We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Wow! Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenwhan Gardens

Glenwhan Gardens
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Dunragit
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My cousin is a gardening enthusiast and her exclamation on entering the garden was " Wow "....and again and again. Beautifully designed and laid out these gardens are in a magnificent setting with great views of Luce Bay. Sheltered and tranquil. Calm and relaxing. And so colourful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very attractive and interesting gardens rising to a high point adjoining moorland. Good food in the tearoom, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed a wonderful garden to not only enjoy the flora and fauna but to relax in as well.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent a good half day here .enjoying a lunch first in the delightful tearoom before enjoying a peaceful stroll round the gardens, taking in the splendour round every turn. Would love to return one day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Outstanding private gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

It is15 years since I was last there and the setting,gardens,shrubs and plants have matured most wonderfully.The variety of fauna and flora is amazing and the views from the gardens is beautiful.
Adnission charges are reasonable and the Tea Room served delicious soups,sandwiches and cakes.
It will not be as long until I return

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gardens to relax and unwind in but enjoy the variety.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been a visitor to Glenwhan gardens many times before and I keep going back. To say the gardens are interesting, attractive, complex and most of all welcoming is an understatement. I keep going back because the folk who run this place want you to share their dream and do not want to commercially take you for a wad of cash and your intelligence. I have nothing but admiration for them and enjoy every time I go and recommend all who read this to seek out this utopia. Has a small café and plant sales but not over the top and certainly not over priced. Will keep gooin back tae my little secret.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwhan Gardens also viewed

Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Port Logan, Mull of Galloway
 
Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Glenwhan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing