We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Eco tourism at its best

Really great experience. Educational, exciting, up close and personal opportunity to witness and... read more

Reviewed December 2, 2017
Siana T
via mobile
Family outing - conservation experience

Highly recommended! - as part of a family vacation the experience was great for all members. The... read more

Reviewed June 24, 2017
Siana T
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
21
4
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggs night hike baby turtles nest sand guide flashlight adventure beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 27 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2016

The first opportunity I had to see these massive creatures pull themselves to shore to find a nesting place was astonishing. I visited the Matura nesting site at least four times and always find that it is interesting. The few times I went there the visiting crowd was large but the staff was able to manage quite well. If you have never visited, I recommend that you do so at your first opportunity.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank crawlingspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

This is a once in a lifetime experience.
There are very few times when you can experience the primal beauty of a world much older than us humans.
The tours are hosted my incredibly knowledgable guides and the experience of watching turtles come ashore, nest and return to the sea is beautiful beyond compare.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank jemmerson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

This ecosite offers an up close and personal look at the world's largest sea turtle, 3rd largest reptile! The guides take good care of explaining and maintaining the egg laying process of this giants allow you to get close and at that same time respecting the creature's space.
About 20% of the this turtle's population, nest in Trinidad, during peak season (around April and may,) the beach could be full of turtles. You can observed them coming out the water while the waves are crashing up on the shore, and the night sky if full of stars. It was just a amazing experience, pay this place a visit and support their conservation efforts!

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2016

The start of the turtle season but we weren't disappointed. Our lovely guide Francis has worked there for 25 years and is passionate and extremely knowledgeable about the turtles. We walked for about 10 minutes along the beach before reaching our turtle who was digging a hole to lay her eggs in. The whole process took about 45 minutes and we watched her disappear back into the sea. We felt very priviledged to have witnessed something that has been happening for centuries. What a conservation success story for these wonderful creatures. The local people of Matura should be very proud of what they have achieved.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

I had a wonderful experience with Nature Seekers on a hike to the Mermaid Pool in Matura, Trinidad. Their guide Francis was knowledgeable and really fantastic. I highly recommend using Nature Seekers for nature tours.
I have also been to the Matura Beach with Nature Seekers to see the leatherback turtles. It was a wonderful experience!

Date of experience: August 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews