We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stevenson's at Manase

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stevenson's at Manase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
suva
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were rather disappointed by our stay here. The rooms need a good clean for a start (dirt in corners and under beds). Doors don't fit frames, so lots of banging as people in rooms tried to shut and open their doors. Service was fairly sketchy. No hot water if not very sunny. Food pretty poor and overpriced. Internet outrageously expensive compared to nearby resorts etc.Its got a great spot on the beach and plenty of potential.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariane V, Manager at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi,

I am really sorry you had such a disappointing stay at Stevensons. We have been getting rave reviews on our food lately, its such a shame you did not experience this. Please email me on stevensonmanase@lesamoa.net to let me know what went wrong with it so I am aware and can improve this for future guests.

In regards to the internet, we buy the Bluezone cards directly from Bluesky at $18WST and sell them for $20WST. The enormous mark up is not on the hotel end. I am currently in communication with Digicel to get other wifi installed, but as far as i am aware- as Bluesky own the Boradband cable, this wont decrease the wifi price. Our neighbouring hotels have a comparable if not, the same price service- it is a shame the internet throughout Samoa is very expensive.

The Room doors i am currently getting looked into. I am not sure that it may be due to the rain and heat that the door expanded, but i am reorganising the keys as well.

I hope this helps justify some of your bad experiences, but i do urge you to email me privately any other issues you may have as the feedback will help future guests when we are aware of what we need to improve. Thank you for your input.

Kind Regards,

Megan Bradney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    88
    49
    29
    13
See reviews for
70
113
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This resort is amazing. We spent 4 nights here and we couldn't be more happier. The staff are super friendly, the food is well priced and very good. snorkelling in the beach which is right where the rooms are was fantastic and when we did decided to venture out to explore more of the island the staff arranged a tour guide who took us everywhere we wanted to go at a very good price. this was a great experience and we have decided to return next year. this time we want to stay longer. (we didnt want to leave) so thanks for a wonderful and relaxing holiday :D Craig and Julie

Room Tip: there are 3 types of room here ranging from a euro fale to a beach fale to a suite. it all depends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paparoa, Nl, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days while exploring the Island. Our room was fantastic, meals were great and the ocean warm and wonderful.

Great and friendly staff. A real treasure to spend some time at.
After a good breakfast you can choose your dinner menu which gives the chef time to get all of the fresh ingredients. All of our meals were good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enfieldnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Samoa and we had been told not to expect too much. We stayed in a suite which looks right down into the water, they have everything you need, just need to fix a few little problems, just maintenance issues like lights not working and yes the solar water heating, cold showers are ok when you are hot but not all the time. Megan who is managing the property at present is lovely and is trying hard to improe the facilities and the service. Tulu and all the girls are lovely but they just need to step up a little bit with letting the visitors know what is happening and how things work i.e. having to order dinner at breakfast time doesn't give people time to even know what they're doing for the day and then they expect to have it ready when they get there, not still have to wait 1 and half to receive it. You got used to this but when you don't know what to expect its a bit frustrating. The staff need to be more forward in asking if diners want anything else which makes the diners feel like they are being looked after and would actually make more money for the resort. Something needs to be done about the neighbour with that horrible music as it spoils the beautiful peace and quiet. The food at the resort has a good variety and we always had something we could choose (we are picky eaters). There is a little shop next door at the fales and one 10 minute walk to the petrol station where there is also a ATM machine. We all were sick for the first few days and Tulu was great and orgainised a taxi to bring out some medicine for us. We had a taxi take us to swimming with the turtles and the lava fields, it was a fare price $40 tala and the taxi driven even showed us through the lava fields. A vehicle would have been handy when we needed medicine but apart from then not necessary if you only want to lay by the beach and chill out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyfred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merewether, NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Stevenson's in late September 2013. After a late night flight and ferry trip across from Upolu we arrived at this paradise, our tiredness and lack of energy was suddenly transformed into excitement and joy that we would be spending the next 7 days here. Our Beach Villas were an excellent blend of rustic and comfortable and the amazing crystal clear water and soft sand only a couple of metres away. We ventured through the beautiful tropical gardens to have some lunch in the family friendly restaurant. This was our first introduction to the staff, who were very friendly but at this stage we had no idea just how great they would be.

The food was great, fresh and well cooked, we especially liked the baked fish. But there was plenty of variety to keep us interested every night. The Fia Fia night was outstanding and the demonstrations and the food were some of the highlights.

The staff however made an already great experience an unforgettable one. Led by Leala the girls at the restaurant shared their culture and made our girls feel very special, especially our 6 yr old who became the Samoan Princess. Leala provided a special Coconut leaf weaving demonstration for us and made visors, glasses, baskets, fans etc. She also had our girls intrigued with the Sina and the Eel story.

Tutula and Megan in the office could not have been more helpful and cheerfully assisted us with any query we had as well as providing suggestions on things to do. We also had lunch and shared a wine or two with Trevor the owner which was also a nice touch.

Add to this the snorkeling just outside your room where you saw a large variety of fish and coral and especially the turtles.

A thoroughly enjoyable first week introduction to Samoa and a perfect base to explore the rest of the beautiful Savaii island.

Our girls are already bugging us about going back!!

As a footnote we spent the second week in the more fancied Aggie Gray's Resort and we were very disappointed with the quality of the food and the beach area.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an authentic Samoan experience the Fales and Villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This resort is great! we stayed at the suites, just right on the water, eds are very comfortable, luxury accommodation! Amazing views.
Food is outstanding, we've been told that food in Samoa wasn't good and that it was all fried but in this resort it was all very fresh! Very happy with everything, will def be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stevenson's between the 12-17th of september. We stayed in a Beach villa. We are very happy with our stay. The beach is right in front of the villa. We enjoyed snorkeling and relaxed at the beach.

The staff is really helpful. We arrived 8.30 in the morning and were able to check in to our house immediately. They also helped us to rent a car and book taxi.

The taxi from the ferry to Stevenson's at Manase costed 80 Tala. You can also take the bus, however it is crowded, you don't know when it will leave and it is no room if you have a big suitcase.

A negative thing with the beach villa was that we had ants in our house. I guess it is hard to avoid because of the structure of the houses.

The food was good, especially the dinner, I can recommend that you try the Oka, it is delicious!

The only negative thing we have to say about our stay is that during the meals (breakfast/lunch/dinner) they played the same music over and over again. The music was loud and from the 90s (Dr. Bombay, Aqua etc).

I can recommend Stevenson's because it is quite and relaxing (exept during your meals). But if you expect a big luxury resort it's not the place for you!

Room Tip: The Beach villa is better than the Euro fales if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manase
18.7 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
19.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson's at Manase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson's at Manase

Property: Stevenson's at Manase
Address: North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Manase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevenson's at Manase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the white sandy beaches just west of Manase, on the Island of Savaii. Our Villas, Suites and Euro Fales are just steps to the ocean’s edge and our restaurant, bar and function fale are situated within the tropical garden on the inland side of our property. With so many options, you're sure to find something that meets your needs and budget. Traditional materials are used throughout the resort to create a rustic appeal in our Villas, Euro Fales and the Restaurant. Stevenson’s Luxury Suites (our newest addition) have a surprisingly modern decor, using bright colours fused with old-world Samoan carvings, tapa designs and exquisite lava rock. Stevensons is the ideal spot for honeymooners and those seeking peace and quiet – swim or snorkel in the cool, clear blue water or simply relax on the beautiful white sandy beach and listen to the gently lapping waves. Simply paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stevenson's at Manase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenson`s At Manase Hotel Manase
Stevensons At Manase Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing