We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&Bs don't come any better than this!”
Review of Rockfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milltown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Milltown B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“B&Bs don't come any better than this!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We needed rooms for 4 nights for a family visit in Derbyshire. We took my 86 year old mother so it had to be right- and it was. Absolutely perfect. The ground floor room was ideal for Mum and she could climb the short stairs to the lounge for meals and panoramic views. Not being vegetarians and with a fussy mother we were uncertain about what the meals would be like. We didn't need to worry, they were excellent and it is the best Mum has eaten in a long time. Kate and Martin were excellent hosts, friendly but not intrusive. We will certainly return maybe for an activity break next time. Mum would love to visit again but perhaps she will give the canoeing and caving a miss!
Thanks Kate and Martin for a great few days.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is preferable for less able guests as it involves two short flights of stairs to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thanks Clive for your very positive comments. It's great to know that you don't have to be a vegetarian to enjoy a stay at Rockfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Kate and Martin run a perfect vegetarian B&B in a beautiful area of England. We felt totally relaxed and at home straight away; our welcome from Kate was very friendly, with a delicious cup of tea and cake after a long drive. The room was spacious, comfortable and spotless, we couldn't have asked for better. We are so glad we opted for an evening meal, it was delicious and the best value of any we have had in the past few years. The only downside was that we were just staying for the one night. Thank you Kate and Martin, a perfect stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "downstairs" room which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photowalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Always a pleasure to hear from satisfied customers - thanks for the kind words.
Seems like a longer stay is a definite recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I would choose the top floor rooms. Great views and facilities. Food brilliant. Hosts lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay, it's good to know we're giving people what they want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This exclusively vegetarian B&B is situated on the edge of the Peak District, just outside Matlock. We stayed there - two couples - for two nights and will certainly return. It has a superb view over the rising hills and nestles peacefully in the heart of a Derbyshire village.
It has a pretty garden and a sunny patio.

The two en-suite bedrooms are imaginatively furnished and very comfortable, a most spacious one on the ground floor and one two floors up, with an adjoining sitting room which can sleep a further two guests. On the first floor, guests have sole use of the large sitting/dining room. It is tastefully and artistically decorated with beautiful views over the countryside from its panaoramic windows.

The two hosts could not be more welcoming and helpful. Kate Young, who has the Vegetarian Society's Cordon Vert Diploma, produced outstanding breakfasts and stunning three-course suppers, as well as excellent packed lunches. Martin Bunegar is a qualified outdoor instructor and can offer training and kits for a great variety of local outdoor activities, including rock climbing, canoeing, hill walking and abseiling.

This was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we highly recommend Rockfield House.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thanks for such a positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed for a weekend and it was just great, so wonderful to have excellent vegetarian food without the hassle (and none of that awful bought-in mushrooms in glue).
The room was lovely, with everything you'd need: we particularly liked the fact that you could take your own wine and beer as there was a fridge in the room.
Very comfortable bed and fab bathroom. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had the room with double bed which had no particular view but was just what we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianafromShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Many thanks for such fulsome praise! Always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The service was lovely - I got great advice on walks and places to visit. The room was spacious with a decent fridge and generous tea/coffee making facilities. The bath was just fabulous. I would definitely go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Sarah, thank you for your kind words and our first review. You have summed up so much of what we are striving to achieve. We hope you'll be back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rockfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockfield House

Property: Rockfield House
Address: Rockfield House The Hay, Milltown S45 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Milltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockfield House, exclusively vegetarian bed and breakfast in the heart of rural Derbyshire, close to Matlock. Wake up to birdsong in our two very comfortable en-suite bedrooms. We pride ourselves on producing wonderful vegetarian cuisine be it for a hearty breakfast or delicious dinner. Our adult only environment is an ideal base to unwind and relax or we can provide instruction and equipment for a range of outdoor activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing