolutely stunning, beautiful country manor house with very pleasant staff & wonderful hospitality. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the Mellington Suite due to our original stay being cancelled due to the snow & we were so glad it was. The suite is absolutely beautiful. I was not sure if I felt like a lottery winner or a princess but either way, it was stunning. We had the afternoon tea with champagne which again was lovely & also dined in the restaurant for dinner. I had the oven roasted chicken supreme & my partner had the lamb shank. Very reasonably priced and the chicken was the nicest I have ever tasted. We were too full for the dessert menu but fancied cheese & biscuits which were not on the menu, however the lovely staff went and made a cheese platter up especially for us, which was a really nice touch. We had made use of one of the special offer vouchers and were completely delighted with everything. I work in the travel industry and this hotel will definately be top of my list to recommend to my clients.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor so was surprised by a few things we experienced at this hotel. It has an air of faded grandeur about it and although at first sight it is quite an impressive building, a second look shows that a good proportion of it is not in use and it looks quite neglected. Our room was ok, great views over the countryside but it was small and the ensuite lacked a bath. The carpet was blackened in the corners with damp (from the leaking shower?) so maybe we were just unlucky not to get one of the better rooms?

The bed was beautifully made up with fluffy pillows and crisp white sheets so I settled down to what I thought would be a lovely nights sleep. Wrong! The matress cover was lined with plastic which made for a very uncomfortable night. I thought we had checked into a hotel, not a nursing home!

The food was excellent, both at breakfast and in the evening.The bar was very cold and uninviting so we only managed to stay in there long enough for one drink (ice cold red wine!). All in all, a mixed experience

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PAULENEHighPeakUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed with friends for 2 nights on DB&B deal. The hotel is lovely and the staff superb. Kim who looked after us was a lovely person, always with a smile on her face.
Our evening meal was very good and breakfast was excellent and set you up for the day.
Afternoon tea was okay, nothing to rave about though as at £19 I did expect something better.
We booked 3 rooms in total and each one was really nice. Ours was the Ludbury room and was very comfortable with lovely views over the valley. Small bathroom with no bath.
Great walks around the hotel and you are also not far from Shrewsbury for a nice day out.
All in all, an excellent stay and would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here n 19th and 20th February. It was our wedding anniversary. When booking I had asked for a nice room. We certainly weren't disappointed when we were shown to the Mainstone Suite. A beautiful room and massive bathroom.
The hotel is most impressive as you drive up to it, a magnificent frontage and the interior is fabulous and ornate with wonderful wooden panelling, staircase and heavy doors and ornate architraves.
We were always treated well by the very friendly staff, who always did everything to help.
The only slight disappointment was the food at dinner on the first night. It didn't live up to expectations. However, dinner on the second night was brilliant. Maybe it was chef's night off on the first night!!
All in all, we had a lovely relaxing break.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NickyjAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my gf stayed her on the weekend following valentines day. We found the hotel to be beautiful. The staff very polite and friendly and the food and service to be excellant. The Kerry suite we stayed in was amazing and really topped off a great weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trem1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
4.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
283 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
346 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,533 reviews
22.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Address: | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price Range: $108 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing