We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Attack of the Hummers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocklands Bird Sanctuary

Rocklands Bird Sanctuary
Book In Advance
$68.75*
and up
Rocklands Bird Sanctuary and Montego Bay Highlights Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Wiltshire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bird lovers have enjoyed visiting this country cottage, patios & Garden, Rocklands Bird Sanctuary and Feeding Station for over 55 years. Visitors get to feed these colorful hummingbirds birds by hand. Fritz your soft spoken guide will show you how to feed the birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Attack of the Hummers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to Rockland Feeding Station on the way to the airport on our last day. It's only six miles from Montego Bay but the last mile might best be walked. Describing the road as bumpy is like saying a hurricane is a bit breezy. It's worth it, however, as once there you are treated to a once-in-a-lifetime chance to feed a hummingbird. In addition, there are lots of other birds and flowers in this garden oasis. I took a nature walk to observe other birds while my wife and brother-in-law stayed behind to feed. I hurried back after my hour walk because I thought they would be bored, but they were in no hurry to leave.
The only downside was a bit of a common hustle we encountered throughout Jamaica.
As we finished, the guide asked for $20, then after you give it to him, he says that it goes "to the owner" and can I give him something? This strategy was repeated often where ever we went. But that's another story.
That being said, feeding and viewing the birds at Rockland is an experience well worth pursuing. It's the kind of place you really don't want to leave and won't ever forget.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pittpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    36
    15
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something to love about Jamaica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you like nature and want a great side trip, go here. History or original owner is interesting and nice that this place continues to operate.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Captain729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful for bird & flower lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our second trip here in 7 years. Still a wondefful experience and always a memoriable and unique experience. My granddaughter loved it at age 5, and again at age 12. Very relaxing setting with remarkably tame and beautiful hummingbirds. Well worth the trip up from the coast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend the morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great experience ith lots of birds up close. Was great to get up into the hills and away from the masses of tourists and resorts!

Great with kids.

Charde USD 20 for adults and USD 5 for kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatFamily2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing spot to see a wide range of birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really enjoyed our trip. Its about 30 mins from Montego Bay by taxi, with the last half mile up a very bumpy and steep road. The sanctuary is in the rain forrest in the garden of a house. There are bird feeders everywhere, and hence lots and lots of birds.

At 3.30pm, its feeding time for the humming birds which entails you holding a small bottle of suger syrup and the wild birds landing on your finger and drinking the suger from the bottle you are holding - quite a treat!

For those into birds, the guide is an excellent spotter. He took us on a walk around the gardens where got to see a further 20 species, including a roosting owl!

Costs $20 per person to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocklands Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Rocklands Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing