We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn´t recommend it for a wedding night...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Petit Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Petit Manoir
Ranked #1 of 1 Socx B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn´t recommend it for a wedding night...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights including our wedding night. We made the booking with months in advance. As expected we arrived very late after our party. It was very deceiving because we expected a little treat... - a bottle of champagne, a fruit platter, few chocolates, SOMETHING...- that could welcome us that night. But unfortunatelly, I have to say that the service was very poor and there was no treat or anything that could made us think that the place was worthy staying and because it was our WEDDING NIGHT!!! Mots of the hotels leave a special gift for the newly weds, etc. But this one was just another fancy place to stay, but not outstanding, specially considering the price. I wouldn´t recommend it for your wedding night...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueYeux19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
34
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've been going between England and Italy twice a year for over 25 years and have struggled to find just the right accommodation on our last night before returning back over the Channel. Au Petit Manoir has been the best find yet. Catherine is a charming hostess with good but slightly eccentric English, Jean Jacques has been cooking since he was 14, and it shows. The suites are comfortable - but, again, slightly eccentric - and the dining is excellent, though you must book ahead if you want to eat.

Staying in October we were not disturbed by the trains, which run several hundred yards across fields behind the house, and we could not hear traffic on the main road to the front. There is a fitness centre that we didn't try. The Manoir is within a mile of the main Lille to Dunkerque road, and is very easy to find once you know that computer-generated directions can be completely wrong.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the house are away from the road, which can be busy, though the dining room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flautaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is a little ofthe beaten track but well worth staying. Lovely Hostess Katherine fantastic bedroom with everything you could possibly need for a luxurious stay with the most comfortable bed.
Food is fantastic cooked by mIne host and the ambience is wonderful. Fine dining and fine wines included in the price of dinner.

Room Tip: Building is laid back from busy road and I had a front bedroom and there was no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosturk c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Other travellers, be warned : this place is impossible to book! For you to understand, here is what happened to me :

- I contacted them by mail on August 5 with a few questions, including availability on a defined WE.
- They replied on August 7.
- On the 8th, I confirmed our booking and asked about prepayment to guarantee our booking. They told me to send a "cheque" of half the amount. I replied that in Belgium, "cheques" do not exist anymore (except on spefific cases) and asked for their bank details in order to make a bank transfer but never got any answer (this is what I do when I book a room in France, they are used to it with Belgians).
- On August 11, they send me a new mail, as if they never sent me the first one, changing the guarantee amount, and saying again that I should send a "cheque".
- I explained again that I needed their bank details, as I cannot send them a "cheque" from Belgium. This is where they stopped answering!!!

If this is the way they do business, they won't last very long... and it is a pitty because the place looks really nice.


-

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Au Petit Manoir is an outstanding place to stay and one that I now rate all other B & Bs against. It is situated just 10 minutes from the ferry at Dunkerque and is well worth making the small detour if you are going North or South on the A16.
The decor and facilities are amazing and up to the standards of many 4 or 5 star hotels. The attention to detail is impressive; we stayed in the Malo les Bains room with a seaside theme which even has a bath standing on a base covered with pebbles. The other rooms are equally as impressive and a lot of time was spent searching for furniture and antiques to fit in with the room's theme.
Outside, there is a barbeque house and, if you arrive early enough, the opportunity to have a hammam.
We would also recommend booking an evening meal cooked by Jean-Jaques which was delicious and used fresh local produce where possible. The local Berques cheese is worth trying but not at the expense of one of Jean-Jacque's desserts!
Catherine and Jean-Jacques are very welcoming hosts and do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. Well done to them for making their website available in English!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Socx
0.7 mi away
Au Tonnelier
Au Tonnelier
#1 of 1 in Bergues
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Dunkerque Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Cuis'in
Hotel La Cuis'in
#3 of 13 in Dunkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Dunkerque Centre
Ibis Dunkerque Centre
#4 of 13 in Dunkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Petit Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Petit Manoir

Property: Au Petit Manoir
Address: 36 Faubourg de Cassel, 59380 Socx, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Socx
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Socx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Au Petit Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing