We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Cardones EcoLodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Montelimar(San Rafael del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vistamar(Pochomil)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Pochomil(Pochomil)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Managua(Managua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel D'Lido(Managua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
77
13
6
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
13
6
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno electricitysurf lessonsgreat surfon stiltsmosquito netlocal schoolsuper funthe pacific oceancold beerother guestsplay cardssecurity guardrecommend staying herehorseback ridingboogie boardingcompost toiletsbaby turtles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 104 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Wonderful design.........great food..........the best cabanas..........get the ones with ocean view and full bath.......though I did not like the stairs in the bathrooms........they where some of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen!!!!!!! Owners were great......staff was great........quiet.......beach to ourselves.........just a fun pretty nice place!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Calling this place an eco-lodge is like calling a refugee slum an eco-village. Just cos there's no services doesn't make it eco.
No power, no wifi, no plumbing (ie no flushing toilets).
Budget brick huts (By Nicaraguan standards), poorly designed with no air flow, no private toilet and tiny windows with no views.
The public toilets are placed near the huts so the smell of the neighbours composting faeces wafts into the hut all night long.
We could not sleep for 3 nights straight because of the stifling heat.
We are from Australia and used to the heat, but the huts here are almost brick ovens, the windows are tiny trapping the heat in all day, and with no power for fans, it is like a sauna inside.
Not to mention the beds were 5 foot 9 (I'm 6 foot) my ankles hung over the edge and the pillows and sheets were cheap and the room cleaned only every 3 days.
and at a $170 per night for a couple inc taxes, its one of the more expensive places in Nicaragua.
Food is included but it was the worst we had in Nica (We eat fish, and it tasted bad and old).
Its a rip off, and literally the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in.
We stayed at Beuna Vista Surf Club Eco Lodge at Playa Maderas Nicaragua before coming here, and it was excellent. Great meals included, architecturally well designed wood huts with great air flow and beach views, solar powering, private bathrooms connected to rain tanks, locally made organic soaps-you know- stuff that REAL eco lodges have. Oh, and all for 130 per night.
Plus they want $25 a day for surf board rental for the same average boards you get everywhere else in Nica for $7 - $10 a day.
If they charged $70 per couple per night total, I'd consider giving this place a rating of average.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Los Cardones and appreciate all of you have done to make it an enjoyable experience that also benefits the environment and surrounding communities. We found the cabanas to be clean and comfortable, we loved all of the meals, and were pleased with the massages and the selection of books available. The one disappointment we had was the cost of surfboard rental which we felt was a bit high. However, in all, our stay was fantastic and we hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Nicaragua for the first time in January and stayed at Los Cardones 7 days. We had such a great time! The staff were all super friendly, the surf was great, and the lodge was beautiful. Our cabana was quiet with a fantastic deck overlooking the ocean. The food was great. You could order off of a menu, but the daily specials were so good, we never wanted to. We loved the fact that there were no lights or electricity in the rooms, it is a great way to disconnect and really stay in the moment. We got up with the sun and went to bed not long after it went down. Oh, and the beer was cold, what more could you ask for?! We are already saving up to go again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our 2nd time to this resort and it is spectacular! Amazing sunset views from the cabanas, top-notch, fresh food and clean, and a comfortable bungalow! The grounds are well-kept and offer convenience. I did a yoga class with the sounds of the ocean all around. We laid around in the hammock, boogie-boarded, watched surfers, fishers and rode horseback on the shoreline. The workers were patient with our little Spanish and everyone was just happy! The food was tremendous and very fresh! The owner helped arrange a cab back to Managua when we needed it. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews