We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best girls weekend ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
Reviewed October 13, 2013

When we booked this girls get away we had no idea how awesome it would be. The spa experience was great, the rooms were awesome, the staff we like family, the animals were cute, and the views were stunning! We weren't catered too we were treated like we were visiting family. Already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teachersday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Doctor's House Inn is the perfect place to go for a romantic retreat or to enjoy a relaxing, restorative getaway! The house has been beautifully completed with tasteful decoration and antiques. The Aveda spa offers the opportunity to deepen the indulgence! The property is wonderful to explore; the Newfoundland ponies, peaceful setting by the water where you can relax and enjoy the ocean, woodsy trails, hot tub and beautifully manicured gardens. We enjoyed the included breakfast and the opportunity to meet other guests. As there are no televisions it is advisable to bring reading material although there are many books and games available. I hope that they will soon have a restaurant as it would be nice to have the option to stay on site.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rchafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

WE arrived in the pouring rain and were greeted with a tour of the facilities and then on to our room. The rooms are beautiful, tastefully decorated, the whole house was very clean and most comfortable . The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Even though the rain didn't let up while we were there, we walked around the grounds, got to meet the new young goat and the 4 horses and we could see that the grounds are beautiful. What a place for a wedding !!

The staff and owner are very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend it. You won't regret it, especially if you have better weather than we did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and travelled from St.John's in Aug 2013. It was a Megacatch deal and well worth what we paid however, don't think we would have made the drive out at regular rates.
Location was a little out of the way however, we liked that as it is set in a beautiful location and we enjoyed taking in the scenery while out for a walk. Follow the signs and you won't have any trouble locating it. Property is attractively decorated with high quality furnishings however, like some other patrons did notice some cobwebs, dead moths, flies etc hanging from light fixtures etc. We were greeted by great staff who gave us a quick tour before showing us to our room.
Room was sufficient for our stay, was lacking a tv which is ok however, they didn't even provide a clock radio. There was an alarm clock however, no radio on it. We had our ipod in the car so were able to connect in and break the silence. I believe the rooms were only finished within the last couple of years and was pleased to learn they insulated between the roome. Unlike, other properties which are basically older homes converted over you don't have to be subjected to the people in the other rooms snoring or conversations. Each room has a small deck with a couple chairs, nice addition.
We ate out that evening at the Dildo Dory as it was recommended by the property and they were nice enough to make our reservation. That evening we relaxed in the den, the housekeeper had a fire going and chatted with us on the history of the property. Unfortunately, I was disappointed to learn there was a hot tub on site however, we didn't come prepared so could not take part. Would have been nice if we were told ahead of time. The following morning a complimentary continental breakfast was provided - it was sufficient.
There is a Spa on site and I was disappointed they could not accommodate us at the times we requested. We preferred to have the services done either the afternoon or evening we arrived however, they could only complete the Sun morning - was not in the mood to have the massages etc. completed and jump in the car for a drive back to town.
I believe the property is under new owners, we did get to speak with them and they have wonderful plans for the place. I hope things work out for them after they work out some bugs. I would recommend the property however, not sure if I would return, I guess I'll watch and see what deals they offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sungirlNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Doctor's House on our trip across NL. The room was pleasant, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom spotless. We really enjoyed reading on the private balcony. Breakfast started with fresh fruit, followed by blueberry pancakes. Tasty! The only criticism would be that at the price, I expected espresso coffee, not out of a single-serve machine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful old house with lovely surroundings and furnishings. However, after a very recent stay there, I don't know if I would return. Cleanliness is an issue. The carpet on the stairs looked like it had not been vacuumed in days and there were 5 or 6 black hairs on one of the pillows in the bed. Green carpenter's tape covered a small hole in the wall in the bathroom. In the dining room, there were cobwebs on the fans and dead spiders in the lampshades. If they did the basic cleaning, it would improve the standard that I have when paying money to stay somewhere.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Mimi757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Doctor's House. Upon arrival we were captured by the beauty of the grounds and of our room. Unfortunately that's where our positive experience ended. There were four disappointing issues we encountered that we didn't expect in an accommodation at this price point of $245+taxes/night.

The first was the bed. We stayed in the Limonene Room as recommended by staff when booking. However the bed in that room isn't properly supported and the bed is caved in so while sleeping you slide into the center, into your partner. So we only had a few hours of sleep as we spent the night repositioning. We were able to change rooms the next night and found that bed better but still lacked back support and left us sore.

The second issue was the breakfast. The bagels and croissants served were dried out and hard and there were limited other items.

Next was the internet. The wi-fi speed is slow and on our last night stopped working entirely. The one staff person that was there wasn't equipped to help with this issue and we spent a couple of hours trying to fix it as she was unable to reach anyone including the owners of the inn. Eventually we did get it going at a slow speed.

Lastly, and most importantly, there's little to no customer service in the sense that many times there aren't any staff around to help or answer questions. The front desk was rarely staffed and it was unclear, as with the internet issue above, how to reach someone and if someone is available. Almost like the house is abandoned to the guests. We did encounter one lady did help us and was very kind, we are very thankful for that.

For the price, these issues are surprising. Instead I'd recommend finding a nice B&B option in the area.

Room Tip: Don't book the Limonene room as the mattress has given out in the middle and is caved in and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank moosab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berrycreative, Owner at The Doctor's House Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. The Lemonine Room is a guest favourite and the mattress is a new one, so your feedback is unlike any we've received to date. We hope you enjoyed the Witch Hazel room where you were immediately resettled the following morning without delay.

Thanks also for your feedback on the breakfast which will be passed on to our kitchen staff. We serve full hot breakfasts on the weekends and during the week our continental breakfasts include bagels, toast, croissants with choice of spreads, choice of cereal with milk, fruit salad, yogurt, orange or apple juice, coffee or tea. Staff is always on hand if other items are desired.

Our location is in a rural area of Newfoundland well off the beaten path. This is perfect for those looking for a quiet retreat in a beautiful ocean front setting. Like many places in rural Newfoundland, internet service is not always reliable but we are working with service providers to improve this as we know how important it is to some of our guests used to urban environments.

Superior customer service is something we take pride in delivering. While it's not feasible for an operation of our size to provide a round-the-clock reception desk, someone is always on the premises, and a contact number posted for questions or assistance overnight. So sorry our staff member was unable to solve the internet problem the first night of your stay. I believe this was fixed the following morning, however we apologize for the inconvenience.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greens Harbour
4.6 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Inn By The Bay
Inn By The Bay
#2 of 3 in Dildo
98 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
13.8 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doctor's House Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's House Inn & Spa

Address: 21 Old Hopeall Road, Greens Harbour, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada (Formerly Fields of Athenry)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Greens Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greens Harbour
Price Range: $192 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newfoundland's hidden jewel: The Doctor's House Inn & Spa. A breathtaking 14-room Inn & Spa hidden between the trees and the water's edge in Green's Harbour, just over an hour from St. John's. First built over 50 years ago as a doctor's gift for his beloved wife, this elegant Tudor Mansion is now open as a luxury inn and wedding destination. This 100-acre oceanfront retreat features fine dining, Aveda spa, beautiful gardens, secluded walking trails and breathtaking views of Trinity Bay. Newly added: 4 room guest house, licensed restaurant, 200-seat wedding and event venue housed in an elegantly restored barn. Home to Newfoundland ponies, sheep, goats, chickens and ducks. Safe harbour for whales in the bay. The perfect retreat. Just over an hour from St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Doctor's House Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa Newfoundland/Greens Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing