We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday Gite”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Clos de Leparon

The swimming pool and pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The swimming pool and pergola
The swimming pool at dawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The swimming pool and pergola
The swimming pool at dawn
Le Clos de Leparon
the lounge
the kitchen/dining-room
the master bedroom
the master bedroom
Anastasia bedroom
Anastasia bedroom
the Traveler's room
the shower room-timbered
the bathroom blue
the glycine
La Roche Chalais
Aubeterre sur Dronne
Brantôme
Saint Georges de Didonne
Périgueux
Angoulême
Saint Emilion
Bordeaux at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
La Roche Chalais, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jibby1uk
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Gite”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Le Clos de Leparon is an excellent gite located a five minute drive from La Roche Chalais. The house has been loving restored by Catherine who has provided everything required for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. The pool area is safe and well maintained and the garden is huge with a play area for younger children and games for older children and adults to enjoy. The WiFi worked well and the UK TV channels allowed us to keep up to date with the news at home.

Catherine was a great host, she was around when needed but wasn't intrusive. The welcome basket on arrival was excellent and was probably the best we've received on any holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bancroftj...
Prestwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal family cottage”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a lovely two weeks in this very comfortable holiday home. It is well located to a variety of local attractions that suit children of all ages, and when the days get too hot (which they did for us on numerous occasions) there is an amazing pool that will help you cool off. All in all we had a great stay and would happily recommend this home to any one that is looking to sample the rural French idyll.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cruiser52...
1 review
“Superb family holiday house”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We cannot recommend this house enough for a wonderful holiday, especially if travelling with children. The house is lovely, the garden is secure and safe and the pool is super and was the main highlight for our kids. Cathy was the best host, leaving a basket of food which stretched throughout the week and onhand next door for any questions. She was very kind about being flexible with our leaving time and lovely with our three children. We would definitely come back, it is such a beautiful area with some fantastic cheap or free family activities nearby,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb holiday, superb owner ”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Le Clos de Leparon based on reviews and were not disappointed. The location is superb, quiet yet close enough to local amenities. The property provided us with everything that we could have needed and more. The pool was a great success with the children and was crystal clear every morning thanks to Moby Dick. We ventured out to local towns including St Aulaye, Aubeterre sur Dronne and further afield to St Emilion and Bordeaux, all worth a visit. The market at Chalais was excellent and the night market at Parcoul provided great food and a lovely atmosphere. Catherine was the perfect owner, whilst only being next door was always available when needed. The provision of extra tables and chairs was a particularly lovely and thoughtful gesture when we were visited by family. We would not hesitate to recommend Le Clos de Leparon for both location and the quality of the property and wish Catherine every success and hope to return in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A truly relaxing holiday home from home”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I spent two weeks staying here during August with our two boys, one of whom is severely autistic. Cathy met us on arrival and gave us a good run through of everything we would likely need during our stay. The property and garden are very secure with the front drive gates being remote controlled, and the pool is completely fenced around - all of which was very important for us as we could completely relax and let our two boys loose! Cathy had provided a lovely welcome basket of goodies, enough to see us through to the next day and then some more. Local shops were easy to find and the Monday market in Chalais was a big hit with us too. The pool was our main reason for booking to stay here and we were very happy with it, using it every day whatever the weather. The water is so clear and clean and Cathy had provided several inflatables which our boys loved. Out and about there wasn't too much for younger children to do as they weren't really interested in sight-seeing but we did make several trips to use the local river beaches at Saint Aulaye and Aubeterre as well as a visit to the lake at Le Grand Etang de La Jemaye. All had very good facilities and we kayaked in several locations on the Dronne as well as at the lake which was free too! The Arbor Parc at Saint Aulaye was a big hit with our youngest son who completed all the different courses several times over whilst we sat at the cafe and our eldest son sat in the river - happy all round! I would thoroughly recommend this as a relaxing and peaceful holiday location for anyone with young children. If we ever visit this area again we will be sure to try and stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is indeed a lovely cottage. Cathy welcomed us and showed us around and also left us a lovely welcome pack of food and drink. Cathy was always on hand if we needed anything but never intrusive on your holiday. The cottage is set in a peaceful location but only minutes from shops and supermarkets. The cottage also has English Satellite TV which was useful for my 10 year old so she could watch CBBC in the morning! We flew to Bergerac and the cottage is roughly 1 hr 15 mins away but an enjoyable drive and easy to find. The cottage was well equipped and pool towels provided. Our 2 children and ourselves especially loved the pool and various inflatables. The table tennis, badminton and swing set were also a big hit with us all. The river beaches at Aubettere and St Aulaye are lovely. There is also a few water slides at St Aulaye (10 mins away) at the campsite opposite who charge €4 per child. The local supermarkets are also only a short drive away. As this is our 4th time in France we mainly stayed at the Cottage but the sites are well worth seeing. We would definitely recommend this cottage for a relaxing break, it was a wrench to pack up and go home. Thank you Cathy for your hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing