We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilcunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcunda Oceanview Holiday Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

perched on the clifts of bass coast, right off the bass highway, it is an incredible site. we rented a deluxe, 2 bedroom, ocean view cabin to find upon arrival that it was limited ocean view between two cabins in front of ours. we were unable to upgrade as they were all booked out. the second bedroom with bunkbed was the size of a closet; the website should have described more details as there was no map of the site nor specific details.

nevertheless, the cabin was sqeaky clean and even had a professional grade hair dryer! the location is perfect, with easy access to the beach, the george bass coastal walk and right across the road from our favourite cafe, kilcunda general store!

the managers were friendly and helpful, upon request we were even given a spare set of keys without demand for deposit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 69 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fell across this little gem by accident - we turned into the wrong driveway. Stayed in an Ocean View villa. The views are to die for and the beach walks are lovely. Pity not more time to enjoy but were on the way to Phillip Island. The managers, who unfortunately were retiring, were fantastic - helpful, friendly and informative of the area. Spent some quality time together with a bottle of wine on the verandah without a care in the world. Would return when next travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a girls weekend away on the 22nd, 23rd, 24th March in a Cottage View Cabin. Just loved it!!! Very clean, had all the comforts of home except for towels (not enough),fantastic views with the large front windows, veranda to watch the sunset. Lots of rabbits to watch, something different. Its only 10 mins to Wonthaggi and the same to Philip Island. Very impressive!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view cabin - it's just soooooo relaxing! Take some extra towels other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S, Owner at Kilcunda Oceanview Holiday Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review - your comments are appreciated. We will consider the provision of extra towels for longer stays, meanwhile please make a request to Reception should additional towels be needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A real mixed bag here... We stayed in Ocean View Cottage as a group. The cottage was newly refurbished, nicely done and with views to die for. A lovely rental. The location - just above a super beach (eat your heart out red rocks nearby) - though not good for bathing- and not that far from Philip Island. The cottage itself sits on the edge of a caravan park, some areas of which have seen much better days (hence the mixed bag). Worth a visit if you're not put off by the generally disintegrating state of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S, Owner at Kilcunda Oceanview Holiday Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review which is much appreciated. We can however assure you and other readers that the Retreat is not disintergrating. Since taking it over some 5 years much effort has been spent on re-newing and improving the Retreat. This is an on-going improvement program which you will enjoy in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My Family and l travelled to Kilcunda for a weekend getaway. The Holiday Retreat is a great place for family time out, with so many things to do without leaving the retreat. My two young children loved the beach, the new adventure playground as well as the volleyball. For myself and husband the Villa was a home away from home - stunning uninterrupted views, well appointed, clean and beautifully presented. My parents also travelled with us as return guests and will again stay at the retreat. The retreat offers many different styles of accommodation suiting most budgets.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fckdgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LesBoretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S, General Manager at Kilcunda Oceanview Holiday Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcunda
13.1 mi away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
534 reviews
7 mi away
The Island Accommodation
5.1 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
4.6 mi away
Chateau Bass
Chateau Bass
#1 of 1 in Bass
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcunda Oceanview Holiday Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcunda Oceanview Holiday Retreat

Address: 3560 Bass Hwy, Kilcunda, Victoria 3995, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Kilcunda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kilcunda
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Share our truly stunning views of Bass Strait & coastline with Cape Woolamai to the west and Cape Paterson to the east. Nestled between Phillip Island and Inverloch we are only 1.5 hours drive from Melbourne it is the perfect place for a holiday by the sea or to explore the region.From having our own steps down to the beach to icecreams we offer everything for a great family beach holiday. Kilcunda Oceanview has a full range of holiday park accommodation choices from spacious self-contained Oceanfront Villas and spacious Cabins to powered caravan sites and unpowered camping. Kilcunda has recreational facilities for families & groups including Recreation centre with games area, basketball ring, cricket pitch, Koala Kid’s activity program, direct access to the rail trail, fascinating rock pools & more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing