We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be good but wasn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaba Nchu
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could be good but wasn't”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our room was nice with a fantastic view.

We tried to organise a fishing trip via reception as this was something that was advertised on the Black Mountain website, however the staff had no idea on how to book this or who to book it with so we were disappointed that they advertised this service but did not deliver.

Food was nice.

When we sat outside in the pool area there was not any staff in the bar area so we had to go back to reception, which wasn't just a quick stroll away, to order our drinks. when our drinks finally arrived we paid the lady but she never came back with our change.

The game drive the hotel booked for us was fantastic - very worth doing.

When i tried to have a shower in the afternoon there was no hot water left!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwatson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Watson,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. As it is our goal to fully satisfy our guests on all levels, your opinion is extremely important to us.

We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your room, the food and the game drive, and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment in the fishing trip. We advertise fishing on the website, as it is an event we offer at the hotel, and it should be better organised.

Further to the above, please note that the pool bar is manned only during special events, with the bar inside the lobby, being used as the main bar. Sorry for the inconvenience caused by this.

We hope that the events you enjoyed, made up for the less enjoyed experiences. We would have loved to offer you with a great all rounder!

Yours in hospitality,
The Black Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
45
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Fantastic getaway In the country,only 4 hours from Johannesburg. The Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and lots to do, watersport,horse-riding, Spa,Game Drives etc. and all this at affordable prices. They managed the individual travelers in between weddings ,The bride looked beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a dam facing room overlooking the game reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bredenoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Bredenoord,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback. Your opinion and the experience we offer to you, is extremely important to us, and we are very pleased to hear that you were fully satisfied.

We hope to welcome you back again soon....be sure that you will be welcomed back in true, friendly, Black Mountain style.

Yours in Hospitality,
The Black Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Pool area was great fun, especially for the kids, but otherwise we only had disappointments...Room was outdated and smelled (from flood the previous week) and was a loooooooong walk from lobby up and down various stairs to our room. Make sure to ask for a renovated room near the lobby if you are staying--those are much nicer and more accessible (especially if you've got a baby in pram). Staff is friendly and breakfast was fine but overall, we were eager to leave this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We would like to apologise that we could not fulfill your expectations during your stay, as it is our goal to fully satisfy our guests on every level.

We are working hard to get all our rooms on the same standard, and apologise that you were not appointed a new room. We are very happy that our staff assisted you in their usual friendly manner, and that we could fill your tummy with joy.

We hope to welcome you back, in order to make up for this with a better, and true Black Mountain Experience!

Yours in hospitality,
The Black Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and my wife we to Black mountain for her birthday for a spa coupes getaway owe a week end. But we were very disappointed. The staff were friendly but not helpful. Booking the room for the weekend was a challenge, it took numbers of phone calls, and day before we got the reservation conformation. The staff was not able to direct use to the room when we got at the hotel, only gave us the key and said it “down that side”, an able to get dry towels, and took form 09:00-14:00 to clean the room. General maintenance of the hotel was neglecting, lost of pain stripping for wall, water stains on carpets, rusty hinges enc. The sauna seemed more as a health risk, and the Jacuzzi is better described as a hot water splash pool.

The spa section only had three “therapies” that only could only do one type of therapy (the one only could do massages the other nails and the other facials enc). Thus three guests can book most of the day in the spa treatments if you take one of the spa packages. The other thing that bothered me was that the ladies therapist made use of the male bathroom to get water for the treatments, not announcing that they were entering the bath room.

For the prices rate of the hotel and spa, I received must better services for other places

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Gerrit,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your opinion is very important to us, as it is our goal to fully satisfy our guests on all levels.

We would like to apologise that we left you disappointed in your experience with us. Please note that we have kept our Spa small and intimate, as we are not a Spa retreat, but have it available to our guests as an optional extra, together with the Solarium (jacuzzi), which is large and spacious, as it is a favourite amongst our guests.

We are aware of a few maintenance issues, but we have been / are working very hard to sort these out as we go, and believe that the overall experience we (hope to) offer our guests, can and will make up for this, until we get to where we would like to be with the property itself. I think that your expectation of Black Mountain, and our vision of where we are taking it, is on the same level, and hope to welcome you back again, to offer you with true Country Hospitality and GREAT Food!

Yours in hospitality,
The Black Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a great place for a weekend getaway, the staff was friendly and helpful, the food was great especially the breakfast buffet. My wife and I enjoyed a full body massage at the spa and also made use of the sauna and Jacuzzi. We received a bottle of wine upon our arrival, watched a bit of sport and a few movies on television, played some putt putt, had a nice dinner later the evening and the next morning we had a lovely buffet breakfast. We couldn't find anything to complain about on this weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jakes,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The satisfaction of our guests are extremely important to us, and hearing that you experienced a great getaway, makes us extremely happy!

We hope to welcome you back again soon, to pick up where we left off!

Yours in hospitality,
The Black Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

For guests who would like to treat their family to a vacation, Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, is highly recommended. Guests can spend their family holiday without worry. Scenic views can be admired from many different parts of the hotel. Here, guests can indulge with a number of activities. The Food is great.

The rooms are well designed and are spacious, with amazing views and homey ambiance. Large picture windows showcase the beauty of Black Mountain.

Friendly staff always take care of the kids while we can relax and enjoy everything their is on offer.

Room Tip: Some rooms are newly renovated and some rooms are very far from the reception. Make sure you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff assisted you in their usual friendly manner.

It is our goal to fully satisfy our guests, and feedback like this, and the satisfaction of our guests is what we live for.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
The Black Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I mistakenly ordered the rainbow trout from the restaurant. I'm certain what was brought to my table was not trout. It was a pale tiny fish, so I sent the plate back.

The kitchen replaced the trout with a dry, somewhat burnt piece of king klip.

I am thoroughly disappointed in the food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reabetswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Reabetswe,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal, and sincerely apologise for that.

We hope that the rest of your experience with us made up for this, and that our staff assisted you in their usual friendly manner.

We hope to welcome you back again soon, to make up for this!

Yours in hospitality,
The Black Mountain Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel

Property: Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel
Address: Groothoek Dam Road, Thaba Nchu 9780, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Thaba Nchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thaba Nchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Mountain Leisure and Conference Hotel, approximately 400km south-east from Johannesburg and 80km east of Bloemfontein, is situated in the heart of The Maria Moroka Nature Reserve. The reserve is home to Rhino, Buffalo, Wildebeest, Zebra, a host of different antelope species as well as abundance of bird life and overlooks the Groothoek Dam and the Thaba 'Nchu Mountain, meaning "Black Mountain". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Black Mountain Leisure & Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing