We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to eat and stay..”
Review of The Church Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Church Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chelmorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place to eat and stay..”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

just got back from staying at church inn, we had a lovely time, great food and great bed, so welcomeing after a long walk in the snow,.. The people were so friendly,and the beer was so good,.. Breakfast was excellent,, lunch was excellent,and dinner was excellent, would recommend this place to all my fiends, worth a stay any time,,

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzinotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for you kind words, we are very glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We hope to see you again soon; hopefully with easier walking conditions once all the snow has melted. Regards;
The Church Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    58
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
122
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from an extended 3 night break, this is our second stay, and we would not hesitate in booking another stay, and will hope to do this later in the year.
We cannot fault the hospitality of Justin, Julie and staff, who cannot do enough for you.In addition to the cleanliness, the quality and value of the food, the well stocked bar (real ale to the fore), the warm cosiness from the roaring log fire and the location make it the perfect base for exploring the Peak district.
You will receive a true Derbyshire/Yorkshire welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and eventually managed to get home safely after all the snow. Hope your not too addicted to thoe 4pis1word! Hope to see you again soon,

The Church Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I have visited this inn on several occasions while caravanning in the area. We have had nothing short of an excellent welcome and the inn is as you would expect in an area of natural beauty. Greeted by a large wood burning stove which is more than welcoming on a cold evening, great service from the staff and nothing is too much trouble. On this occasion we were with other caravanning friends (seven in total) who had not eaten here even though they had visited before.
Between us we had six different meals from the menu or from the specials board which had around eight choices. Every single one of us went away with the satisfaction we had eaten well. The meals come with a choice of salad/fresh greens and potatoes/homemade chips. This is much more than pub grub and the prices are fair as well. I recommend you book a table as it is quite popular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARLBATTERSBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi, thank you very much for your kind review; we are glad you enjoyed your meal once again. We hope to see you again in the near future,

Regards, The Church Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.W.Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This pub was recommended by someone local as a suitable place for Dinner. Pleasant surroundings with a lovely wood burner making the place very inviting. Lovely service from the girl on the bar. The meal was a very good ,home cooked pub meal. Reasonable portions and served piping hot. We all enjoyed our evening and would dine there again. Prices were very much in line with what you expect to pay in a pub. Quality was better than many establishments with the same sort of pricing structure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and the pricing of meals in the establishment. We hope to see you again soon,

The Church Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Church Inn, the weather was very cold but the hotel was very cosy and the food excellent, so much so that we never ventured very far at night preferring to eat at the hotel even participating in quiz night. We would certainly stay again to explore more of the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitehouseSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for you kind review of our accommodation and the food provided at The Church Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here, and hope you spend your bingo winnings wisely. We hope to see you again soon,

The Church Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a very nice country pub, friendly, with good food. We came here for dinner one night when we were staying in the village. Very friendly service, nice big portions of really good food, including a choice of veggie options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwayFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review; your opinion of our establishment is highly valued. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit to The Church Inn and found our range of dishes to your taste and different dietary needs. Hopefully we will see you again soon,

The Church Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I ate here recently and were really disappointed with the meal and the service. The food is priced around £9.50-£13 on average per main meal, and the desserts are £4 each so you would expect good home-made food. My husband had the Chicken Breast in a Stilton sauce with chips. A little disappointed the chicken beast is cut into slices which is hard to see if it is a full chicken breast and it was hidden under an pool of Stilton sauce, with frozen chips. My main meal I have to say was very nice. The desserts, well at £4 you would like to think that it would be home-made or a good quality. No, we had the meringue with ice cream and raspberries. It was served on what seemed to resemble a small side plate, a cheap small meringue nest, with two dollops of ice cream which is tasteless and was full of icy bits. It reminded me of a cheap value ice cream. I had hoped to get more than 3 raspberries too. The girl waiting on was rude, and even when mentioning our disappointment, it was clearly dismissed. We were not given a explanation or apology and we were bill the full amount. I will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinsatur, Manager at The Church Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
In reply to your review bobbibee,
We are very upset to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us here at the Church Inn. We have read your review of the establishment and would like to assure you that the chips are homemade on the premise, and that the chicken is a full breast; the meat is only sliced to ensure the chicken is heated throughout whilst remaining moist. In terms of our sweets we do make 90% of the sweets on the premise, however from previous experience of making meringues they do not keep but people do insist on them remaining on the menu therefore we buy them in and the are enjoyed by the majority. We are sorry that you felt the situation was not handled well by the staff on duty; this will be addressed with them to prevent future dissatisfaction by customers.It was also noticed that you scored the cleanliness of the establishment quite low; we assure the establishment is cleaned thoroughly daily and has received a five star hygiene rating on more than one occasion from the Food Standards Agency. Sorry again that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmorton
4.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
390 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,709 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Inn

Property: The Church Inn
Address: Buxton | Buxton, Derbyshire, Chelmorton, Peak District National Park SK17 9SL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Chelmorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Church Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church Inn, a traditional family run country inn, ideally situated in the picturesque village of Chelmorton. Between the market towns of Buxton and Bakewell. We offer 4 star accommodation in our four bedrooms, adjacent to the pub with free onsite parking. Serving traditional home cooked food and 5 cask conditioned ales, offering free Wifi. We feature in the good pub guide and have done since 2010 and the good beer guide since 2001. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing