We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite pub in the Dales”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thoralby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We love this pub and have been staying here on and off since Becki and Charles first opened the guest rooms in about 2003. The rooms are very comfortable with lots of extras. Dogs are welcome, the food, beer and company are great. A very friendly, cosy place to stay in the heart of the beautiful Dales. I haven't rated it before now because I don't really want everyone staying and making it difficult to book!! on the other hand Charles and Becki deserve the recognition for their great hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colliedogs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 209 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely little pub, with 2 B&B rooms in an annex. The accommodation was first class with lots of little extra's that we didn't expect. If you forget your toothbrush don't worry! The breakfast is the best we have had, with a fantastic choice and it's so convenient in an evening just to stroll a few feet to the pub and have a lovey meal (very big portions) with excellent beers and a good selection of wines. The locations is amazing and if you like to walk you can leave your car behind and head for the hills or Aysgarth Falls which is only 20 mins walk away. It's also dog friendly, so you can bring along your four legged friend! Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thoralby is a peaceful hamlet, off the beaten track one mile south of Aysgarth in Wensleydale. The George Inn has a cosy bar with real ales, a small restaurant with honest (but not spectacular) home-cooked food and just two immaculately presented rooms in an adjoining building. There is a wide choice of breakfasts that set you up for the day - we did not need to eat again until evening. It is excellently situated for sightseeing and walking. Mine host is Charles, who is very helpful and attentive. Stay here - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisocuarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, the double room was very well appointed and even better, it was just across from the front door of The George. Excellent food, freindly welcome and a great place to explore the Yorkshire Dales. Would go back any day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A warm, cosy room - despite 6 inches of snow outside! - spotlessly clean, with a fabulous shower. Food freshly prepared and piping hot, and Becci's breakfast kept us going all day! And on top of all that, a biscuit for our doggie each time he went into the bar - what more could we ask? :D

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 563margareth563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Dropped in for lunch 2 years ago and received Charles' warm hospitality and witnessed Becci's attention to detail on the plate of sandwiches. We realised then that a longer stay was due. We have not been disappointed. The classy touches in the room - grapes, bathrobes, sherry! The George has a lot of style, generated by the hosts. The food is very high quality with generous portions and a menu with plenty of tempting choices. Breakfast is another great experience. The George only has 2 rooms, which is ideal, as you are made to feel special. There can be few visitors who will only want the experience once. We can't wait to return and we have already passed on the good news about this little gem to selected friends. After all we want to keep a little bit of the George's charm a secret for ourselves. Thoralby is a wonderful centre for walking the dales away from the crowds. After a long walk there is no finer prospect than some excellent real ale and a choice of Becci's classy home cooking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Decided to re-visit this lovely pub that I frequented with a friend over 15 years ago, to celebrate my 60th birthday. We normally go caravaning and so it is a real treat for me to be waited on and spoilt. Well what a lovely weekend we had. Charles & Becci, made sure that we were fed and watered with scrumptious food and excellent Ale. Our dog Malic was welcomed in the pub. We were made to feel very welcome by the locals. Considering the snowy conditions we were kept lovely and warm and cosy in one of their two character built en-suite rooms...along with the plentiful supply and choice of hot drinks in the room, a lovely touch was the bowl of grapes and decanter of sherry. Loved the shower...... My memories of The George and Thoralby were better than I remembered. I will not hesitate in returning and would highly recommend The George Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binkerduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Thoralby, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Thoralby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thoralby
Price Range: $124 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing