We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most friendly staff you could ever wish for.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mellington Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
west mids
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most friendly staff you could ever wish for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a 2 night B&B package via Groupon. Such an impressive building and is warm and cosy. Soon makes you feel so relaxed and comfortable. All the staff are amazingly friendly. I can imagine a wedding party would feel so special and personal.
The building is very old, and has a lovely 'creakiness' to it. Homely and not overdone. Views are spectacular.
The highlight, if I had to pick one was the food. Utterly superb fillet steak, so good we had it on both nights! Breakfast is a delight too. Along with the cereals and fruit, the English cooked breakfast was 'proper' bacon and sausage, cooked to perfection.
We had such a relaxing break and would thoroughly recommend Mellington Hall.
Relaxed, friendly and homely. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grayskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    87
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
73
199
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malmo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here as part of a weekend package around a wedding we were attending.

The hotel building is quite impressive and the grounds are well kept with some lovely views . The satnav entrance is not correct and means you have to turn round and go back to the entrance with the sign!

The hotel room was comfortable and the bath room lovely and spotlessly clean. We had big windows in the front of the house with good views and so quiet.

The wedding meal for 20 people was served in the lovely panelled dining room and was well prepared, excellent portions and served hot! The waitresses worked hard and did a good job.

Breakfast was individually prepared and again was a good standard with an excellent choice of food.

Overall a good experience though thought the prices were a little steep for the location!

Room Tip: room at the front looking east and south offer the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalmoFitandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Four of us took advantage of the Travelzoo 'champagne afternoon tea' & we were initially impressed. A lovely building with wonderful views, comfortable lounge & an adequate assortment of food (however one small pot of jam & cream between 4 people is a little mean). A minor detail we thought & asked for a little more jam & a refill of tea & coffee. To our utter surprise we were charged extra for the tea & coffee....because we had a voucher !! We complained to no avail. Even Harrods provide free refills. Such a disappointing end to the day & the only Travelzoo voucher that has not exceeded expectations.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank KMM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellingtonhallhotel, Manager at Mellington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are sincerely sorry for your disappoinment & that your expectations of complementary refills of tea & coffee were not met on your recent visit to us. I'm sure Harrods do offer free refills but I'm not sure Harrods offer champagne afternoon tea at £8.75 per person. When such fantastic savings of over 50% have already been provided we do charge for such extras. A large teapot for 4 & cafetier for 4 had already been served before the additional refill charge of £1.00 per person occured. We have served over 800 afternoon teas in recent weeks & have not received a complaint about these charges before. We very much hope the above does not deter others from visiting to sample our wonderful teas served with a selection of finger sandwiches to include beef, ham, smoked salmon & cream cheese & egg mayonnaise, aswell as a selection of home-made cakes - scones with jam & cream, mini fruit pavlovas, victoria sponge & chocolate coated profiteroles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Today we visited Mellington Hall for the first time for afternoon tea and were very impressed with it. Tea and coffee of very good standard and great choice of sandwiches and cakes, more than we could eat and we left with a full doggy bag of cakes for home! The Hall is lovely, (dark in places but then buildings of this age usually are) and the views from the Hall are stunning. N.B. satnavs DO take you down a narrow lane to a gate that leads into a field but just follow the hedge back round and you will find the Hall on the main (ish) road that you will just have turned off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Four of us armed with our TravelZoo vouchers, £8.75 each for four booked together, visited Mellington for afternoon tea. The exterior of the hotel was impressive. Inside it was rather gloomy, and we were offered our choice of places to sit, so while the men sought out the loo, we did a quick recce to select a seating area. The hotel had a number of rooms, and we chose a smallish lounge which we shared with another group. (There were obviously a number of voucher holders enjoying their teas) The ladies' loo is upstairs and while looking for it I glanced in a number of bedrooms which looked very inviting with beautiful views. When I returned the tea had been served. We toasted each other and tucked into the very generous tea. There were four different sandwiches for each of us, roast beef, salmon and cream cheese, egg and ham all made from very fresh bread, a huge fruit scone with cream and strawberry jam, a chocolate choux bun each filled with cream, a slice of victoria sponge and a meringue topped with cream and a strawberry. We spent about an hour and a half there, enjoying the food and chatting. We did not see another waitress after our arrival and eventually left having nothing to pay as our vouchers covered it all. We would have liked a chance to enquire about the provenance of the champagne as it lost its bubbles within seconds of being served. The hotel looked a little tired but we had no complaints about our tea. It was an opportunity to discover a hotel in the locality which had been completely unknown to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

never heard of this hotel before, until we decided to visit friends in Abermule, Powys, and make a weekend of it ,a stunningly beautiful gothic mansion house,with a fascinating original interior ,lots of wood panelling, a huge staircase and impressive furniture,although it was,nt convenient for us to use it ,there was a superb dining room with a good menu to select from,and a nice bar area.
We where allocated the Kerry suite which was very large and comfortable with probably the best bed i will ever sleep in and a nice view from the large window,the grounds where immaculate and very extensive with beautiful mature tree,s all around,very quiet and when it went dark it went proper dark !, The staff where very helpfull and seemed to appear from nowhere just when you needed them, a special mention to Kim who looked after our booking and changed it without fuss, all in all a very pleasant stay in a tranquil, unspoilt area with just a large hint of luxury, thanks Oh you could sort out the satnav destination, we ended up in montgommery castle car park twice........

Room Tip: if you can afford it upgrade to suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently visited Mellington Hall for a travelzoo offer for afternoon tea with friends.
We were welcomed by pleasant staff who showed us to our table.
My friend and I then went to the toilet and when we returned our wives had been given their glass of champagne, shortly after we returned a waitress brought our drinks and just plonked them down at the end of the table and walked away, given the splendour of the setting was it too much to expect them to be served as expected.
The cakes and sandwiches were enjoyable and of good quality.
We had tea and coffee with our meal and would have liked a refill but the waitresses had disappeared and although we sat at the table for a good 15 minutes after we had finished eating hoping for a refil of our tea and coffee pots but we never saw another waitress so we left.

The setting is lovely and the food was excellent but unfortunately the service let it down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
4.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
13.5 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
12.4 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Property: Mellington Hall Hotel
Address: Mellington | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing