We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge is great for cyclists/walkers”
Review of Portavadie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portavadie
Ranked #1 of 1 Portavadie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lodge is great for cyclists/walkers”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stopped overnight in the lodge accomodation during a cycling tour. There were six of us split across 2 rooms, and we all felt it was very good value for money. The lodge is less formal than the main marina, so we could feel relaxed sitting about in our cycling gear. Food was excellent, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were modern, and clean. There is safe, dry storage for bikes, and there is a drying room. Would definitely recommend to any walkers/cyclists in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEJ, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your great review, the lodge is aimed at families, cyclists and out door activities and as you rightly point out features bike storage and a drying room (Handy in Scotland!)

I was very pleased to learn you also rated your dining experience so highly and of course passed on your kind comments to the team.

I hope to see again soon.

many thanks

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    136
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
135
311
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Lodge and cannot praise this place highly enough. Having previously had to cancel a stay at the Couples Retreat due to illness, we decided to re-book for the May Bank Holiday. Unfortunately we were disappointed to find the Couples Retreat already booked and only lodge rooms available. However, we were certainly not disappointed, when upon our arrival we were shown to our room, Lodge 1.
The room was large, spacious and bright. It was immaculately clean & fresh. I can honestly say, the pictures on the website do not do these rooms any justice. The bed, a Super King Size, with lovely crisp white bedding, made for 2 nights of the best sleep ever. Our room also had a balcony and large windows on both sides, which provided us with a spectacular view of the sun setting in the evening. Lovely big, white fluffy towels in the en-suite bathroom too. Also nice touch with complimentary, tea, coffee and wi-fi in the room.
We dined both nights at the Lodge restaurant, where the food and service was excellent! Good choice of menu and nice log fire too.
A special mention must fo to the staff at the Lodge restaurant, Ramon & Stuart, not forgetting the chef. Special mention to Ramon especially. His service, manner, professionalism and attention to detail is first class! Nothing was a problem for him. We were later to find out on our departure that 2 members of staff had gone sick, yet despite this, he managed the smooth operation of the bar, restaurant and reception at no time looking flustered and always responding to any requests with a smile. I have travelled all over the world and I have never encountered anyone like him. He is an absolute credit to the place. Keep up the good work!
This place is a hidden gem and we will definitely be back. The only disappointment we had, was having to leave after such a blissful, relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEJ, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guests,

What can I say apart from thank you so much! I have of course passed on your comments to the whole team that made your stay so enjoyable. The team work very hard to try and show Portavadie at its best and when we receive such positive feedback it is so rewarding.

My sincere thanks for taking the time to let us know,

Best wishes

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We have been to Portavadie Marina twice, and the restaurant has an excellent menu and service. This time we came and stayed in the beautiful 2 bed apartment 10 ground floor. These apartments are very modern and our appartment had excellent views over the marina. Would highly recommend this place for a quiet getaway.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PC__YCGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEJ, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a great review. I was very pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, with such great local food our kitchen team certainly have great ingredients from Argyll`s larder to choose from. I do hope you find time to visit us again soon and thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We staying in the self catering cottages and they were absolutely beautiful. Views from the front of the cottages are nothing short of amazing, just look right over the Marina and beyond.

Accomodation - Suplime. Could not fault the cottages at all, everything was neat, tidy and clean. No problems whatsoever.

Staff - Brilliant. Reception staff are very helpful and polite. Staff at the "Lodge" restaurant were very polite and service was very efficient. All of the staff members we spoke too and dealt with are an absolute credit to the place.

Food - Superb. We only ate at the "Lodge" and the food was exceptional.

Location - Fantastic. Scenary is phenomenal and you could quite easily sit all day in awe looking around you.

Facilities - Good. Bike hire is available at reception. There isnt too much to do on site but dont let that put you off. Ferries to Tarbert are available but the time of year that we travelled meant the ferry times were on the winter timetables so it wasnt ideal.

We will definitely be going back to stay at Portavadie Marina, it was a great time away with my partner and most definitely recomend anyone who is considering going here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEJ, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for such a great review, I was so pleased to learn that the team stood out for you during your stay. We have a really great team who endeavour to go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay and it is always great when they receive such high praise.

I am truly delighted you enjoyed your visit, proving Portavadie offers a great reason to visit at any time of year.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The appartments are wonderful but.you need to be careful to book one with a balcony or patio that faces south and west.

We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night but did not dine there after that. Service was great but food was generally dissappointing. Not cheap, at around £45 per head and we expeced better.

Given the quality of local food produce and the kitchen in the appartment we enjoyed self catering

Alan


Wonderful trips to Tarbert, Inverary, Inver Cottage, Lochgoilhead. Tighnabruaich and a trip on the converted small trawler Morag, from the pier
Alan

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEJ, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and comments regarding your stay with us. Whilst I was thrilled to read your high praise of our luxury apartments I must apologise your dining experience was not to our normal standard. As you rightly point out we enjoy an abundant fresh larder from land, sea and air and culinary team are passionate about their produce.

I have of course passed on your comments to the team and hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to restore your faith in our culinary offering.

many thanks

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Dogs paradise exercise and beach area right on your doorstep also lots of great walks in lovely scenery.A little expensive but lovely trip over to Tarbert in the ferry.Used both the Lodge and Main Restaurant for carry out meals both excellent .Staff very helpful especially Robbie.As there is only two of us with our dog shall try for a studio apartment next time.A credit to Scotlands Tourist industry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francophileScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEJ, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I was delighted you enjoyed takeaway from both of our dining outlets during your stay and particularly pleased we seem to have been a hit with your dog.

I hope you find some time to visit our studio apartments next time and please do let us know so we can book a dog friendly one for you.

best wishes

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Spent three nights at Portavadie with my wife and inlaws, had visited the marina before in my boat. No expense has been spared, the appartments are lovely... free wifi, sauna.. every appliance you can think of...

Due to their newness there was some niggles.. the bath stopped draining away.. we reported it and it wasnt fixed by the time we left.. the TV went of and off.. and the internet was intermittant..

It would also have been nice for someone to escort us to the appartment and show us around etc... but we were just given the access card.. and tol where the appt was..

Also as it was off season the main restaurant was not open in the evening.. would have been good to know before we arrived..

Some of the site is stillw ork in progress and as such there was some construction noise and dust.

That said.. the location is superb, the views fantastic, staff very helpful.. I am sure they will get the niggles resolved... food and service in the restaurants was superb.. and prices were reasonable.

The mobile phone signal around the marina is poor.. but if you walk to the top of the hill overlooking the ferry terminal you can get a good one.

Not a lot for kids to do.. so wouldnt recommend it for famillies... excellent for a short romantic break.. or with friends..

A map of where each of the appartments are located would have been useful.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor appartment Take some ice trays.. Take some binoculars / telescope.. Take a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainEJ, General Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that some of the features in your apartment suffered from some teething problems and in particular that we were unable to resolve the issue with the bath prior to you departing. I can confirm this has now been attended as part of our defect period and apologise this took the shine off your experience.

I hope we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portavadie
21.4 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
265 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
437 reviews
7.2 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portavadie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portavadie

Property: Portavadie
Address: Portavadie Loch Fyne | Argyll, Portavadie PA21 2DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Portavadie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portavadie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Portavadie 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic 2 hour drive from Glasgow, this striking destination with a marina at its heart offers a range of accommodation with one common theme quality and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portavadie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portavadie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing