We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
105
112
54
32
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
112
54
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar fish beach front fiafia night beautiful beach hot water air con assistant manager special thanks tour guide private bathroom local staff fantastic location relaxing holiday pizza food was great outdoor shower
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 321 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Stevenson’s is more upmarket than most places on the big island but it’s worth every extra dollar. From the moment we arrived, we both knew 2 days would not be enough. We stayed in a euro fale which had an amazing bathroom with solar hot water and was metres from the beach. The kitchen and food was amazing and reasonably priced (don’t believe the bad reviews), got a steamed lobster with all the trimmings for half what you would pay in Australia. The assistant manager was beyond helpful as were all the staff. Free kayaks and an amazing pool were added extras I didn’t expect. Every night has entertainment, saw a traditional band and Samoan weaving from coconut leaves. Don’t sell yourself short and stay anywhere else in Manase village, Stevenson’s is worth the extra few dollars. Will not disappoint!

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Krish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We visited Savaii during the Week of Ms Samoa 2018 - With all the excitement and Hype, Savaii really done an amazing Job at making sure each village showcased their creativity and flare by decorating their houses and yards - It was beautiful , as we travelled further away from the wharf and got around to pretty much the other side of the Island, we realised that it was very different from Upolu where every village had at least 2 or 3 shops and BBQ on the side of the road. Travelling with a group of 25 we arrived at Stevensons hungry. Looking at the Menu, we nearly died at the prices- Fish and Chips or Burger and Chips was a easy - $40 Tala - Once orders were placed it was at least 20-25 mins to wait for our meals - As soon as our meals arrived, we were extremely dissappointed at the servings , for the size that they were $40 tala was pretty unfair. Out of the Group 13 people ordered the Burger & Chips, 9 of the Burgers were raw and not cooked properly. Asking for a refund, the staff did not want to go down that path, but instead offered to cook up more new burgers - only 4 people wanted fresh new cooked burgers . What do you know ....they returned with ... 4 raw burgers again. The staff were now really uncomfortable, and we were so mad that they couldnt even refund us - As we left we walked past the Kitchen and could hear the Staff yelling at each other and at the cook. - Next day we had 6 severely sick people including 1 child - by then we were back in Upolu.

Room Tip: Food is Overpriced and small quantity and was Undercooked -
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Beyonce N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Assistant GM at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

I'm very sorry to hear you had a bad experience. While it is no excuse for serving undercooked food, the week that you came was the week that we were relocating our kitchen from the old kitchen across the road into the new kitchen on the ocean side so things were definitely a bit hectic in the kitchen. Again this is no excuse and I'm very sorry that the food was not up to its usual standard.

I'm actually quite pleased to hear that the meals were produced in 20-25 mins. I don't think that's an unreasonable wait time for a walk in group of 25 who have made no reservation so the staff had no warning of a large party. We are not a fast food chain.

Similarly the Stevensons Burger is the most expensive burger on the menu at SAT $36 which converts to approx. AUD $19. It has 2 homemade meat patties, bacon, egg, cheese and served with fries. I don't think this is unreasonable for food in a hotel on our deck overlooking the ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Stevenson's is a beautiful resort. We stayed in a Euro Fale that was right on the beautiful clear water beach. Wendy was kind enough to move us to a bigger Fale to fit 4 adults. The food was top notch and Kisa and Aulolo provided great service on the Vailima Bar. The place was beautifully ran and that is thanks to great Management. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: staying in the euro fale was a magical experience
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheoHalili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We booked a Beachfront Villa and think that these were the best accommodation at this resort, away from main area, quiet & private.There was a queen and a single bed which made the bedroom a little tight but would recommend this over the more expensive suites for the privacy and beach. Direct access to gorgeous beach by a short set of steps. Magnificent sunsets, warm clean ocean.
Renovations obviously still in progress, but nothing much happening during our 2 night stay and the whole resort definitely needs to be upgraded.
Interiors of villa still need finishing touches. Mirror is not glass - it distorts and makes you feel seasick.Could see through gap left around architrave of connecting door to next villa. I read other reports of this before booking but still not fixed.

Vey relaxing. we made this our rest stay and took advantage of the beach.

Do Not Have Ice Here. All four of us came down with violent gastro - we think from the ice ,as we all ate different meals.

Overall - would return here for the beach and the private villa.

Room Tip: Beachfront Villa is quiet, private and steps in front to suburb beach.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 776franh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArianeS739, Assistant GM at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Hi there

Thanks for your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You’ll be pleased to know that the last of the villas with the wonky mirrors were changed about 10days ago and we will definitely look into the interconnecting rooms.

Other renovations and maintenance works have been put on hold until the slow season starts but we hope to be on top of everything by the end of the year. This includes the new activities fale pool tables and a library, and the new outdoor brazier.

We will definitely speak to our ice supplier about any possible issues there. Thank you for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in one of the villas. The room was adequate but the bed was small and bouncy which wasn't conducive to a great sleep. We loved the fact the room was so close to the ocean. My first foray into the sea with my snorkel was to immediately encounter a large turtle grazing in the sea grass. There were many fish to watch as well as coral. The pool area was nice. The meals were adequate but I thought expensive for what they were. We enjoyed our stay but as we have found in Samoa everything is quite expensive for what you get.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Doowah54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews