We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Church Inn
Nearby Hotels
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$108
$97
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
178
62
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
62
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreat foodrabbit piespecials boardbeefdumplingspuddingwarm welcomemy partnerlovely mealselection of beerspeak districtan evening mealout of the waypotatoesate hereboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 249 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

13 of us ate here over the Jubilee weekend and every one of the 13 meals was fabulous along with the service which was wonderful. It was that good that we all decided we wanted to eat there the next evening. Without any hesitation I would recommend it.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ruttle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have been going to this pub for a couple of years now and have had some goods meals.
The landlord if friendly and funny and remembers us when we good
It is a charming pub

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinklebelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I had an overnight stay at The Curch Inn with three friends from work, There are four bedrooms in an annex attached to the side of the pub, we booked all four bedrooms for one night on a bed and breakfast basis.

We arrived at 11 am and didnt expect our rooms to be ready, the landlord was very helpful and allowed us to put all of our belongings in one room that was ready and lock them in so we could go out walking for the day.

The pub is situated at the end of a cul-de-sac at the top of the villiage and has a number of footpaths to hand, the villiage is quiet and the views are stunning. When we returned from our day walking all the rooms were ready, all were fitted to a high standard and had en-suite facilities, tea and coffe making facilities and dvd/tv .

We stayed in the pub for the evening and had dinner there, the food was fantastic and good value for money, there was a good selection and a list of specials too. There was also a selection of real ales on offer which were very well kept.

Breakfast was also very good and we all opted for the good old full english and there was also cereal, toast, fruit juices and a as much tea and coffee as you wanted.

All in all we felt it was very good value for money, a very frierndly warm atmosphere and good food and drink with stunning walks on your doorstep. We all said that we would return here and it was a lucky find on our part. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegoose768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We visited this pub on the second night whilst staying at the nearby Beech Croft Farm campsite. We enjoyed two drinks each, two large mains and two yummy deserts. Two log burners in a long narrow open plan bar. The toilets were cold and tired (the single mens cubicle lock didn't work). A couple of decent real ales to choose from and the usual taps and liquors. Plenty of vacant tables even with several reserved, a nice atmosphere, everyone enjoying their night be it a beer or a meal. We had a stirloin steak and the lamb shank both perfectly cooked with steamed vegetables.Desert we both had hot chocolate puddings with ice cream. Not a cheap night at £42 but we came away happy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longdistanceman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

A lovely pub pretty setting but... I travelled 30 miles for a Sunday lunch expecting it to be a traditional home cooked lunch but regrettably it turned out to be waste of time and money - our expectations were severely dinted. The dinner was of limited portions and the chef's ability was obviously in the use and timing of a microwave. The beef was pre cooked boil in a bag tasteless, the taste of the vegetables, dire - no mash or evidence of home cooking.It was similar to a value dinner on a plate that one could buy fom any leading supermarket (Is this where it came from?) My plate was half gravy and half water from the vegetables being poured onto the plate. Absolutely disgraceful for £8 a head.Coupled with this was that i ordered an extra dish with the meal for it not arrive. I was told I should have asked - but then there is no point in asking when the first sight of the waitress was half way through the meal ( no one came to ask about enjoyment etc). But this a minor niggle in comparison to the quality of the food

Such a lovely pub pleasant surroundings so why do they have to resort to mass produced micro waved mush? Especially when chain competitors produce home cooked food and beef cooked on the premises a lot cheaper .Unless you want a pretty pub in a village atmosphere and your taste buds are banal this is not the pub to venture to - stay at home and save money!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews