We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Nearby Hotels
The Kames Hotel(Tighnabruaich)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Castle Hotel(Tarbert)(Great Value!)
$183
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kilfinan Hotel(Kilfinan)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Colintraive Hotel(Colintraive)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd(Rothesay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveler rating
553
187
43
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
553
187
43
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch fynelodge kitchenleisure facilitiescouples retreatmarina restaurantthe cottagesinfinity poolmain restaurantluxury apartmentcontinental breakfastself cateringsingle trackwedding venuescallopsunderfloor heatinghigh standardspa experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 805 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We first stayed here at the marina as a result of missing the last ferry to Tarbert,we have been back twice since!! Just returned from what was originally a three night stay,we arranged an extra night as the weather was so good and we didn't want to leave!

This is one of our favourite places to stay in Scotland,great value,brilliant accomodation,dog friendly, stunning views from the studio,friendly helpful staff and it is going to get better,a leisure complex is planned! Hope it doesn't get too popular!

We will be back asap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie Loch Fyne, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear cjw1953,

Thank you so much for such a rave review on the Marina. What a fantastic reason to extend a trip away and with the new Leisure center planned you may never leave! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in one of the luxury apartments and it is well worth paying the extra for these apartments. The restaurant is excellent and the staff were very helpful.

The apartment we stayed in had two bedrooms and a good size kitchen area. If we had known how nice this was we would have taken more food to cook in the apartment.

The ferry to Tarbert leaves from right outside the hotel and takes 25 minutes. You do not need to take your car as you can walk around Tarbert from the port. There are several excellent restaurants.

This is an excellent place to stay to chill out and enjoy the boats, views, seafood and just relax.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie Loch Fyne, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you for a great review and I am glad you explored the area by going over to Tarbert. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly to explore the area further.

Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Lodge was sparkling with open fire, beautiful accomodation with lots of choice. Staff helpful and kind, nothing was too much trouble. Food fresh, simple, beautifully presented on wooden platters. Scenery stunning. Can't praise it enough. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Because of the views across the loch, I would probably go for rooms higher up but all rooms are super
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie Loch Fyne, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Julia,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. I am delighted you had such a brilliant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Amazing hotel if a little out of the way. Staff are superb and rooms are incredible in the lodge!
On another note the lodge restaurant is fabulous. Such great great service from a very vigilant serving duo -thanks guys!
And the kitchen staff well what can I say? Total gems! Being veggie has its issues in most places but having the chef come out to see if he can adapt his menu is incredible. Even more so when I asked him to surprise me and out came the most delicious gnocchi dish. First class absolutely.
Good selection of whisky too- tho on a side note you may want to invest in traditional nosing glasses but that's minor. I'd recommend you try the Portavadie highland single malt- it's rather good!!
Congratulations on an amazing service to all at Portavadie, you've got some gems on your team.


Visited 12/02/13
Matt and Emma (the awkward veggie!!)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaArtFoodCrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie Loch Fyne, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear EmmaArtFoodCrafts,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed our food and the service we provide. We do pride ourselves on our customers experience and this is a perfect example of the teams dedication to our guests. I will pass on your note of the traditional nosing glasses for the Whisky. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here in October for a friend's 50th birthday. It's a fab venue for a group of friends to get together and chill out. Our first night we all got together for an informal buffet supper in one of the gorgeous houses overlooking the marina. The second night was party time with dinner followed by a great ceilidh. We stayed in one of the rooms in the Lodge. It was spacious and comfortable but not very warm. There are several windows to enjoy the views and French doors leading to a small balcony (lovely in summer) which possibly contributes to the chilly air. Also, don't expect your room to be cleaned as this is not included in the room price. The website states that the Lodge rooms are from £45, we paid £85 per night. Breakfast is help-your-self-style with a slightly disappointing selection, continental style - ham, cheese etc. Overall the weekend was good fun because we were with friends. Not sure it would be such a good venue for a romantic weekend with your loved one!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jangus978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie Loch Fyne, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Jangus,

Thank you for your review, and I am glad you had a great time for your friends 50th. In regards to the prices advertised on our website, the Lodge rooms do start from £45 per night as we have a wide range of size and style of rooms in The Lodge so the prices do vary. I am disappointed to hear you were too cold, we will address this issue in the balcony rooms.

I am glad you had a good stay and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews