We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and calm and superior service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and calm and superior service”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Crown of Crucis is a lovely country hotel just on the outskirts of the pretty village of Ampney Crucis. It's the perfect antidote to city life as you stare over the stream and cricket pitch towards fields and the village.

Even though we checked in early we were greeted cordially. The rooms are compact but clean with good facilities, freeview TV and a tea and coffee making set. The bed is delightfully comfortable and the whole aura of the place is a welcoming rural idyll.

Breakfast in the morning was delightfully cooked and speedily executed. A good selection of cereals and a range of hot choices. I went for the "Cotswold Grill" which was filling but not excessive and my wife went for the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which she enjoyed.

On leaving we were contacted by reception as we had left behind a necklace. We were very grateful to have this posted to us. This is an example to show that the service here is superior and we will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londoncalling_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Londoncalling_11,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and found the service excellent throughout.

I have passed on your lovely comments to all departments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    150
    65
    29
    23
See reviews for
84
191
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great place for a good bar meal, garden in the summer is lovely and a nice setting. Food is tasty and we have found the service to be friendly and efficient. When the place is busy you do have to wait a little while but everything is fresh so that's expected and it means you can have a leisurely evening anyway.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoandPeterWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear JoandPeterWiltshire

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

I have passed on your lovely review to my team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

A one night romantic break, somewhere not too far away with good reviews. Check-in efficient, and room seemed OK, Shower very good but should replace the shower curtain with a glass screen. ( How many other people has that clung to? )

Food efficiently served, and the leek and potato soup was very good. Main courses were mediocre though, I am sure it only takes 10 minutes to cook couscous but this was microwaved. Didn't expect fine dining, but this wasn't even good pub grub.

Slept OK, and was about to sum it up by saying that unfortunately it was nothing special, when I noticed the state of the sheets on the bed. Clean, but covered in mould stains!, picture attached.

Nothing to recommend here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HorizontalMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear HorizontalMode

Thank you for your review, whilst I can only apologise for the bedding situation, I do feel that this is situation could have been rectified earlier as no comment was mentioned throughout your stay or on check out to myself or my reception staff. I have spoken to all departments with regards to this to ensure this never happens again.

I am glad other aspects of your stay were enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at the Crown for our wedding anniversary for one night .The room was excellent overlooking the brook.However even though we prebooked the table we had to wait over an hour for the food food to arrive and when it did it was none too warm.In fairness to the hotel they did have a big party in.We have eaten in the restaurant at lunchtime many times and only on one other occasion and this was a year or two back did we have to wait for the food and once again there was a large party eating .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Perktrav,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay stay with us and you loved the room you were in overlooking Ampney Brook.

We do apologise if you feel the service was not up to standard, all dishes are cooked fresh and this does mean there sometimes can we a longer wait than normal, I have passed your comments on to our Chefs.

We do hope you will return,

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Great location, really enjoyed our stay here. Our 1st time to the cotswolds and pleased we picked here to stay for that. Room was lovely and comfortable and the restaurant served great food, we had a great evening. Will definately be returning but it seems very popular and hard to get a date fixed up. The Crown Of Crucias comes highly recommended....a must to stay at

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petexxlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownof C, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear petexxlin

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

We are so glad you would be happy to recommend us to friends and family and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

we happened accross the crown out of necessity to stay local to cirencester and got a very good late deal via a certain well known website. Upon arrival the receptionist was the first i had encountered who actualy understood that it was important that we had enough towels before we actually got to the room (most hotels let you find out the room is set for one and expect you to ring down for more - WHY). We ate at the restaurant and the food was first rate. The room was very clean and well proportioned, and the facilities generally above average. We did experience several awakenings in the night due to inconsiderate guests arriving back at all hours and being noisy in the courtyard (i do not blame the hotel for this - but it was noted that nothing was done about it - it went on for a good 20 minutes on at least three ocassions). In the morning the receptionist again was very helpful and we left with a feeling of superior customer service (not something which comes as a given anymore)

Room Tip: chose one away from the courtyard - and hope that the other guests are a bit more considerate than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prodraught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrownofcrucis, Manager at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear prodraught,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do apologise for the noise we do ask all guests to be considerate of all other guests.

I have passed on your comments to my team and I am so glad you found all staff helpful and efficient.

We do hope will return in the future.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night 1st August. The girl on reception that night was extremely friendly and helpful. It's always nice to have a warm welcome, especially after heavy traffic on our travels. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. Blackout curtains aided one of the best nights sleep for a while. The bathroom was well maintained with a lovely range of soap and cream provided. The only negative on the room was the thick winter like duvets on the beds. Also the code provided for WiFi did not work.

When we arrived we want to the bar for a drink and found the gentleman serving to be very friendly and the area to be welcoming and well presented. It was a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was extremely filling with a good number of choices available. All in all we have definitely added this hotel to our list of places we will stay again as it had the right combination of staff friendliness, relaxing atmosphere, picturesque setting and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecrownofcrucis, Owner at The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear GemJ,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We are sorry you could not connect to the internet, if you had popped to reception they would have sorted this for you.

I have passed on your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampney Crucis
3.5 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
492 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
898 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
737 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
565 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Property: The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Address: Ampney Crucis, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing