We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Street Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Street Head Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“nice but !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our 3rd visit here,must say not been for 2 years.Lovely clean rooms very nice food,the breakfast seems to be skimped on now, on our last day there was a table spoon of beans. There was only 3 of us staying the service was poor,ie had to refill your own coffee,wait at the bar for drinks,and the bar lady was very rude no please or thankyou.The food is a bit pricey but very good,the lady who used to cook has left and the menu has changed since our last visit.Still enjoyed the break but don't think we will be back.We do think it is very good value for money on the accomadation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobitEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have stayed at the Street Head Inn many times the location is fantastic, the food is out or this world (credit to Pete) you would not find a menu like this outside of London. make sure you book.. The accmmodation is clean and very welcoming, big king size beds En Suite.
The intresting part is that around 2:30am you may here someome coming upstairs with some keys and you will hear them trying to get into a locked door after a few minutes the sound stops I have heard it twice, I enquired about the late vistor and was told (there was only you in the whole place last night and there were no late arrivels) Many other strange happenings have been confirmed by the staff... Just ask....

Well worth a visit one of the best restaurant in Yorkshire...

SH
Cumbria

Room Tip: They all just as good as each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icekoolcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Recently stayed at the campsite next door to this lovely pub and had a wonderful time. The Street Head had a great mix of locals and visitors of all ages. The atmosphere was brilliant - lots of chatter and laughter - friendly staff and FANTASTIC FOOD!! The selection of fresh seasonal veg included 7 different vegetables, all cooked to perfection.
We will visit here again just to eat - and I'm hungry now just thinking about it. Well done guys!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank issy1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were staying at campsite adjacent to this Inn and decided to go for a meal here. We were advised to book a table as this is a popular place. The atmosphere was very friendly and the food was absolutely fantastic. Would advise anyone if they are in the area to check it out!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Just returned from a two night stay here. The staff were all very friendly, Nigel very helpful and informative.We had a large rrom and bathroom with all the extras provided.
the breakfast menu was good and the evening meals superb with plenty of fresh vegetables. We were able to take our dog here and it was an ideal location for walking her. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 2 is not disturbed by any bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brydens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmer
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Travelling with motorhome, looking for a campsite with a pub and we stumbled across this gem.
Excellent food and beer plus adjacent campsite.
Delighted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnaerial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We arrived late on a Fri evening and were really impressed with our choice - first impressions it was a lovely traditional coaching inn. Our room was really well presented, clean and with plenty of space.

We went down to eat and the staff were lovely, food came and that was great. Fast forward a few hrs and it was more like a Friday night youth club!! This wouldn't normally bother us but there were kids in and out, behind the bar - they seemed to be able to go wherever they liked, so didn't exactly feel like our stuff was secure in our room

Headed up to bed about 11.30 and all you could hear was the boom boom boom of the music, cars coming and going and girls screaming outside. Dropped off to sleep eventually only to be woken up by the same thing later. Seemingly it has a bit of a reputation in the area for trouble with kids and drink driving - had we known we wouldn't have stayed.

Very disappointing and definitely wouldn't recommend i'm afraid. If the landlord were a bit more choosy with his clientelle I'm sure it could be a roaring success.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammieb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
2.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
15.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
1.8 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Street Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Street Head Inn

Property: The Street Head Inn
Address: Street Head, Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Street Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Street Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing