We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The golf of your dreams!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Askernish Golf Club

Askernish Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Askernish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Askernish Golf Course is set on the Isle of South Uist in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland. The course was lost for over 70 years before Master Greenkeeper Gordon Irvine accidentally stumbled across it on a fishing trip. It was discovered that this course dated back to 1891 and it was 'old' Tom Morris who designed it. In 2008 the course was re-opened in almost exactly the same set up as it was 117 years ago. At 6,259 yards the course can often be taken for granted, this should be done at your own risk as the last 12 holes has some of the best links golf holes around. If you get a chance, come along and play the course on a Sunday afternoon where you will be invited to play in the weekly competition between the local members. It will be a round and golfing experience never to be forgotten.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The golf of your dreams!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had read about the restoration of Askernish Golf Club for several years before actually taking the plunge and making the trek to its 3-day Open this past August. The course was even better than I imagined -- there are as yet no photographs that do it justice, because the splendor of the course is vastly horizontal and cannot be captured easily. In other words, the Askernish course spreads out in front of you, both along the ground and through the sky. The club house is small but comfortable, the staff, including the pro Ralph Thompson, could not be more welcoming, and you will leave Askernish wanting to return as soon as possible. Be prepared, however, for a golf course that's much tougher than it appears "on paper." It feels much longer than the numbers on the card and the weather can turn "on a dime." Askernish Golf Club should be played by anyone who loves links golf and anyone who dreams of playing golf at "the edge of world."

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hudsondeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    3
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly unforgettable golfing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I played Askernish twice in August 2011 (once in driving rain) and I can still relive every hole in both rounds. This is one of the most beautiful and remote places on Earth. It is an Eden for golfers. Any of the rough bits around the edges that might elsewhere be of bother, are but rustic border to this masterpiece. No kidding, Pretty much impossible to compare to anywhere else (and I've played quite a few of the Top 100.)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hovard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, Manager at Askernish Golf Club, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your great review of Askernish Golf Club. Im delighted to read that you enjoyed the course so much despite the weather conditions. The course condition is getting better every year, but dont worry the next time you visit it will still have its rustic charm. Comparing our course to Top 100 Courses is a real honour. Now to convince those who make up that list.

Many thanks

Scott Hamilton
Askernish Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The layout of this course is superb, especially from holes 6 to 17. Unfortunately the conditon due to the abundance of rabbits detracted from what could have been an unforgettable experience

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank acwtag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, Manager at Askernish Golf Club, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of Askernish GC. Im am pleased to read about your enjoyment of the course. I would like to apologise that the rabbit scrapes detracted from your experience, this is an on-going issue that the club are dealing with and hope to have resolved in the near future.

Many thanks

Scott Hamilton
Askernish Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I am a life member. This is for Golfers who have already played the big name links courses in Scotland. Great design on natural links. Condition of turf improving each time I travel there. Try it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Duck1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, Manager at Askernish Golf Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed Askernish Golf Club so much that you have become a Life Member. Please be in touch the next time you are coming over, it would be great to say 'hello'.

Many thanks

Scott Hamilton
Askernish Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Askernish - The Holy Grail of Links Golf..!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have a love affair with this course! I first played it two years ago and somewhere on the back nine, I turned to the club president (who I was playing with) and commited to becoming an International Life Member. As a course, it is both extraordinary and unique. It is EXTRAORDINARY because of the history of Lady Cathcart having retained Old Tom Morris to make the arduous journey to The Outer Hebrides in 1891 to lay out the course, only to have it disappear just after World War I due to lack of support. It is UNIQUE because it has been recreated in the same style and manner as the orginal with fairways that are rough and ready and greens that are a mere extension of the fairways and run at around a 6 on the Stemp. It is golf as Old Tom intended it and the pledge of the gang at Askernish is to keep it that way. The course has garnered support from all over the world from renowned architect Martin Ebert undertaking the recreation for the sum of 9 Quid (the same fee Tom Morris charged) to the financial support provided by the likes of Mike Keiser (Bandon Dunes) and the late Gordon Stollery (Angus Glen & Goodwood) to the editorial support of John Garrity (Sports Illustrated) who rates Askernish as Number One on his Top 50 list. Professional golfers who have played the couse are unanimous in their praise and effusive with comments such as "a living museum to the genius of Old Tom", "the best example of true links golf" and "the Holy Grail of links golf".

It's not diffucult to reach as there is a direct flight twice a day connecting Glasgow with Benbecula and then a 20 minute drive to the course. For Canadians, such as myself, the AirTransat overnight flight lands in Glasgow around 8:00 am and the connection to Benbecula departs at 10:00 am. Within 10 minutes of Askernish are three delightful country inns offering to sort of warm hospitality that has gone missing in this era of modern travel.

Askernish should be on the 'bucket list' of all serious golfers around the world....!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, Manager at Askernish Golf Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Wow, this is such ringing endorsement for Askernish Golf Club. Thank you for your kind words and I hope we can continue your love affair with the course. We look forward to seeing you on thelinks again soon.

Many thanks

Scott Hamilton
Askernish Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Askernish Golf Club also viewed

South Uist, Outer Hebrides
South Uist, Outer Hebrides
 
South Uist, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to Askernish Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing