We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing and Tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Currimao
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a nice vacation/late honeymoon a couple of weeks ago. It was very exceptional. For us, the staff and manager were very hospitable. The resort has a really cool and hip modern Bali/Samoan/Filipino theme going on and it really works well to help set the mood for the vacation. We were staying in a connecting room, and it seemed like it was going to be a slow, peaceful, relaxing few nights. We had gotten to know the manager Kenji because he started chatting it up with us down by the kubos and bar. Later in the evening he mentioned to us that a large group of students are coming in for the night for like a conference or something, anyways, our room was going to connect to one of their rooms and their were going to be students across the hall also so he offered to move us into the honeymoon suite at no charge. It was a sweet deal for us! That room was really nice and laid out nicely. The decor and the canopy bed made it romantic and my wife loved that! Looking at the sunset and ocean over the infinity pool, while sipping on a cold San Mig Lite in a kubo on a big tilapia pond with my wife under my arm was all we needed, but I got more! Try the longonisa and fish n chips. Overall, the stay was awesome, I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

It was amazingly beautiful at first, but flaws came out after seeing the whole resort. We got one of their Casas. It really looks good on the outside, but the interior was just okay, yes it is clean but it is somewhat outdated. The pool inside the Casa was poorly maintained, no landscape at all, it's just the pool, the not-really-clean wall, and the water pump. (i guess for cleaning the pool?). Also during our stay, we noticed that the wall near the pool area inside our Casa had a small hole which was not there during our first check in. It was like someone made that hole for peeking which made us more uncomfortable to use the private pool.

As we explored more of the resort, a lot of men were there since the resort was going under construction. This was not mentioned during our booking. Worse part is, they are all on the roof overlooking the really nice infinity pool, which made us even more uncomftable.

Another downside is, I found out that there will be a wedding the day after we checked in. Mind you, the resort is just small, so a wedding would mean, large group of people, overlooking the pool again, making noise. So much for the relaxation we wanted.

So is that it? I hoped but there's more. Our breakfast was not buffet type, yes it is acceptable, but hey, the chairs around us were turned upside down since only us will be eating. The advertised restaurant in their website was a mess when we came. They didn't even mind fixing it. Really, that first day and first night at playa tropical was a total mess.

Our day 2 was mainly just touring around ilocos. Thank God we didnt have to deal with the awful resort ambiance. The tour guide that they provided us was really good and friendly. Above all, he really knows Ilocos well. But its pricey though, they charged us 8000php for the tour and rt airport transfers (which was converted to hotel transfers since we didnt want to stay at playa any longer.)

So to finalize, we just had an overnight stay, the manager gave us a discount (which I dont think covered up for the inconvenience). Won't recommend this resort and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WanderingBei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A heart warming Bali-inspired resort in Currimao, Ilocos Norte. We went there this last Febraury nice place, very friendly and polite staff, not cheap but affordable foods, nice rooms each with complimentary massage daily, they have the filipino version of the "koi pond" its a "tilapia pond".

Its my second visit here, the first time i went here it was during holy week season, so we didnt go to places we just stayed in the resort and relaxed. On our second visit we tried to explore Must-see in Ilocos Norte so we asked them if they could book us tours, and their price are really affordable, we went to paoay church, the sandunes, the windmills which are acctually wind turbines, the lighthouse of cape bojeador, the white rock formation in kapurpurawan ,tried the famous biscoccho on our way to pagudpod.

I can put all my experience here in just one word "EPIC". will surely go back here for the third time or maybe nth time!

PS.Should try there "Margarita" and also their "Manggorito".

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

First, I was mesmerized by the pics in the net and decided to take a travel to Ilocos. And yes the resort is very welcoming, relaxing and love the feeling of getting a complimentary one hour whole body massage! Most of the rooms have 2 double beds and good for 4 persons. Free wifi is not available in the rooms, only in lobby, resto and pool area, but its ok since for sure you'll spend more lounging to their balinese inspired cottages. The highlight of the resort is their picture perfect infinity pool and by the way the beachfront is not ideal to swim & not so nice. And honestly, the whole resort is relatively small. Lastly, the staffs are very helpful, accomodating and superb!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aizer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My trip to the north will not be complete without visiting Playa Tropical! As always the staff were very accomodating and my room was well kept. From doing my bookings to checking out, everything was just hassle free. Everyone was just helpful in to trying to grant my requests. They even had me join in one of their tours in a short notice of time (i know it was my fault i forgot to book it ahead of time). This resort always tries to make my stay extra special. Every stay i have with them adds up to the beautiful memories why i love coming back to Ilocos! Playa Tropical is really worth it, try it and you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were looking for resort to do block bookings for a special event early this month. We met up with the manager last August to discuss our requirements and he gave us a deadline to submit to him the final bookings and deposits. When we emailed them our bookings before the agreed deadline, they did not confirm with us right away. It took couple of emails and calls before finally sending us an email (!) that they can no longer accommodate us due to a corporate booking for 2 weeks. We felt really bad and taken aback on their service especially since we already had agreement and schedule of submiting them the lists of guests to deadline for paying deposits. More importantly, they did not even have the audacity to talk to us properly thru phone about what happened. They just dropped us like that. Very unprofessional! It seemed that the meeting never even took place!

After one month, we received a call asking if we want to book the rooms again because the company who booked apparently backed out and the rooms are again free. We did not take them anymore because we were felt treated as second option only. Huge turn-off! How sure are we that our booking will be final if we take it? How sure are we that they will not drop all our bookings again? We were supposed to book 15 rooms and hold a dinner party for 100 pax. Good thing we were able to find another resort who had extremely good service and accommodated us last minute. We ended up booking all rooms of this resort for the whole weekend, dinner party and tours. That was one HUGE business sales opportunity lost on them!!

Unfortunately, one of our guest was able to book and PAID 1 room in Playa since November. On January 1, New Year's Day, Playa sends them an email saying that they had to cancel their booking because a company booked them for a Wellness Program and they will need their room. Playa will just give them suggestions on where else to stay. After a couple of weeks, Playa calls them up saying the room is free again! (?!?!) Good thing, this friend is a Lawyer and with that title, the manager was very quick to submit to their demands: full payment refund, Playa pays 50% of their stay in other resort, shuttle service. But we wonder if they will do the same if you are just an ordinary person..

Apparently, this resort is well-known to bump-off and overbook guests. Please make sure that they HONOR your reservations and If by some unfortunate events that you are bumped off, DEMAND! If you will be doing block bookings, corporate events, special events, make sure they HONOR your agreements. We do not want you to experience the hassle and stress we went through with them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
12  Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This beach hotel offers cabanas and standard rooms at a few different price points. Staff is professional and very friendly and helpful, and hotel can arrange a van to take you to local beaches, sites and surf breaks. The hotel has a large pool and is on the beach. The beach is nice and waves are fun. Food at the hotel is mainly native, and well prepared. We toured Ilocos Norte, staying at several locations, but kept coming back to Playa Tropical because of its central location, friendly staff and good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currimao
16.2 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
261 reviews
30.2 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
507 reviews
13.7 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bellagio Hills Hotel and Restaurant
13.5 mi away
Grand Octagon Resort
Grand Octagon Resort
#12 of 12 in Laoag
38 reviews
30.3 mi away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Tropical Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tropical Resort Hotel

Address: Brgy. Victoria, Currimao, Luzon 2903, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Currimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Currimao
Price Range: $69 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Tropical Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel is located at Currimao, Ilocos Norte, Philippines. It is aesthetically inspired by the intricate designs from Bali and infused with our Ilocano hospitality. Your stay would be one of warm service, tranquility and fond memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Playa Tropical Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Tropical Hotel Ilocos Norte
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel Currimao, Ilocos Norte Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing