We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to expect in France !”
Review of Auberge du Pont

Auberge du Pont
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Billy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Fresh products, simple and casual on a sunny terrasse, well prepared, reasonably priced, that restaurant is typical of what makes France so special regarding food. Even in remote places you take a special pleasure in having dinner served by Kitchen fanatics. If you are passing by, just stop there !

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marnierh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 167 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2016

I booked this restaurant based on TA reviews not noticing the most recent review was 2 years old. I have no idea why this place isn't better know. We had an amazing meal at this restaurant in this tiny town about 10 to 15 minutes out of Vichy. The restaurant only had one other table occupied the night we went, it is a tastefully decorated room with marvelous service. We opted for the degestation menu which gave us a choice of two plates for each of the 4 courses. My husband ordered the opposite to me so we were able to taste everything. Every dish was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. There was also an amuse bouche to start. We were only sorry we were passing through and couldn't eat there again. It is worth going out of your way to eat here, you will not be disappointed.I can't remember how much it was but it was excellent value considering the food,ambience and service.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Winelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2014

I really can't say enough good things about this place. We came when it was closed, but the owner welcomed us in anyway. We asked him to prepare whatever he thought best and had a most exquisite meal. From the attentive service to the atmosphere, the bathroom, the kindness, and THE FOOD! Go here if you are even remotely in the area.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chicag0_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent family dinner at this tastefully decorated restaurant. The service by our friendly waiter was outstanding - and we happily expressed our appreciation to chef RECHAUSSAT at the end. After a refreshing salmon 'amuse-bouche' we had as starters Vichyssoise and crab-avocado mousse on a bed of vegetables. The Vichyssoise was a delightful harmony of fresh vegetables and herbs. The dish of crab inside a light filo crust was delicious. As main dishes we enjoyed lamb with fresh roasted garden vegetables and 'sabre' (scabbard fish) ravioli with zucchini (courgette). We were again pleasantly surprised by the fresh vegetables - a side which unfortunately is elsewhere frequently neglected both in quality and quantity. The juicy lamb was cooked to perfection. The fish was very flavorful with a light sauce (creme citronelle) in homemade ravioli. We only ordered a glass of wine each, but the house-choice went very well with the meals. This course was followed by a 'tome de lait de vache' cheese full of character accompanied by a fresh green salad - following the chef's motif. As desserts we ended with the chef's interpretation of 'mousse chocolat' - beautifully arranged (as all previous dishes) with esthetic sense. Definitely a restaurant to recommend!

Thank tb63165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The three diners in our party were all very happy with the dinner, the service, and the outdoor terrace overlooking the Allier. It was in all respects a special meal, enhanced by the friendly serving staff. We were encouraged to ask questions concerning the offerings, and substitutions were permitted. The wines suggested were perfect with the different dishes. We will definitely make this one of our regular restaurants! It promises to be a very special place!!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Pont also viewed

 
Saint-Pourcain-sur-Sioule, Allier
 

Been to Auberge du Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing