We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stevenson's at Manase

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stevenson's at Manase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Oakura
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in May. Booked a villa but on arrival it had ants all over the floor in the room, I couldn't stay in there, so paid for an upgrade to a delux villa which was really nice. no ants. Large room with good air con and super large lounge suite with room for 12 people on it. beds comfortable ,pillows a little hard. There was a musty smell about the pillows and beds at first, but I think the rooms had been shut up for awhile as it was not busy at all.
Linen needs replacing. beach towels are little more than rags, really nice balcony and new outdoor furniture and the best sunsets I have ever seen. All the delux villas are oceanfront.No beach chairs at all , so you have to lay on your towel. Food average. Staff really friendly .
So abit of good and bad. Depends on how fussy you are. I could never sleep in a fale. not the rough it kind of girl.no pool but beach good for swimming.

Room Tip: Unless you don't mind ants stay in a delux villa, great room. worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OakuraSue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    88
    49
    29
    13
See reviews for
70
113
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Had 7 nights at Stevensons, Ready to leave after 1st nights in Villa, upgraded to Deluxe unit at our cost, Villa's dirty & crawling with ants. Toilet seat & cistern covered in black mould. No decent facilities & for price we paid, very poor. Deluxe Villa alot better, although still not clean & smelt like urine in bathroom. Girls at resort so lovely & tried their best. Saw the manager once, only by coincidence, not a very helpful lady at all. Menu absolutley shocking, everything fried to a crisp. Not much to choose from. Went down the road to Le Lagota for more meals than we had at Stevensons, awesome place - highly recommend it. Plenty to choose from with rolls & fresh salads as an option. Yay !
Plus they had loungers on beach to laze on as you do on holiday - Stevensons had nothing like that, you had to lie on the ant infested sand - really awful. Shame they had sunk a lot of money into a large venue for weddings, should of been put into swimming pool or beach loungers. Would not recommend Stevensons at all.

Room Tip: Dont believe the photos on internet. Read reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariane V, Marketing Officer at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Talofa Robyn

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments- rest assured your feedback has been passed on to the General Manager to address immediately, especially your concerns regarding room cleanliness, which are inexcusable and for this we unreservedly apologise.

We are currently sourcing some beach lounge chairs too so thank you for the suggestion. We feel these will be a great asset to our beach and eventually to our swimming pool which we are hoping to commence construction on next year.

Furthermore, we also have some kitchen staff undergoing training in NZ to revamp the menu and lift the standard of food.

Just wanted to let you know that we have taken your feedback on board and are attempting to address them as best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manase hotels

Leipzig, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at Stevensons for 6 weeks, each of us had one of the open Fales. The Fales had their little faults, but the staff was always trying to fix any problems and the location right at the beach front is stunning!
It's definitely the nicest and most luxurious place in Manase (we visited all of them and stayed at several) - however, the prices for accommodation might also be the most expensive. The staff is incredibly nice and sweet. The manager Liz was open to all of our suggestions for improvements, e.g. created a cheaper and nicer lunch menu plan and gave us the opportunity to go Palolo fishing with Luisa, the best waitress of all times.
We had a blast and would like to thank everyone at Stevenson's so much! I hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weltbesterkarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariane V, Marketing Officer at Stevenson's at Manase, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at Stevenson's for the third time in about 15 years. It's as hospitable and intimate as it ever was, only the fales have been done up considerably and the service from the staff was even better than I remember it from the last trip. We opted for the beach fale as it was great value for money, and provided a different experience than the more expensive studios which were more akin to five-star hotel rooms. In the fales you get to sleep almost under the stars, with a light warm breeze and mosquito nets and coils to keep the little buggers away. Truly romantic! The food was excellent value for money -- something like NZ$6 or $7 for lunch. The resort carters for all budgets which makes it a good choice for families . Next time we will be sure to bring the kids. If you go to Samoa its def worth checking out Savaii as that's where the old-style lifestyle and friendly vibe continues to prevail, untainted by colonialisation. Thanks Trevor, Anna and the wonderful staff for making our holiday the trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Go for the beach fales -- more authentic Samoan experience -- unless you are a stickler for aircondi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ingridleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Im sure that many have rated the fales as the best in Samoa. The reality is that these are marketed as such (being the best fales) and fell way short of our expectations. As a price comparison, it was extremely overpriced and while the fales were better than many others, they simply did not account for the $170 AUD fee per night charged. If your expectations of luxury include hot water, or indeed running water at some points, you may be disapointed. If your expectations include a bed that you are able to sleep on (2 inches of poor cheap foam) you will also be disapointed. If you expectations are not to be devoured in the night by mosquitos (while there are mosquito nets, the 1 inch gaps in the floors allow them ample entry), you will be disapointed. However, if you are after a beach which is not clean i.e. has bits of glass etc, that needs to be negotiated around and overpriced retaurant meals then this is the right place to go.

This was one of the destinations on our annual vacation, which this year took us to samoa. Overall we had a lovely time in Samoa, however, when we discovered the quality of accomodation at Stevensons was well below par, we brough this to the owners attention - Trevor Stevenson. He was very helpful, (tounge in cheek) in offering us accomodation in an abandoned area of the hotel complex which looked and felt lick a chicken coup ( this at the same price) or if we would cough an extra $500 aud a night, he offered us his suite ( which was a reasonably well fitted our suite). We declined and left the 'resort' the next day to head back to our previous accomodation at Savaii.

Room Tip: dont stay in the beack fales.... too close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

There have been so many negative reviews of Stevensons recently that I was really nervous about going there. However we were very happy with most aspects of the resort. We stayed in a fale on the beach with a comfortable bed with mosquito net, fan, table and chairs and an ensuite including a good shower (OK, the water wasn't always too hot but it was 30 degrees! Who needs a hot shower?!)

The setting was magnificent - white sand, clean water, a coral reef and lots of fascinating fish within metres of the shore. We had our own snorkel gear but you can hire gear and kayaks, and there's also a Samoan canoe that is free to borrow. The resort is definitely not a dump, the hotel staff were lovely and Arnold the barman does good, reasonably priced cocktails.

Good things to do: We went on the village walk with Nico one morning - it was very interesting and worth getting up at 6.30am for. Nico also came with us to the Dwarves Cave, a nearby lave tube. (NB If you have a car you can drive up there by yourself (or get a taxi) and just pay the village guide who takes you through the cave. The hotel charges you if Nico goes with you.) We also went diving and snorkelling with Dive Sava'ii, about 1 km up the road opposite La Lagota resort.

We had only two criticisms of Stevensons. Firstly the menu is limited and too European but this is true of a lot of places in Samoa, and the food itself was OK, just not very adventurous. The other was the boring music in the dining room - it would have been good to listen to Samoan music instead of bad lift music.

We solved the food problem by trying some other places nearby: La Lagota's very nice restaurant overlooking the sea has a larger menu and is only slightly more expensive than Stevensons. Vacation Fales opposite the gas station in Manase is a lower key resort but does nice oka (raw fish in coconut milk with cucumber and tomato) to eat in or take away, and they do a real Samoan meal for Sunday lunch - for 30 tala each we ate a wonderful meal of fish, lobster, pork, chicken, salads, palusami (taro leaves in coconut), taro and breadfruit...yum! They don't really advertise it, so go in and ask. Also the roadside stalls selling barbecue are well worth the 6 tala you pay for a big plate of delicious food - a good lunch if you are driving around Sava'ii.

Manase is a lovely place to stay and I'd happily go back to Stevenson's. On the other hand if you want something a bit more flash in the same area, try La Lagota, and if you're OK with something a bit more basic (but with a more interesting restaurant) try Vacation Fales (NB La Lagota takes credit cards but Vacation Fales doesn't. However there is an ATM just across the road.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

By far the best quality Fales in Savaii....(we stayed at 12 different locations over 2 weeks) We didnt eat here,so cant advise on dining :( The lock-up ensuite and fridge won us ,the cleanliness of our exotically decorated fale was very very welcoming, Great location on a terrific safe sandy beach,with foot long fish sharing the crystal clear water . The staff (who are paid a pittance) were sincere, friendly & helpful (except the old boss lady...maybe there lies a problem) .We would honestly go back and bunker down for a fortnight in a gorgeous Stevensons beach fale.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manase
18.7 mi away
The Savaiian Hotel
The Savaiian Hotel
#1 of 4 in Salelologa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
19.9 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#2 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vacations Beach Fales
Vacations Beach Fales
#12 of 15 in Savai'i
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Jet Over Hotel
Jet Over Hotel
#4 of 4 in Salelologa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
Le Lagoto Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
Lusia's Lagoon Chalets
#2 of 4 in Salelologa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson's at Manase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson's at Manase

Property: Stevenson's at Manase
Address: North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Manase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevenson's at Manase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the white sandy beaches just west of Manase, on the Island of Savaii. Our Villas, Suites and Euro Fales are just steps to the ocean’s edge and our restaurant, bar and function fale are situated within the tropical garden on the inland side of our property. With so many options, you're sure to find something that meets your needs and budget. Traditional materials are used throughout the resort to create a rustic appeal in our Villas, Euro Fales and the Restaurant. Stevenson’s Luxury Suites (our newest addition) have a surprisingly modern decor, using bright colours fused with old-world Samoan carvings, tapa designs and exquisite lava rock. Stevensons is the ideal spot for honeymooners and those seeking peace and quiet – swim or snorkel in the cool, clear blue water or simply relax on the beautiful white sandy beach and listen to the gently lapping waves. Simply paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stevenson's at Manase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenson`s At Manase Hotel Manase
Stevensons At Manase Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing