We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Te Kaha Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Kaha Beach Resort
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful location, superb views. Easy access to beach. Pool is divine - lovely and deep but included safe children swimming area too. Disappointing that spa was not to be used :-( Units had good layout, tidy and practical. Air conditioning in all our units didn't work (had a booking of four units) also dishwasher in our unit was out of order. Bit poor really as this was booked six weeks in advance and it is peak booking time. Christmas lunch menu was poor. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Had a nice day trip to Waihou Bay and enjoyed local sites and scenery.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor which was great for combined family holiday as were able to access/visit and...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Te Kaha Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The view and the location were amazing. We stopped off here for breakfast and coffee. The coffee was just OK but my omelette and his eggs benedict were soooo good and what a great place to sit in the sun, relax and have breakfast on our way home. We'll be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What a stunning and unspoiled location. The views are something else and the small local community is a true NZ experience. We didn't actually stay at the hotel however enjoyed the pool area and drinks at the bar over 2 days. Management were very welcoming and helpful. This would be a dream location for a wedding too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Midget539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice place and when you don't have a lot of other choices it's the only place to stay.

# What spoiled it for me was a long wait for an over priced dinner.
# No milk in the room for tea, coffee, breakfast and when requested at the bar, I was told to ask reception who after waiting ages for dinner had gone for the night, therefore no coffee, no breakfast.
# Late winter / early spring and only a sheet and thin bedspread on the bed, no other blankets or coverings in the room and the heatpump to warm the unit was in the other room, so it was bed with some clothes on for the night.
# No tax invoice could be printed when I checked out and I was told I'd be emailed one, well I'm still waiting....

The washing machine and dryer was a surprise, the small shower cubicle a little cramped, a full kitchen cool but bring your own food and milk if staying.

The view was stunning but how about a little more service after all customers make the business, no customers, no business....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just stayed at the resort in our New Zealand winter , where we paid $145 for a studio room for one night .As a couple ,we found the room was large enough for us. There is a self contained kitchen at one end of the main room. The ensuite has the toilet and shower, which is very small (so don't drop the soap as there is not much room to bend over )There is a washing machine and dryer in there as well which would be handy if you have been travelling on the road for awhile and need to catch up on your laundry.
The dinner menu is only bar type meals all served with chips but a reasonable price we thought. Our fish & Chips had three pieces of fish and a large helping of chips plus salad.
The TV screen for watching a main rugby game on Sky that night was unfortunately only a 45 inch screen. However, through at the main bar/lounge room which is nice ,we were lucky to watch all the local talented singers competing for a karaoke competition. We had a fabulous stay at Te Kaha beach resort and will stay here again in the future.
It is a great starting point for visiting other attractions along the beautiful Coast road.

Room Tip: The studio rooms have just as good a view as the double rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a very pleasant one night stay in this hotel on our way around East Cape. Our room had a spectacular view, was perfzectly clan and well-equipped, and the swimming pool was great Our little boy was desperate to do some fishing and we were able to do so off the beach immediately in front of the hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful especially the young man at the front desk. He was only too happy to give us information about the area and to make sure we had everything we needed. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed the fresh catch of the day - one of the staff goes fishing each day so you truly get fresh fish. The young woman who served us was a little timid and unsure of herself but she was only new in the job and appeared keen to learn. Like much oif the east cape this is both a laidback town and tourist venture - if you are looking for 5 star luxury accomodation and service then this is probably not for you but if you are looking for a true taste of the east cape with good food and accomodation you'll find it here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiemorag22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had travelled from Gisborne around East Cape. Started looking for somewhere to stay about Hicks Bay, we were getting desperate after a while and then found Te Kaha Resort. The room was lovely with a great view of the ocean. Nice bathroom but a bit crammed with the washing machine and dryer in it. We had dinner at the restaurant which was disappointing with a long wait for our meals and then overcooked fish. They were a bit short staffed but the staff were all very nice to deal with. We had our own breakfast food with us, I presume breakfast was available in the restaurant but there was nothing in the room to tell you that. We will go back there as the setting was lovely. The pool and spa looked really nice. The room had everything you could want and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naki45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Te Kaha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Kaha Beach Resort

Address: No 3 | Beach Road, Te Kaha 6606, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Te Kaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Te Kaha
Price Range: $110 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Te Kaha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing