We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Street Head Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great winter pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely pub with a roaring fire, friendly staff and excellent, unpretentious food. Unless you have walked miles, do not attempt more then two courses!Very good vegetarian options as well as great steak and ale pie and huge fish and chips. If in doubt, drink beer not wine by the glass which is disappointing. Next door to a really friendly campsite and very close to the Bunkhouse for reasonable accommodation.

Room Tip: We were not resident but all rooms seem to have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our second stay at the Streethead Inn, and one of many times when we have eaten there. The room was excellent, very clean and with the most stunning view over Bishopdale, with the window seat the perfect place to sit and read. Excellent atmosphere in the bar with a mix of locals and tourists, and decent beer to boot. The food has always been of a high quality and was so once again, with the steak and kidney pudding and duck our choices. The Full English was perhaps the largest I have ever had in a pub, and set me up nicely for the day. All in all, a great central base for visiting the Dales, and we shall return.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 look right out onto the dale. Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited here recently whilst staying at the campsite nextdoor. The pub is lovely and atmospheric and had a very friendly feel. We chose to eat in the bar area(which isnt huge) but you could eat in the resturant to the side.
We had steak and kidney pudding, fish and chips.Very generous portions and very tasty, certainly fresh and no microwave meals here. Chips were some of the best i have tasted for a long time.
The staff were polite and friendly even when it got busy. It wasnt the cheapest meal but it was certainly worth it. Would go again if we stayed at the campsite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I have just had a three night stay at this interesting and ancient pub. The welcome was warm and the room was extremely homely, being of good size and comfortably furnished, without being ‘clinical’ or corporately styled. A real lived-in feel with space to relax, move about or sit and soak in the rural view. We found this far better than the would-be 5 star hotel we stayed at in Whitby which was about 3 times the price of this!
Food was ‘pub grub’, just as expected and of good quality and presented well. The wine list had some little gems at fair prices. No complaints at all.
This inn is two or three hundred years old and has an abundance of original features, including uneven stairs and low beams, and open fire. This is all part of the relaxing ambience.
The location is marvellous for exploring the very local, spectacular waterfalls and the various heritage railway lines. This makes a great base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Had this place recommended as a place to eat whilst on our jubilee weekend visit to Leyburn area. Very disappointed with the food, very limited menu and nothing amazing on offer. Service was good considering the pub was packed out with jubilee weekend celebration customers. Probably won't be going back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Recently visited with a group of friends for a stag weekend although we were staying at the bunk barn nearby so we actually visited it 3 times over the weekend and ate there twice. Some of our group ate there on the first night and said the portions were huge and the food very good. We all ate there on the saturday night as we'd booked and the food was very good although the portions appeared to be a smaller than those who'd eaten there the night before. I also had Sunday lunch there which was good; my only minor niggle being that the waitress brought my meal out first and the vegetables last so main meal was a bit cold by the time the veg arrived (main course served on cold plates; such a simple mistake so often made in restaurants). Mind you, the potion and quality of the veg was excellent. On the saturday night, the place was absolutely packed as there was a 40th birthday party on so we had to eat early but the landlord/owner was very helpful in managing to accommodate both parties; especially as there was a disco on for the 40th birthday as well as the Champions League Final. And, despite the place being packed, the service at the bar was quick. The beer was a bit disappointing but overall a pretty good place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Popped in for a drink on a lovely sunny evening to be met by the two female staff who simply acted as if they couldn't be bothered! Only white wine offered was a pinot grigio on tap. Sorry can't be bothered to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VikingYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
2.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
15.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
18.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
1.3 mi away
Fox & Hounds Inn
Fox & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in West Burton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Street Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Street Head Inn

Property: The Street Head Inn
Address: Street Head, Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Street Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Street Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing