We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay!!”
Review of Summer House Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer House Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

For someone who camps in the wilderness to the extreme. I was very impressed with the grounds, the clean lake, and all the activities for kids and adults alike. The only complaint or warning I can give to future visitors is..... The ground is very rocky and hard. (no fault of the owners) I would suggest bringing the stakes that screw into the ground to secure your tent.

We stayed at siteA2. However, A1 - A4 are all great water sites. Great view and semi-private with water access to swim out to a raft. Watch out for slippery rocks.

The wildlife, especially the chipmunks are very friendly. Washrooms are cleaned at least twice a day but cleaner than some camping sites. Staff was great!!!!!!! Friendly and helpful.

We will return next year for sure.

Thank you summer house for a relaxing trip away from home.

P.S. Take the short 10 minute drive to Tobermory and check out the grotto and all the neat and quaint shops.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the B&B at Summer House Park on a long weekend, and had an enjoyable time. Although we spent most of the weekend hiking in the Bruce Peninsula National Park (about a 15 minute drive from SHP), we had some time to enjoy the park and its facilities. The B&B is conveniently located close to the beach and the main office and offers three private rooms in all. We stayed at the Blue Heron room, which comes with a private bathroom across the hall. There is a shared kitchen (with mini fridge, coffee/tea and kettle) and living room for all guests. The accommodations were clean enough, although there were suspicious stains on some of towels that were provided in the bathroom. As guests in the B&B, we had private access to the restaurant from 8:30-9:00 am for breakfast. as well as a small outdoor fireplace and firewood in the yard adjacent to the B&B.

SHP is a family oriented park, and accordingly there are activities for people of all ages. We particularly enjoyed roaming the lake on water bicycles that were available for rent at the boat rental office.

Overall, SHP is a well run facility. As a couple, we felt a little out of place; however, we would definitely recommend SHP for families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tdot-travel-addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have visited SHP several times over the last four years and love it! The staff are friendly and top notch and our kids prefer this park over any we have been too. This year we were looking for a seasonal place to keep our trailer and we looked within a two hour radius of our home. We failed to find anything that made our kids as excited, so this year we decided to stay seasonally at SHP...a 4 1/2-5 hr drive from our home....that should tell you just how much we like it there. You don't have to pay to have a 4 minute shower as well and to me that is priceless! lol
So far we have had everyone there bend over backwards to make every stay as wonderful as the last...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickypickyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I headed here last summer in a trailer. The place can get very busy on the weekend but is not very loud or feel to crowded. There is lots to do for everyone, even my mom who is in her 60's enjoyed swimming in Miller lake. Clean, with a relax, quiet environment. Nice grounds for walking and staff was very friendly. Close to Tobermory and lots of beaches. If you don't like feeling like you are in the middle of no where don't go here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electricrn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just returned from a three day weekend stay in a cottage at Summer House Park. We are a family of four with two young children, and went with two other families who stayed in the cottages adjacent to ours, Cottage 9, the Osprey's Nest. The cottages were authentically rustic, simply but attractively furnished, well equipped and perfectly clean. The view from Cottage 9 is spectacular, looking out over the lake from the edge of a sheer rock cliff. The cliff was of concern with the kids and we were obliged to improvise a string barrier. We easily prepared meals three families in the basic but functional cottage kitchen. Remember to bring sugar, salt and pepper along with the more obvious milk, bread, etc.! If you forget anything, the camp shop was remarkably well stocked and a wonder of organization given the tiny space. The sand beach is weed-free, though otherwise typical for cottage country. A nice, modern kid's playground and an ice cream stand that were popular with our four and six year olds. Overall a very enjoyable stay - we will go back.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in Cottages 7 and 8, we stayed in 9. All have bathrooms, and, though Cottage 7 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DadMomandTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just arrived home after a four day stay at Summer House. I cannot say enough about how helpful and friendly ALL the satff were that we encountered. From the initail welcome greeting at the front gate, to asking for directions, to an assist with our hitch, (we were in a fifth wheel), to the happy staff in the store...all was cheerful. The ammenities were clean, modern and in great shape. The lake was clear, and they have all manner of watercraft to rent and enjoy at the camp. Large sites with a mixed hardwood canopy provide lots of shade on a warm day, and having 30-50 amp service made it great for all the facilities in our big rig. The pull through was a breeze and I would highly recommend trying this camp on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHP_host, Owner at Summer House Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

I'm very pleased that you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Owners are very rude. No people skills what so ever. We camped and family members stayed in the lodge, where bed sheets didn't fit the bed and dirty items were found in the mattress.

Room Tip: don't stay in the lodge or cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank srogers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHP_host, Owner at Summer House Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

I am very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay at our resort. We pride ourselves in providing a clean and welcoming environment here at our park so I apologize if you did not find our facility meet those standards. Please be assured that if you visit us in the future we would do our best to fix any issues and address your concerns, as we strive to do with all our guests. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer House Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer House Park

Address: 197 Miller Lake Shore Rd, Miller Lake, Ontario N0H 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Miller Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Miller Lake
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer House Park is a family oriented camping, cottage and guest house resort on the shores of Miller Lake, Bruce Peninsula. Close to the Bruce Peninsula National Park, the Bruce Trail, Tobermory and many natural attractions on the Bruce Peninsula. Daily children's activities and fun family events all summer long. Enjoy a relaxing stay in a wilderness setting with fabulous amenities to make your camping or cottage experience a fun and relaxing one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Summer House Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer House Park Miller Lake, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing