We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the footsteps of Commissario Montalbano”
Review of B&B Mare Indaco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Mare Indaco
Ranked #4 of 7 Punta Secca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mossley Ashton under Lyne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“On the footsteps of Commissario Montalbano”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited this establishment in May this year and loved it so much that we wanted to go back as soon as possible.
.
Luckily Ryanair this September started a new service linking London Stansted with Comiso/Ragusa (only 20 minutes away from Punta Secca) thus avoiding the long trek from
Catania. and that was an offer that we could not refuse!!
We spent seven days in glorious October sunshine touring a deserted Montalbano land (just
like the films) enjoying amazing home cooked meals with Angela, Elio and family.
It was so beautiful,peaceful and quiet and terrific value for money.
The new airport has now opened up this beautiful area and made Mare Indaco is the ideal
base to chill out and live the true Montalbano life of sun,sand,fantastic food and amazing scenery.
We recommend this establishment to all Montalbano friends who want to know the "real" Sicily
Angela and Elio will show you what Sicilian hospitality really means.
We will certainly go back there again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    34
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
76
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are looking for a place where you can truly feel at home and experience the "real" Sicily then look no further. At mare indaco you will not only find all comforts of a 3 stars B&B and a great location to discover the "terre di montalbano", but also the opportunity to spend a few nights trying amazing meals by Angela and Elio, all home cocked using only produce from their little farm. Unfortunate we could not stay long, we will definitely come back to spend a full week in this beautiful place, thanks so so so much!
Marcello from London

P.S. I noticed a review stating it was difficult to find this B&B, frankly we found it straightway thanks to clear signs on the main road!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvacello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Although difficult to find, we'll worth the effort. A truly memorable experience of typical Sicilian specialities prepared by the hospitable Angela, with most of the ingredients produced by the family, including the wine! Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PaulandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley Ashton under Lyne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Where can you pick your own organic vegetables straight from the plants and your fish
from the fishermen boats and eat them al fresco in a beautiful veranda?
Easy!, Go to Mare Indaco and let the wonderful Angela produce the meal of your life !!!
Traditional simple Sicilian home cooking coupled with fresh produces and a great deal of flair and skill in friendly family atmosphere a welcome change from big impersonal hotels of package
holidays.
Well done Angela and Elio, you will remain in our memories until the day when we will see you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Do not be put off by the view from Google's street view (it's an old picture) or apparent difficulty in finding the place - use sat nav and everything will be fine (it does put you about 100m short).
Unlike other reviewers we found the place easily and found it quiet, we even had the room nearest to the road.
The family who run it are very friendly and welcoming although only the son speaks English and he is sometimes away but a little bit of Italian goes a long way.
Meals are taken Italian style with everyone, guests and family at one big long table. With many of the guest Italian this is the perfect place to practice your language skills. Everyone was very friendly and tolerated our atrocious Italian with grace and friendship.

Breakfasts are typically Italian - but larger than most and dinner is a fantastic array of dishes. They even have their own wood fired pizza oven which they fired up one evening.
We had planned to eat out a lot, but we found ourselves wanting to get back every evening to eat in!
With as much as possible home grown/home made the food is good enough for Commisario Montalbano - what more can I say?

There is no direct access to the beach which can be seen over a sea of poly tunnels but a short 5 minute walk takes you to a beautiful gently sloping sandy beach set in a small bay - in the evening in May we were the only people swimming there!

The Montalbano house - now a tourist shrine is about a twenty minute walk away (but has no bathing beach the TV lies).
All the main Barock towns of southern Sicily are an easy day trip away for the avid Montalbano fan wanting to find the shooting locations.
Having made lots of new friends, we will definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorbus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Unlike the previous review, we found Mare Indaco easily. It's a working small-holding full of organic produce which formed the ingredients of our lovely eveing meal; take a look in the polytunnels - fasinating! Room were great: clean, well appointed, and warm and cosy for our new year's stay. The beach is just a short stroll away and for those Montalbano fans, his house is just down the road! The weather was fantastic, and while I thought this might be unsual, apparently January weather can be great - an English late-Spring day! All in all great value and well worth a stay...and the inclusive breakfast something to write home about!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimLondonEC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This B&B is very clean and the bathrooms are nice but their site is very misleading and the location nearly impossible to find. My husband has drove in Spain, Turkey, England, Ireland, France, South Africa,Thailand and many other Countries, we have never had so much trouble finding a place. I'm not saying we have never been lost but we have always managed to find our way, not this time.

We had to stop three times and finally Giovanni had to come get us.There is no ocean view and although, it doesn't say specifically there is the pictures sure make you think there will be some. We are experienced travelers and don't often get fooled. Sometimes, it is not exactly as we expect but we always make the most of it.

The air-conditioning did not work, so we had to leave the window open, the window sits exactly at the level of the street and although I am usually a very sound sleeper, I couldn't help hearing the cars go by much of the night.

We also, emailed to ask if we could dine with them but when we showed up, there was nothing, we were looking forward to home cooked something, anything! We then had to venture out and got lost again, I know the streets are not always well marked but our experience is with B&B's they generally want you to find them and so are marked fairly well, not B&B Mare Indaco. My husband has a great sense of direction and I have never seen him get lost going back to a place! Our experience was so disappointing we left the next morning, before breakfast although we did pay for the two nights, in fairness to Angela, she was reluctant to accept the fare for the two nights but that's just the way we do business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Furmommy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni C, Proprietario at B&B Mare Indaco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Customer,
we regret that it was the best of his experiences, but unfortunately it was too late and not expecting anyone, so we did not have time to be able to better organize.

Inside the site, you could find all the information possible about our structure and clearly read that the B & B is located in a 'farm.

Our property is a Bed & Breakfast which abbreviation propose the bed and breakfast, when we are asked in advance you want to dine at the B & B, then we prepare and do everything to make you feel at home .
Among other things, the one who has called us to your place does not have anything to express that you were going to dinner with us.

The air conditioning was and is still working.
Unfortunately we are not at the center of a great country, but in a Sea of very hidden, but nevertheless, for six years now, belonging to the case, our customers are always able to find us, even without the 'help of TomTom.

If you should be in the near future we would be more than happy to accommodate you and make you re-think again.

Sincerely,

the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Secca
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mar&Sol
Hotel Mar&Sol
#2 of 6 in Santa Croce Camerina
140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parco della Rocca
Parco della Rocca
#1 of 1 in Punta Braccetto
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Casa di Vera
A Casa di Vera
#3 of 7 in Punta Secca
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tenuta Biddemi B&B
Tenuta Biddemi B&B
#13 of 30 in Santa Croce Camerina
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunedorate
Dunedorate
#1 of 7 in Punta Secca
140 reviews
5.1 mi away
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Mare Indaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Mare Indaco

Property: B&B Mare Indaco
Address: Via Torre di Mezzo 226, 97017 Punta Secca, Santa Croce Camerina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Santa Croce Camerina > Punta Secca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Secca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mare Indaco is located about 400 mt from the sea, in a farm entirely managed by the Cappello family who practice organic cultivation. The Bed & Breakfast has four room with private bathroom, TV, refrigerator , A/C and free Wi-Fi access. Outside is a large aromatic garden overlooking the entire structure with olive trees, carob trees, peach trees and every variety of sicilian typical fruits. Mare Indaco also offers a fantastic wood oven and BBQ, in the context of an outdoor area with chairs, hammocks and parasols. In addition to the B&B service that offers guests the chance to sample hearty breakfast made of Sicilian products, home-made bread, organic jams and seasonal fruits, the owner of the house, Angela, organizes booking meals (dinner) with all organic Veggy respecting the sicilian tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Mare Indaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Mare Indaco Sicily/Punta Secca, Province Of Ragusa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing