We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming pub!!”
Review of The Church Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Church Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chelmorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Called in for a pint while in the area on a walk and immediately thought a return visit would be required. Outside there is a great little sun trap where people were eating what looked and smelt really nice. The pub seems to be somewhere that is really looked after, well done all!!

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank MyLifeAroundTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
You picked a great weekend to visit the peak district and hopefully it won't be long before we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 243 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

we arrived late from Go Ape one very busy bank holiday evening. The staff had already squeezed us in so we phoned ahead and asked if it was still ok. They were extremely accommodating and friendly. The food was excellent. This pub is extremely well kept and very clean. Agree with other reviewer - wish it was my local!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Church Inn.
It is great to know you enjoyed your time with us.
All these wonderful reviews reflect the great team we have working with us and it gives a lot of encouragement to us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recommended by our B&B at Staden Grange, we enjoyed a really nice meal and drink in the garden at The Church Inn after a day of Bank Holiday walking. The pub was busy but the service was excellent. The choice was extensive and we were not disappointed when our pork stroganoff and chicken & Stilton arrived. Piping hot plates kept the food warm for ages - others take note. All fairly priced for the quality and service. Just the job.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Church Inn. It is very much appreciated by all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Can't recommend this Inn highly enough. Lovely warm welcome from charming staff and friendly, helpful owners. We love the food - delicious and generous proportions without being silly. The chips are heavenly :-) Never had a duff visit, and look forward to my next chance to visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feed back.
It is so good to know that we are providing the high level of service and quality that are customers expect.
AND yes the chips are good ! - Home cooked everyday.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The pub is in a great little setting and looks very quaint. We camped nearby so drove down for an early dinner. We sat at 6 and from the moment we arrived everything was rushed. There was no more than 5 minutes from ordering to the starter arriving and then the main course came almost as fast as the starter disappeared. I asked for a small break when dessert was mentioned but this then came far too quick. It seemed they just wanted us in and out for another sitting. £60 for a three course meal (food was very average to say the least and microwave was definitely used) and in and out within the hour for me is very poor service. Steer clear unless just going for a pint.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Johnfitz0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Owner at The Church Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that your visit was not up to your expectations.
Chelmorton is set well off the main road and as so the majority of our customers have travelled to us by car or on foot and often several miles, therefore we give every effort to accommodate as many as possible.
Customers are not hurried as a general rule, however as it was a bank holiday and you did not book a table in advance we would have offered you a table with the understanding that it would be required again by a certain time.
We have a great team here at the Church Inn and we are very lucky to have such great staff. We taylor our menu to provide good traditional pub food at realistic prices as efficiently as possible and with 13 years experience in this very pub we consider we know how best to do it. In view of bank holiday traffic and exceptionally good weather it is essential to be as prepared as possible.
As I read your review I did wonder whether you were actually reviewing the right place. I am responsible for pricing the menu and try as I might found it impossible to figure a three course meal for £60.
Anyone reading your review can check out our menu at www.thechurchinn.co.uk and see for themselves. The average cost for a three course meal which would include a starter, something from our daily specials board such as rabbit pie and a homemade sweet would cost £21.00.
As for microwaves who hasn't got one? We do not use microwaves to cook food but we most certainly do have them in the kitchen. We use fresh vegetables and local butchers daily.
Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us I am however glad you enjoyed your pint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 2 enjoyable evenings in this pub whilst staying at Beech Croft campsite. Good cooking, big portions and pleasant service. Good selection of real ales and a nice choice of wines. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed visiting us whilst staying over the hill with John and Julie. We are glad that everything met your requirements and that you found the range of real ales pleasing. We hope to see you again,

Regards, The Church Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cottage within walking distance from The Church Inn. In entering it felt cozy and welcoming albeit basic. Staff were pleasant and the fire was lit. Which was great as it was a tad cold and windy outside with some snow on the ground. Can't fault the pub in terms of warmth and staff after a day walking/cycling. The food however was not that good. I had a warm winter meal which appeared with a small salad added, interesting. My partners chilli was bland, grey and dumped on top of the rice. If your looking for basic food with a cozy atmosphere try The Church Inn

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Keepcalmandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We will take on board the comments you have provided to improve our service at The Church Inn,

Regards The Church Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmorton
6.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
12.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.1 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#5 of 159 in Peak District National Park
333 reviews
10.3 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
296 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Inn

Address: Buxton | Buxton, Derbyshire, Chelmorton, Peak District National Park SK17 9SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Chelmorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmorton
Price Range: $67 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church Inn, a traditional family run country inn, ideally situated in the picturesque village of Chelmorton. Between the market towns of Buxton and Bakewell. We offer 4 star accommodation in our four bedrooms, adjacent to the pub with free onsite parking. Serving traditional home cooked food and 5 cask conditioned ales, offering free Wifi. We feature in the good pub guide and have done since 2010 and the good beer guide since 2001. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing