We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best cottage ever experienced”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ampney Crucis, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
zoomshot
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best cottage ever experienced”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A few seconds after opening the door of "The Padd" we knew we were in a very special place.
Spotlessly presented. It was lovely to see a bowl of fresh fruit and then to discover other goodies in the fridge and cupboards which hosts Tracey and Nick had thoughtfully provided. We stayed for 7 nights and it really was a "Home from home" with comfortable beds and a really well appointed and equipped kitchen/living area and also plenty of space for clothing storage. It has the best constantly hot water supply we have ever experienced and two super and spacious shower units. The Padd and the village have a real calming effect and the whole area is magical if you take the time to walk around a little. A superb base for a break and a great credit to Tracey and the very helpful and obliging Nick. 12 out of 10 for our wonderful hosts

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That you had peace, tranquility and privacy BUT with help and advice near at hand if needed
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ab7amn
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

i stayed here on my own with my 4year old and 1 year old, which can some,times be hard work! However we had a lovely relaxing stay as the cottage is very comfortable and had everything we needed. The door to the bottom of the stairs is a definite bonus with young children!The owners were really helpful both before and during our stay and I would definitely recommend this property. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of cottage...really well presented and looked after
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Joh...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation, location and owner on site”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The 2 double bedrooms with en-suite was perfect for 2 couples who wanted a base to explore the Cotswolds. The owner Nick was most helpful with excellent communications ahead of our stay. The pictures give a very good idea of what to expect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean functional & comfortable accommodation plus location
Liked least: Could have had more crockery & cutlery as we had to wash up between courses on occasion
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill732
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic holiday stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband, daughter and I stayed here during April 2016. We chose this cottage as it's very close to the town which my family live in. It's a lovely cottage located in the heart of the Cotswold. The cottage is well appointed, clean and comfortable. Nick was very helpful and accommodating making sure all of our needs were met. Many lovely towns and villages in the Cotswold are within easy reach of the cottage. A large Tesco supermarket, which offers everything you could want is only a few minutes away in the town of Cirencester. Many thanks to Nick for a very lovely holiday. My family and I have many wonderful memories from our time in Ampney Crucis. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfo...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at the Padd for the Easter break 2016. We wanted comfortable accomodation and easy access to walking routes. The Padd far exceeded our expectations. Nick the owner was there to meet us and spent time with us looking at maps and advising on the local area. It is the extras that set the Padd apart. There was milk, coffee, tea and biscuits left for us, not many owners would go that extra mile. The Padd is exactly as the photos show, spotlessly clean and very up to date. We would recommend this accomodation and would love to return. Many thanks Nick for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl D
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding accommodation in a beautiful village setting”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for the Easter break as a location for a few days walking in the Cotswolds. A wonderful place to stay in a lovely quiet village....slept very soundly after some great walking in the surrounding area. Accommodation is spotlessly clean, cozy and very well furnished with free WIFI connection as well as a great sunny aspect with outside seating. Nick made us very welcome and then left us to our own devices although he was around if we needed him! We highly recommend The Padd and hope to return for a longer stay some time in the future.
The Davis's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, cozy interior
Liked least: WIFI intermittent
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A B
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We chose The Pad as our base to explore The Cotswolds. It was a perfect location, spacious and very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A private location, just a few minutes from town.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing