We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical day with Mom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical day with Mom”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Took my Mother who was visiting from Toronto for the day. I had a wonderful time it was a magical gorgeous place. The owner gave us a tour and a historical account of the property. Exquisitely decorated. Staff are genuine, charming and very accommodating. 5 stars. I'm recommending this place to all my friends and will be back next season.

It's wonderful to be able to travel such a short distance from the city and enjoy such scenery and tranquility.

Dr a. Jaques

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xalia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iqaluit, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Ive been here twice now and it is a dream- the inn is incredible, the grounds have trees seen nowhere else on the island, and you can see the ocean, green fields and horses out your bedroom window. My wife and I and our two little kids joined the grand parents for a little weekend getaway. Everyone had fun. My daughter loved exploring the grounds with her grandfather while I had a mini writers retreat in one of the many sunny nooks with a big leather chair and an old wooden letter desk. The staff are also incredible and make wonderful homemade breakfast feast in the morning (fresh eggs, homemade breads and jams..). To top it off, when the cook heard that my daughter wanted to go see if the chickens had laid any eggs, she darted off to the kitchen and out the back door to put back a couple of the eggs she had gathered that morning...just so my daughter could enjoy the accomplishment of getting fresh eggs for her breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend at Fields of Anthenry and it was Divine.
The staff was incredible,we couldn't have been more welcomed anywhere and it came from their heart.
Breakfast was over the top with homemade breads,jams and stories.
The spa was first class all the way, it was difficult to leave this place, the atmosphere Was like something out of a classic movie.
Our biggest disappointment was that we had to leave , but , we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms had balconies and a view,the wood burning fire place and sunroom on lower level was a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Excellent food and friendly and helpful staff. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jewely08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Fields of Athenry exceeded our expectations - and them some. My husband and I enjoyed a much-needed weekend away from the kids. It was absolute luxury. The spa treatments were amazing. The room was divine, and the view fantastic. Unlike anything in Newfoundland.

The staff couldn't do enough for us, and made us feel very much at home. The Eggs Benedict were to die for. We will be back - hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Just book well in advance of your stay. Ask for a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botwood, nl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed in Athenry in August with 11 co-workers. We had a fabulous time. What a great place to relax and forget about the stress that a lot of us seem to have these days. The Staff were super friendly and very accommodating. The Inn was very cleand annd the rooms were quiet comfortable with Patios. The grounds are beautiful with walking trails and lots of seating if you just want to lounge around and enjoy the great outdoors. The Spa treaments were very relaxing. This is a great place to visit iwth a group because it is so spacious. It is definitely a place I would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This has been my first stay at 'Fields of Athenry' and I plan to make more visits in the future. I spent 2 days there with my teenage boys this passed August and they loved it as well.
What can I say? From the ducks, to the Newfoundland ponies, hens, walking trails, and local shops and restaurants. Loved it all.
The room had a very nice country feel and the view from the windows / balcony were breathtaking.
I enjoyed the sitting room with the fire nightly as it made it feel like home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Footeloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greens Harbour
23.7 mi away
Comerfords Suites
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
27 reviews
4.6 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Inn By The Bay
Inn By The Bay
#2 of 3 in Dildo
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
150 reviews
14.6 mi away
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
13.5 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doctor's House Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's House Inn & Spa

Property: The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
Address: 21 Old Hopeall Road, Greens Harbour, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada (Formerly Fields of Athenry)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Greens Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greens Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newfoundland's hidden jewel: The Doctor's House Inn & Spa. A breathtaking 14-room Inn & Spa hidden between the trees and the water's edge in Green's Harbour, just over an hour from St. John's. First built over 50 years ago as a doctor's gift for his beloved wife, this elegant Tudor Mansion is now open as a luxury inn and wedding destination. This 100-acre oceanfront retreat features fine dining, Aveda spa, beautiful gardens, secluded walking trails and breathtaking views of Trinity Bay. Newly added: 4 room guest house, licensed restaurant, 200-seat wedding and event venue housed in an elegantly restored barn. Home to Newfoundland ponies, sheep, goats, chickens and ducks. Safe harbour for whales in the bay. The perfect retreat. Just over an hour from St. John's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Doctor's House Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa Newfoundland/Greens Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing