We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Tropical Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Currimao
Reviewed December 28, 2012

One shouldn't miss visiting this resort. You will appreciate it most at night because of the added beauty of the place when lighted upon. During daytime, swimming by the beach would be so much fun and u can always dip into the pool of this resort from the beach. Great view of the cottages, though i would suggest a little warming up of the pool esp during december to february when its relatively cold in Ilocos so one can enjoy swimming for along time in the pool at night..The food is also great and the staff are very accomodating. I just had an encounter with this frontdesk guy who outright told me that they were not already accomodating us because the resort was full...Refused us? yes, but i told him/her to consider and ask their manager first before refusing me...so the manager let us in...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinadulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 164 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our room was clean, with clean smelling sheets and towels, albeit of unimpressive thread count. We gave a lot of leeway for lapses in service since they were fully booked to accommodate fellow guests of a wedding party at a resort nearby. We made changes to our pre-paid booking a week before and they refunded us the balance. Huts for dining and views from the pool are very nice. Food at the breakfast buffet was very disappointing, but room service from their restaurant was superb (even though the process of ordering is very difficult). All requests are coursed through an intercom that only connects you to the front desk so there's quite a lag in fulfilling any requests.

There are no sockets in the room itself, except what's allocated for the TV and airconditioner. You need to charge your phones and devices in the toilet. Signal is horrible throughout the hotel so forget about getting reliable data service in the area with your phone or wireless net device. The free wifi in the lobby is crawling, even at midnight. This should be fine if you really want to get away from the world.

Shower was trickling and its temperature was inconsistent. Flush in the toilet was barely sufficient to dispose of liquid waste, let alone solids. Housekeeping valiantly tried to fix the issue, but it was never resolved. I think the water pressure and the water-saving design of the toilet is to blame.

Room Tip: The Suites with Jacuzzi have larger toilet facilities. Rooms near the lobby may be able to get wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Been there twice this year, Feb and May. Pool is nice, especially during sunset. Floating huts are a great feature. Feed the tilapias of your leftovers, resort staff don't mind. Tilapia feeding frenzy a sight on its own. :) Wish there could have been more water activities. The room we got is a bit old, and dark. At the time we checked in, there was no cable tv connection so we slept early. :( They're not to blame though, it's the cable tv provider. Food: not spectacular. Wish there could be more choices. Will go back? Yes, for the pool. By the way, they allow non-residents use of the pool, just pay a minimal fee. Cheers!

Room Tip: If you are a group and can afford it, get the Casa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPdePeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just went here for a night swim. Its very close to where my Tito lives that's where we are staying. I love the resort's architecture. It's Balinese, I think. Not much to say about their service since I didn't stay there long enough. All I can say is the resort is pretty.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kastiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I loved this resort. The rooms were air-conditioned, with comfortable beds at very reasonable prices. Mine also included breakfast which was a bonus. The menu is limited but fulfilled my needs.

Away from the busy tourist centers, this resort is ideal for someone looking to relax, swim in the sea, walk on the beach or meditate. The massage therapist I had was excellent (JLo).

Room Tip: Try the cottages if traveling with a group as they are cute and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judelupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and was very impressed with staff service and room was cleaned!
We also attended a wedding reception and the resort did a good job on settings, service and food was very good!
Will defintely reccomend this resort to friends and family!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yenj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My family and i stayed here for 2 nights.The pictures on the/their site(s) looked so inviting and attractive that im so excited to bring my family here..I was expecting more coz of the rates and the pictures that i saw.When we got here.yes,the place/surroundings is nice not until we went to our rooms(booked 4 rooms).The rooms need maintenance.What we hate most was that it has a lot of mosquitoes!Even if the premier room was sprayed,my boyfriend had to cover his face with a cloth so as not to be bitten when he's asleep.coz you can really see the mosquitoes hovering.we're too tired from the tours to kill every mosquito that we see.Cr/bathroom is bit dim.The game room looks old and also a bit dim.felt gloomy inside.Food and service was okay.The free massage for every rooms,we didnt get coz they said that the spa is upto 5 pm and there's only 2 masseuse.Overall,for me,I wont stay here again.Its enough to experience the place once.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lyka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currimao
16.2 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
261 reviews
13.7 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
8.3 mi away
Bellagio Hills Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
516 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
38 reviews
30.3 mi away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Tropical Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tropical Resort Hotel

Address: Brgy. Victoria, Currimao, Luzon 2903, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Currimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Currimao
Price Range: $70 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Tropical Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel is located at Currimao, Ilocos Norte, Philippines. It is aesthetically inspired by the intricate designs from Bali and infused with our Ilocano hospitality. Your stay would be one of warm service, tranquility and fond memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Playa Tropical Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Tropical Hotel Ilocos Norte
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel Currimao, Ilocos Norte Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing