We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelzoo voucher meant a great value "Champagne" tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Four of us armed with our TravelZoo vouchers, £8.75 each for four booked together, visited Mellington for afternoon tea. The exterior of the hotel was impressive. Inside it was rather gloomy, and we were offered our choice of places to sit, so while the men sought out the loo, we did a quick recce to select a seating area. The hotel had a number of rooms, and we chose a smallish lounge which we shared with another group. (There were obviously a number of voucher holders enjoying their teas) The ladies' loo is upstairs and while looking for it I glanced in a number of bedrooms which looked very inviting with beautiful views. When I returned the tea had been served. We toasted each other and tucked into the very generous tea. There were four different sandwiches for each of us, roast beef, salmon and cream cheese, egg and ham all made from very fresh bread, a huge fruit scone with cream and strawberry jam, a chocolate choux bun each filled with cream, a slice of victoria sponge and a meringue topped with cream and a strawberry. We spent about an hour and a half there, enjoying the food and chatting. We did not see another waitress after our arrival and eventually left having nothing to pay as our vouchers covered it all. We would have liked a chance to enquire about the provenance of the champagne as it lost its bubbles within seconds of being served. The hotel looked a little tired but we had no complaints about our tea. It was an opportunity to discover a hotel in the locality which had been completely unknown to us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 400 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

never heard of this hotel before, until we decided to visit friends in Abermule, Powys, and make a weekend of it ,a stunningly beautiful gothic mansion house,with a fascinating original interior ,lots of wood panelling, a huge staircase and impressive furniture,although it was,nt convenient for us to use it ,there was a superb dining room with a good menu to select from,and a nice bar area.
We where allocated the Kerry suite which was very large and comfortable with probably the best bed i will ever sleep in and a nice view from the large window,the grounds where immaculate and very extensive with beautiful mature tree,s all around,very quiet and when it went dark it went proper dark !, The staff where very helpfull and seemed to appear from nowhere just when you needed them, a special mention to Kim who looked after our booking and changed it without fuss, all in all a very pleasant stay in a tranquil, unspoilt area with just a large hint of luxury, thanks Oh you could sort out the satnav destination, we ended up in montgommery castle car park twice........

Room Tip: if you can afford it upgrade to suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently visited Mellington Hall for a travelzoo offer for afternoon tea with friends.
We were welcomed by pleasant staff who showed us to our table.
My friend and I then went to the toilet and when we returned our wives had been given their glass of champagne, shortly after we returned a waitress brought our drinks and just plonked them down at the end of the table and walked away, given the splendour of the setting was it too much to expect them to be served as expected.
The cakes and sandwiches were enjoyable and of good quality.
We had tea and coffee with our meal and would have liked a refill but the waitresses had disappeared and although we sat at the table for a good 15 minutes after we had finished eating hoping for a refil of our tea and coffee pots but we never saw another waitress so we left.

The setting is lovely and the food was excellent but unfortunately the service let it down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just spent our wedding anniversary weekend at the Mellington Hall Hotel. Once you've found it, you can relax in its beautiful surroundings and enjoy the views. The interior is lovely and old fashioned, our bedroom had luxurious bedding and was so comfortable. There were lots of little extras e.g. a white bathrobe to use, toiletries, a hairdryer, flat screen tv and heated towel rail. The evening meal and breakfast were fantastic, especially their 'amazing' sausages. We were surprised to see holiday homes through the bar's window but they are a fair way off. The views all around the grounds are fantastic and obviously make a great wedding venue. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples, maybe young families wouldn't appreciate the surroundings.

Room Tip: Our room above main reception had a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I spent yesterday afternoon enjoying the ambience and views of Mellington Hall Hotel while partaking of an 'afternoon tea'. We too followed our satnav route and needed to ask directions when we realised we had not 'reached our destination'! It was all worth while though. We, also, were using a Travelzoo voucher and we thought it excellent value. The quality of sandwiches, scones and cakes was very good and all were fresh. We couldn't have eaten more!!
We brought some friends with us for our trip down from northern Shropshire as a birthday surprise, they did not have a voucher but we were only charged an additional voucher price.
Thanks again Mellington for a lovely afternoon and we hope to be back to this hidden gem again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Mellington Hall is NOT easy to find - even with Tom Tom. It took us to a locked back gate & we drove for more than a mile to the main entrance. This was long and windy but with plenty of sensible passing places and very driver-friendly speed bumps. The grounds are well maintained and the main Hall is a very impressive building - outside and inside.Parking is generous and adjoins the entrance.
We were greeted pleasantly and professionally by a charming young lady who gave us a choice of where we wanted to eat. The weather was lovely so we opted for the terrace. We were surprised that no one had thought to screen off the static homes that partly scarred the nearby view, but the hills and the woods in the distance provided a glorious diversion.
The food and drinks soon arrived and we were impressed by the quality of service and the wonderful £19 tea. Our champagne complimented the salmon and the ham sandwiches, while the very generous coffee pot (6 cups) washed down the egg and beef sandwiches and the lovely selection of cakes and scones. The linen napkins, the furniture, the flowers, the sunshine and the ambience were memorable: we left reluctantly and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellingtonhallhotel, Manager at Mellington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay and can highly recommend Mellington Hall. The grounds are gorgeous, the reception area is very nicely appointed and we were warmly welcomed. The highly polished mahogany staircase is wonderfully creaky with beautiful gothic windows. The bedroom was spacious and very nicely decorated. The bed linen was crisp and spotless.
We chose to eat in so that we could have a couple of drinks and were very pleasantly surprised by the choice of menu and even more surprised by the excellent value for money of both the food and drinks - the barman couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was beautiful - lots of variety with fruit and cereals and the sausages were to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
3.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
288 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
796 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
347 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,550 reviews
22.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Hotel

Address: | Churchstoke, Mellington SY15 6HX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price Range: $105 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mellington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing