We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover in the Duero River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Folgosa Douro
Ranked #1 of 2 Folgosa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Good location in a small village. Very easy to drive to the other sites in the Duero River area outside Porto. Nice rooms with comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. Modern decor. Very helpful staff. Walls a little thin and can hear other guests a bit. The in house restaurant is nice but not as elegant as the hotel for some reason. There is also another nice restaurant just across the street right on the river. Parking and the entry to hotel are difficult with only parking on the street or in front of the hotel. Entry was quite steep and uneven making it a bit of a challenge with luggage. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms looked to be the best in terms of view and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights with friends. The hotel is small, simple ,quiet and friendly. I was a bit worried on arrival as it is right on the road but the road is really quiet and the rooms are set back. For the best view book a 2nd floor room but if you want a balcony go for the 1st although they look across a large flat roof. Can't comment on the evening meal as we didn't eat here although breakfast was fine. The staff were helpful and arranged a boat tour for us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We arrived early afternnoon, which was good because I think it might be a bit difficult to spot the hotel in the night. It is located on the main road with just a few parking spaces below it. There is parking opposite and around the hotel though. Access to the hotel is on the side up a steep ramp, which would not be suitable for older persons or disabled travellers. There is also access up some steps through the bar terrace and then on the lift to reception.

This is a small hotel, which is fairly new. Very nicely decorated in an up to date style. The reception staff were very friendly and eager to help with bookings etc.

Our room was lovely, overlooking the Duoro River, the decor in the room and bathroom was excellent very modern, with a lovely bed with lots of soft cushions and pillows.

All the hotel was very clean, it had a small terrace and bar and a lovely restaurant overlooking the river. We eat here on the first night. The food was very good but not cheap, on the second night we had a lighter meal, which was very good and reasonable.

The breakfast was excellent, with fresh breads and home made cakes available, you also had fresh coffee and orange juice.

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel, the only thing against it , in my view, is the access to it.

We took a boat ride on the river from the next town up Pinhao, about 15 mins down the road, which as very good. You can also take a train ride from the station in Pinhao to Pocinho it takes about 1 hour each way and you get wonderful views of the river and wine growing areas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOROGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I stayed a few times in this hotel in business trips. In the area, for this price, there aren't many places to choose. But the hotel really exceded my expectations.

First is kind of new and almost smells like it. The decoration is very trendy, like a design hotel (but cheaper!). For the location, you can't ask for more. It's in front of Douro river, and many rooms face it. Other rooms face the back but there is a small garden, so it's also nice.

The rooms are spacious, well decorated, good television and air-conditioner. The bathrooms are also great, and the bath is fantastic. In resume, you feel nice in the rooms, and remember, it's only 3* hotel!

There is a restaurant inside the hotel. It's good, not very cheap, for me it's great to get there, park the car, and don't have to leave to have dinner. But in front of the hotel there is DOC restaurant, expensive but fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfmm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ernst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank HappyGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folgosa
0.0 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa do Tua
Hotel Casa do Tua
#1 of 1 in Foz Tua
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quinta do Tedo
Quinta do Tedo
#1 of 2 in Folgosa
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta de Santo Antonio
0.0 mi away
Quinta Da Azenha
Quinta Da Azenha
#2 of 2 in Folgosa
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Folgosa Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Folgosa Douro

Address: Estrada Nacional 222, Folgosa 5110-214, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Folgosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Folgosa
Price Range: $62 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Folgosa Douro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Folgosa Douro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing