We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Worth The Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greens Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly Worth The Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Icebergs, Whales, Newfoundland Ponies, Chickens, Walking Trails, Beautiful Room Balcony on Ocean,
Friendly Staff, Aveda Spa, Thank You I am Yearning To Return.

Room Tip: Get a room with Balcony overlooking the ocean. The whales were singing at night. Truly Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

My fiance and I spent a weekend there in Sept. and it was wonderful. The rooms were quaint and very romantic. You could spend your nights sitting by the wood burning stove with a nice glass of wine or enjoy the hot tub just outside. The grounds were like something you see out of a movie. The staff were very accommodating with great Newfoundland stories. We just loved this place and will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

What a great place to sit back and relax. We had a girls spa day to celebrate my mom's birthday and what a great experience we had for our first time at Fields of Anhenry. The staff were excellent, the spa services were amazing and the outdoor hottub was so relaxing. After our treatments, we were served a delicious lunch and then enjoyed the scenery as we walked though all the different trails and met with all the different animals along the way. Overall, a great day enjoyed by all of us and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Spent the weekend here with my Family and it was so peaceful,relaxing and just divine.
The staff made you feel at home and the food was excellent.
The spa was divine, the atmosphere at and around the whole place was a little piece of Heaven.
Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Took my Mother who was visiting from Toronto for the day. I had a wonderful time it was a magical gorgeous place. The owner gave us a tour and a historical account of the property. Exquisitely decorated. Staff are genuine, charming and very accommodating. 5 stars. I'm recommending this place to all my friends and will be back next season.

It's wonderful to be able to travel such a short distance from the city and enjoy such scenery and tranquility.

Dr a. Jaques

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xalia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Ive been here twice now and it is a dream- the inn is incredible, the grounds have trees seen nowhere else on the island, and you can see the ocean, green fields and horses out your bedroom window. My wife and I and our two little kids joined the grand parents for a little weekend getaway. Everyone had fun. My daughter loved exploring the grounds with her grandfather while I had a mini writers retreat in one of the many sunny nooks with a big leather chair and an old wooden letter desk. The staff are also incredible and make wonderful homemade breakfast feast in the morning (fresh eggs, homemade breads and jams..). To top it off, when the cook heard that my daughter wanted to go see if the chickens had laid any eggs, she darted off to the kitchen and out the back door to put back a couple of the eggs she had gathered that morning...just so my daughter could enjoy the accomplishment of getting fresh eggs for her breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend at Fields of Anthenry and it was Divine.
The staff was incredible,we couldn't have been more welcomed anywhere and it came from their heart.
Breakfast was over the top with homemade breads,jams and stories.
The spa was first class all the way, it was difficult to leave this place, the atmosphere Was like something out of a classic movie.
Our biggest disappointment was that we had to leave , but , we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms had balconies and a view,the wood burning fire place and sunroom on lower level was a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greens Harbour
14.9 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites
13.5 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
15.5 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Spaniard's Room
The Spaniard's Room
#2 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doctor's House Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's House Inn & Spa

Property: The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
Address: 21 Old Hopeall Road, Greens Harbour, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada (Formerly Fields of Athenry)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Greens Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greens Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newfoundland's hidden jewel: The Doctor's House Inn & Spa. A breathtaking 14-room Inn & Spa hidden between the trees and the water's edge in Green's Harbour, just over an hour from St. John's. First built over 50 years ago as a doctor's gift for his beloved wife, this elegant Tudor Mansion is now open as a luxury inn and wedding destination. This 100-acre oceanfront retreat features fine dining, Aveda spa, beautiful gardens, secluded walking trails and breathtaking views of Trinity Bay. Newly added: 4 room guest house, licensed restaurant, 200-seat wedding and event venue housed in an elegantly restored barn. Home to Newfoundland ponies, sheep, goats, chickens and ducks. Safe harbour for whales in the bay. The perfect retreat. Just over an hour from St. John's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa Newfoundland/Greens Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing